We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel which has great views, room was ok and free wifi, excellent shower in ensuite, breakfast next morning could of been better and that's why I'm not giving it 5 stars, inishbofin island is a hidden treasure

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (408)
There are newer reviews for Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 408 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2014

Inishbofin is a tiny island of the coast of Connemara and I was surprised (and delighted) to find such a high quality hotel there. We traveled as a 2 family group and spent 2 nights at the hotel. We ate both nights in the hotel restaurant, initially for convenience with a 3 and 7 year old, but were very pleased with our decision as the food was delicious. The management and staff were extremely helpful and cordial, even organising Calpol for my feverish child from the island nurse on the first evening. The views from the hotel are stunning and we cycled from one end of the island to the other, leaving our unlocked bikes outside both days with no problem. They happily organise fishing, day trips and guides around the island. If you are looking for a quiet, chilled out spot, this is it....just don't pack heels, pack a jacket, we had sunshine and rain on both days!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hilandphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

As a lover of holidaying on islands it was a genuine nice surprise to discover the experience of the formerly Days hotel,, now newly renovated Inisbofin house hotel and marine spa. While it wasn't your five star experience of urban luxury it was the five star experience of Irish island luxury. The chef was the highlight, local lobster, in the form of baked lobster, or lobster linguine, butterfly prawns with veg stir-fry, freshly laid eggs for breakfast, and vanilla panacotta to die for. If you are staying for a while a box of groceries delivered from Supervalu off the boatman for €1.50. Another bonus is that the entire Island is kid friendly, sailing camps for the kids, that my son adored, swimming lessons in the Sea, summer camps available in the community hall, to mention a few of the possibilities.. People know you and your children by name after a day or so, In the hotel,Michael the bar man, Noelle the chirpy waitress entertained the kids while my husband and I enjoyed our meals, and Claire desk manager made sure we kept within our budget, informed us of all actives and sights, and multitasked with aplomb. This Hotel is a well managed family friendly Island hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Julia775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Staying on an Island hotel is always a super adventure and none more so than magical Inishbofin.
We loved the short ferry trip over which cost 20 euros return per person but unfortunately did not see the delightful dolphins which I heard often accompany the boat.
The island is full of charm and I loved the way we were picked up and brought the short distance to the hotel by minibus, though the distance is so short we walked it on our return to pick up the ferry on our way home.
The staff gave us a wonderful warm welcome and we were absolutely thrilled to be assigned a sea view room which we loved. Due to an oversight it had not actually been made up and so we were offered a very welcome drink on the house in the bar while we waited which was really much more of a treat than an inconvenience.
The rooms were smart, very clean and modern but a little light on comfort with a kind of ikea style to them. However the colours were very cheerful and the bed was not huge but comfortable and the spectacular view made up for any lack of sumptuous luxury.

We would have LOVE LOVE LOVED to have coffee/tea facilities and wifi in the rooms.

Lots of people would balk at the wifi request saying this is a retreat and what a shame not to unplug from the world which I agree with in theory but with an elderly mother who depends on my regular and frequent phone calls and no phone signal skyping in the glorious but public lounge was to say the least ...AWKWARD!

Breakfast was a triumph and the brown bread fabulous and a meal in itself. Great cappuccinos, wonderful super cheery service and a real treat.

Dinner was also gorgeous and the views from the dining room made it spectacular and super romantic.

Again the service was just wonderful and I am just so very sorry I have such a bad head for names as there was one very pretty girl in particular who looked after us so well and really impressed us with great hospitality and charm beyond her years.

Would we go back?

This is a tricky one. My husband who is very hard to impress says he is simply dying to return especially due to the lovely staff and super service. I fell in love with the rugged beauty and magical qualities of "The bofin" as the locals call it but with a 40 euro extra added by the boat trip per couple return I would like to go firstly for more than two days and I would like to find somewhere with wi-fi or broadband in the rooms so I do not have to carry out my endless chats with my mother in public on skype and also have tea and coffee making option in the room and maybe just a touch more luxury.

Having said that - very hard to beat that amazing view, wonderful food, great staff and stellar service and I wonder in deed if there is a better place to stay on this fabulous, romantic, magical, mystical island?

Room Tip: Whatever it takes, get a sea view room .......... priceless!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BonneVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Stayed here for one night while on a visit to the island. The hotel and bedroom was perfect and clean. The views out onto the bay was wonderful. The hotel is located a short walk from the pier and we hired bicycles for the duration of our stay which let us get around and see most of the island within our two day stay. We did have a problem with our room in that there was a loud humming noise (like a bathroom fan) which woke us and continued to make the noise for about 2 hours in the middle of the night. At first we thought it was some sort of heating fan and as luck would have it, the noise had stopped by the time we went down to check out and while the staff were polite and friendly they didnt seem to know what the noise could have been. Apart from that the location is ideal and everything is clean and crisp.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ali097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just returned from a four day stay at Inishbofin House Hotel. The hotel is set in a picturesque setting overlooking the harbour. The rooms are of very generous proportions and we also had a large terrace overlooking the sea. The staff were extremely friendly if a little under trained and inexperienced. The food was ok but there is room for improvement. Where the hotel falls down is cleanliness. Our room was not cleaned for the 4 days of our stay and on a number of occasions we had to ask for a change of towels. a number of other areas in the hotel were also not cleaned to the standard of a hotel of this calibre. Talking to other residents in the hotel, it seems we were not the only ones to have this experience. Another problem which arose during our stay was the break down of the Elevator, which still had not been repaired by the time we left. This was totally unsatisfactory as there were elderly people struggling to carry suitcases and other types of luggage up a couple of flights of stairs. The least the hotel could have done was have this luggage brought up to the rooms. Finally the last thing in respect of this hotel was the lack of entertainment. There was none. This could be a really top class place to stay if the management got their act together and improved on the cleaning, maintenance and entertainment side of things. The menu could also do with a revamp, the same menu 4 days in a row is not very inviting.

Room Tip: Look for room with sea view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joyceyjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Popped in here for a few coffees during our recent visit and paid a whopping €3.50 EACH for two cappucino's and an americano- €10.50 for just this order. That was the only money they got off us, the sunday lunch was €14.50. A total rip off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Eirlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
638 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range: $83 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing