We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing spot and very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Smashing spot and very friendly staff”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

We're just checking out of Inishbofin house today. We had such a lovely time. It's a really homely spot with v friendly and helpful staff - even providing runners for my husband who left his in the car at Cleggan ! The hotel manager and bar man are especially welcoming. The rooms are very clean and really comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good with lots of choice. The view from the lounge upstairs is incredible. A great spot to sit and read. Inishbofin is very beautiful and well worth a visit. We did the three loop walks. Lovely. People on the island from the boat people to the staff at the community centre to people who you meet on the roads can't do enough for you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahspititout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    95
    34
    13
    18
See reviews for
95
139
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leitrim, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My sister and I stayed here last weekend for two nights. From the moment we got off the ferry we were amazed with welcome we received..The hotel was beautiful and clean and in such a scenic location. The staff throughout were fantastic..the girl in housekeeping was so helpful and friendly and chatted like she had known us forever. The beds are so comfy but it would have been nice to be have had tea making facilities in our room. We were quite sad to leave and cannot wait to bring our families back here to stay. The rooms with the sea view and balconies are fab! Well worth a visit!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a lovely stay in the hotel for 4 nights - delicious breakfast is included with great options including the massive full Irish! The food in the restaurant is good too with enormous servings and reasonable prices. Our room was lovely - very large with a really huge bathroom, very comfortable bed with good bedlinen. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is very good just a short walk from the harbour where the ferry arrives. The views over the water from the restaurant/bar on the ground floor and sitting room area on the 1st floor are wonderful. Some rooms have access to a terrace at the front of the property also. There is a lovely lawn area for sitting outside the front of the hotel where you can have drinks etc if the weather is kind. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with sea view opening onto the front terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbournePoppy023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elphin
1 review
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The hotel staff collected our luggage on the pier so we could take the leisurely 2 minute stroll to the Hotel. Coutesy comes naturally to the friendly staff, who seem so happy to be working in this truely special place. The Hotel rooms are clean and fresh, i had a wonderful sleep, my full irish breakfast was delicious, and dinner scrumptious. This hotel is a gem.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms come with balcony. Amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerfitz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My partner and myself had a wonderful weekend on Inishbofin . The room was spacious and overlooked the small harbour. We had access to a shared balcony from our room. There was also a library which also shared the same view. Food was delicious, would like to have seen a change of menu on the third night but I suppose it is a small Island and everything has to be taken in by ferry.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
239 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here for a friday and saturday night recently, the hotel is not 4 star but the staff are pleasant, it is clean and the views and convenience of the location more than make up for any lack of star rating... I stayed here in 2010 and the one thing I remembered was that the dinner in the evening was delicious and very good value, however this was not our experience this time, there were 3 courses and tea/coffee for €35.00 - rather limited when you consider the location that seafood should be very much in evidence on the menu.. anyhow i had smoked salmon to start which was your average supermarket smoked salmon with some salad and dressing, my main course was sea bass with potato and veg, two very small pieces of fish came out on the plate covered in a horrible creamy looking sauce, you could not taste the fish for the sauce, the fish reminded me of what i normally buy in my local supermarket for a couple of euros, the veg were fine but the potato was very obviously cooked earlier and re heated - i was so disappointed, the food was not bad it was just bland and tasteless, my friend had Gnocchi which really wasnt much better and again covered in the same horrible sauce. As we didnt have desert we were charged €30 which really for the quality of food that was presented was extremely expensive - Chapter one in Dublin a michelin star restaurant charge €36.50 for their pre theatre menu and to have these menus priced almost the same was just ridicilous.
The breakfast in the hotel was very good, nice freshly cooked to order, did nt eat in the bar so cannot comment.
A lovely hotel but guys you really need to re think that dinner menu - the dining room was almost empty both nights and i can understand why.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front with either private or shared balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited as part of a two-week Ireland travel (self-guided) tour and would state that the stay on the island was one of the most relaxing two days of our trip. The accommodations were excellent, the pub food was some of the best we had on the entire trip, the staff were helpful and appreciative of visitors, and our local driver "Huey" was phenomenal! He not only knows all the 160 residents by first name, he knows the history of the island, is quite humorous, and gave a great motor tour of the place. Highly recommend this location!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms with harbor view recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
18.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing