We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Wicklow
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I visited Inishbofin for the first time ever in June and I have fallen with the place (I came back again July), I stayed at the Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa and was looked after royally. The staff were so friendly and helpful, everyone of them seemed like they were ambassadors for the whole island, I felt like I was a welcome visitor to their home. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

My room, with a large shared terrace, overlooked a stunningly beautiful secluded harbour. The food was terrific and it was a delight to enjoy my breakfast with a wonderful sea view.

This is a gem of a place and I am taking my wife here in a few weeks, Can't wait!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artlines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    97
    36
    14
    18
See reviews for
96
144
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed here is early September with my partner for two nights. Sunday- Tuesday and from the minute we stepped on the boat it was like stepping into another world. Having said that I was very glad we both had a sea sickness tablet before stepping on the boat! It was very windy for the duration of our stay so the waves were quite strong so don't forget to bring your sea legs! When you step off the boat you are greeted by the receptionist from the hotel with a courtesy bus which you can choose to bring you to the hotel or just your bags and walk. We chose to walk as the hotel is less than 5 minutes from the pier. Check in was quick and efficient and our room was clean and spacious with breathtaking views of the harbour. Over the three days we ate in both the bar and restaurant- both very good with a great variety and all cooked beautifully. The staff were on hand at all times to ensure you had what you need and were always friendly and chatty. Wifi is not great upstairs in the hotel.Unfortunately the hotel had ran out of maps when we were there but all the walks are very well signposted around the island. Both of us were never very into walking but we both agreed that Inishbofin has definitely changed our opinions on that. The views are stunning and the whole experience is just so peaceful and idyllic. So don't forget your walking gear when you come to the island! In the evening you can sit in the bar of the hotel or go to The Beaches Bar which is right next door to the hotel and had music one of the nights we were there. Our only minor complaint was on the second night of our stay we were woken to a rendition of "I want to take you to the island" outside our window and looked out to see a group who looked like they had a few too many! There is a nightporter on duty but I don't know what happened that night! One of the best parts of the hotel is the upstairs sitting room which is perfect for sitting in, reading a book and taking in the wonderful views. I would highly recommend a stay on Inishbofin and if you are looking for a hotel that has everything you could need than stay here!

Room Tip: Request a room at the front of the hotel with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahHaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway City, Ireland.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We recently spent a mid-week break in this lovely hotel and enjoyed our stay immensely. We found it a comfortable base from which to explore the beautiful island. We hiked the trails marked out mainly by sheep and took in the breathtaking views from one side of the island to the other. We ate in the main restaurant and sampled the food in the hotel bar and on both occasions, were not disappointed. We were mostly fortunate with the weather; on one afternoon, it did rain but we were happy to pass the hours relaxing in the library overlooking a beautiful cove. There is something calming about not always having mobile phone coverage or quaint about the hotel running out of guinness or the fact that nobody locks their cars and after a couple of days on the island you really begin to relax. Inisboffin House Hotel goes the extra mile to make for an enjoyable stay. Conrad and his staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. We were lucky to be facilitated with a last-minute booking with the result that our room was at the back of the hotel. I can only imagine the beautiful sea views from the better appointed rooms at the front - something to look forward to next time..

Room Tip: Request sea view if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dejavu000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malahide, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay in this hotel and would happily have remained for another couple of days had that been possible. While visiting the island is like stepping back half a century or more, the hotel is up to date, comfortable and offers very decent value. The staff is very pleasant and helpful. Our room on the 2nd floor (an upgrade) was excellent with a fine view across the harbour. Food is good but not outstanding - but then you are not paying outstanding prices. My wife asked me to give high praise to the Marine Spa which she found to be excellent. Wifi is fine at ground level but becomes less so on other floors. I recommend a router upgrade; it should make a difference.
The island itself is a walker's paradise with little traffic, wonderful views, historical sites and plenty of opportunities to go "off piste" into uninhabited areas yet never far from base. We even ventured cross-country to see the fascinating ruins of Cromwell's fort.
I must add that this destination will not please everyone. I did not see much to keep children happy - beaches apart. There are no shopping malls nor nightclubs - just forget that sort of thing! Inishbofin will suit walkers, couples wanting quiet and privacy and fishing enthusiasts. It also makes an interesting destination for wedding parties and other groups (book clubs etc.) wanting a get-away.
Be aware that this is an Atlantic island and must be subject at times to severe weather which would limit outdoor activities and might make the 30 minute boat crossing a memorable experience. Given those provisos I recommend it highly and I wish Inishbofin House every success for the future.

Room Tip: I understand that the best rooms are on the 2nd floor but they cost a little more. Please check this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ourmindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

had the best wkend ever staying at inishbofin house hotel the staff were very friendly and the food was excellent cant wait for a return visit just love this island plenty to do on the island lovely walks the views are amazing lovely beaches here also if u want to chill out this is the place to be :)

Room Tip: room with balcony the views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sept12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilbeggan, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

What a lovely hotel, had a great weekend with a group of friends, we had an amazing room, with great views and the best hotel bathroom l've been in in a very long time. Staff were so so friendly and we had an incredible meal on the Saturday night, past was to die for as were the desserts. Only thing missing were the tea and coffee making facilities, love my coffee. Island is charming and will be back next year fingers crossed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela-Don-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with my husband and really enjoyed it. The staff were very friendly and the food was lovely. The Island is very relaxing and the weather was nice while we where on the island will be back next year for a week or more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cait1173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
580 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
717 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing