We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel on a magical island.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel on a magical island.”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Loved the hotel but we had a long wait for our rooms to be ready. Not good with two very young children. No tea or coffee making fascilities in the room which is a disappointment for a hotel of this calibre.Food was excellent and we enjoyed our stay.would definatley return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patjones48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    95
    34
    13
    18
See reviews for
95
139
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived off the boat (6 of us) 1 room only ready at 3 pm. Not too bothered, waited in the bar, left all luggage under stairs near reception. Having checked a few times, rooms ready at 4.40. Luggage missing, went back on ferry to mainland, men drenched wet after walk. No change of clothes, confined to room, staff were amused by it all, missed our 8 pm slot for dinner, bags arrived just before 9 pm with all clothes and bags drenched wet. A very nice lad took some of the mens clothes to the drier but they were still not fully dry when returned next morning, all my clothes were ringing wet and were not of the material suitable for a drier. We had to wait for a table for dinner even though there were only 3 tables occupied in the restaurant. The staff there were very nice in the restaurant. The food was only ok and there were children running around even at 11 pm. They did take 50 euro off the bill without being asked. None of it would have mattered hugely if the Manager and staff were a bit more helpful. We will be back to Inisbofin, so beautiful but not to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorkMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had our wedding reception here in June 2013. We cannot thank all of the staff enough for the hard work and for ensuring the day ran as smoothly as it did. The reception food was delicious and the service was top-drawer.
Cannot fault anything about this hotel, you never have to ask for anything twice. The staff were all so friendly and could not do enough for you.
The bar has a great pint and the bar food is excellent in terms of quality, value and portion size.
Highly recommend this hotel for any occasion, you will not be disappointed.
Looking forward to our return visit already!

Room Tip: We had the hotel fully booked and heard nothing but compliments about the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fabulous fabulous place, from the time of arrival to the moment of departure - we had got a hostile reception at the local hostel but we got over that with our experience at Inishbofin house hotel. Unfortunately we were only staying one night on this fantastic island of paradise with breath-taking scenery suitable for families, individuals couples or groups of people meeting up. At this hotel, the food both in the evening and breakfast the next morning was superb and well priced - great options on the dinner menu and a buffet breakfast with a selection of fresh juices, cereals and mini pastries first followed by table service breakfast. The evening/night-time entertainment was very enjoyable with a neil diamond tribute act followed by disco - the dancefloor was full all night through. We had planned at some stage to visit the other 2 hotels on the island but found no need, we were so pleased with this spot. The place was homely and relaxing and all areas were spotless. The manager on duty, Conrad was so welcoming and obliging from collecting his guests at the pier, lugging baggage, taking meal orders, bar work, lugging baggage back to the pier with his content guests after their stay and restarting the cycle again with the new arrivals. He was on hand up from the early hours of the morning to the earlier hours of the morning, always cheerful, watchful and assisting. The receptionist also deserves mention for her efficient and friendly manner with always a smile on her face regardless of pressure. Conrad was ably assisted at mealtimes by a waitress named Noelle who kept all of us happy and content at the table with her to-ing and fro-ing for various demands - cinnamon, green tea and other such requests were all delivered with the light-hearted "we are on an island you know". Unfortunately we didn't get to the spa but we had the pleasure of meeting Aisling the therapist in the hotel who had the most pleasant easy-going manner which I'm sure would help make a treatment session most enjoyable. We will definitely return, hopefully before this season is over...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linmcoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
181 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we stayed for just a night to sample the atmosphere on this island. Our room was clean and comfortable while the shower was one of the best for a while, great pressure and temperature spot on. Breakfast was good too but the staff seemed more interested in each others previous night than keeping up with service. The island is just one of the most beautiful locations and wel worth a visit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Just back from our first weekend in this Hotel, what a fantastic location, ferry approx 30 minutes from Cleggan, so relaxing but yet a super Hotel with great food and entertainment. We had a sea view room with balcony, we could not have asked for better. All of this made possible by the energetic pair Conrad and Linda who both went out of their way to make us so welcome and make sure we all had a great weekend, really hard working couple. Bar and restaurant staff were so nice and nothing was a problem to them. We will most definitely return to this Hotel.
Thanks Conrad and Linda.

Room Tip: Sea View is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Just back from a 3 day break. Lovely relaxing hotel, great views over the harbour, try and get a sea-view room as it will really add to the stay. Our room was pretty basic, and looked out over the back of hotel bar, ( the sound of a generator could be heard) but room very clean. Lots of people in the hotel, lots of families on holiday, small kids etc in August. Very friendly staff, and very helpful and genuine people. Breakfast food was great. Dinner in the restaurant was pretty standard fare really . 35 euro for 3 courses. Had a sea-weed bath in the spa, skin felt soft and supple after it. Aishling in the spa is lovely. Would highly recommend this hotel and inishbofin as a destination for a relaxed, get away from it all break. Forget cars, TV, internet etc, bring your waterproofs and walking boots and get out and explore this naturally beautiful island. It's worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet sea-view room, and book well in advance as they book up first I'm told
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irishmaryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
18.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing