We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I've been visiting Bofin for years but this was my first stay at Inishbofin House. What a dream, it was everything that I hoped for! The surroundings are superb, the staff were fantastic. The overall atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed and very comfortable. Having a view out the front with a little balcony was a must! I have to say the food in both the bar and restaurant was terrific, the full Irish breakfast was the best ever!,I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deliaclune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    96
    34
    13
    18
See reviews for
95
142
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland West
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed on a Sunday and Monday night in early June. The Hotel is located just a five minute walk from the ferry pier but the Hotel provides a courtesy taxi which is handy for luggage. The Hotel is very clean and comfortable and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The food and drink were good and there is another bar & restaurant right beside the hotel which provides some variety if you are staying for a few days. The island is beautiful, very quaint with some wonderfull coastal walks. The ferry from cleggan takes only 30mins and is a pleasent ride.The one tip I would give is that the local shop is limited with its stock so if there is anything important you need it might be best to bring it with you. All in all a lovely Island and the Hotel is well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Most rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdmundoIrelandWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miketheredfan
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We visited the hotel on the 6th June 2013.The reason for the visit was to check it out as we having a family wedding there in 2014.
Inishbofin is situated about 30 minutes by ferry from Cleggan which is about 10 miles west of Clifden Co Galway. The crossing was very pleasant both ways and when we arrived at the pier they had a shuttle bus to bring us to our hotel(which was about 5 minutes walk).
The hotel has approx 30 rooms and are beautifully furnished.The only complained I had was the bed was a bit small. Our room was looking out to the sea .We loved the food ,both the breakfast and diner were cooked fresh,I had steak and my wife had salmon and we were both very happy with the quality and flavour of the food.
We were dealing with a lady called Claire who answered all our enquiries about our family wedding reception and any information we needed about further occupation on the island.
If you like walking,cycling or spending time on some splendid beaches this is the place to go.
Ps Make sure you have the pollock and chips before you leave the island.The fish is caught by rod off the shore each morning.

Room Tip: The sea room views are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miketheredfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

A great hotel located in a beautiful island. Definitely worth a visit. Service and rooms was great. There was a hen party staying in the hotel but that did not take from the enjoyment of our stay.
I do hope the island does not become a centre for same as the peace and tranquility of the location is unique.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a magnificent sea view with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seanof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We decided we wanted to find a unique venue by the sea for our wedding. We had heard great things about the Inishbofin House Hotel and when we went to see it- we instantly fell in love with it and the Island itself! The setting was magical and we knew we were onto a winner!

From start to finish the staff at the hotel were so friendly and went above and beyond in making our ideas and requests a reality. Their hard work and dedication made sure our wedding went off without a hitch, the attention we got made us feel like we were the only wedding in the hotel for the entire year! The food was amazing and to such a high standard; this was very important to us and it was evident why they have won so many awards for their food.
Our guests commented how the hotel had such a lovely warm and welcoming feeling. From the minute they stepped onto the ferry they really felt like they were away from it all and got into the swing of things very quickly! The relaxed and fun atmosphere was obvious throughout the whole weekend and we’ve had many comments from guests saying ‘it was the best wedding I’ve ever been to'!! (Which of course we’re choosing to believe!). Not forgetting how amazing our photos are, the scenery and setting of them looks fabricated- but of course only Inishbofin can be credited for this! Honestly can't think of one bad thing to say. It truly is such a special place… Already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Request a Seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 26April2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel (the views from the rooms are fantastic!) in a unique setting. The staff are very friendly and really accomodating. On the last day we wanted to fit in one last hike and they let us check out late allowing us to have shower etc befrore catching ferry back to Cleggan.

The only downside was the food. Neither of us are fussy eaters but we were really disappointed by the food in the hotel. For 35 euro the set menu seemed good value but the portions were very small. I had fish which was very overcooked and our starters ere cold. We also ate in the hotel bar on the last day and had fish and chips. The fish was so greasy I had to ask for it to be soaked up a bit. I understand that it is hard to get fresh food and produce to inisboffin as the food is not great in the pub nearby either. I just thought it was a shame that such a nice hotel didnt have great food.
Having said this I would still go back to stay as we were there for the scenery and hiking, just if the food was better it would be 5/5.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvyE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Inishbofin house hotel & left as friends with the manager Niles, the staff & many of the other runners who were there for the Inishbofin Half Marathon. The hotel has beautiful views & the rooms are very nice. The spa was excellent also. Can't say enough good things about our stay here.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank slrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
707 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing