We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our amazing 2012 wedding at Inishbofin House Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I came to Inishbofin a couple of years ago on our search for the perfect wedding location - and we stopped searching once we met with Kathleen and the staff at Inishbofin House Hotel! We wanted our wedding guests to have a different wedding experience, we wanted them to have a little holiday, relax, enjoy the heavenly surroundings and most of all take special memories away from our wedding - Inishbofin House Hotel did this for us and so much more. From our very first meeting with Kathleen and the staff to when we said goodbye to them after our wedding, they made our and our guests stay wonderful. All of the rooms, the bar and the restaurant were so clean, comfortable and warm. The staff provided amazing support on the day of our wedding, even acting as taxi for the wedding party as we travelled around the island for pictures! Our wedding guests still talk about their experiences at the hotel; the friendliness of the staff, the wonderful food and overall good quality and value. The location of the hotel itself is excellent, a short walk from the pier and very close to the church, so close in fact that I walked to the church with my dad - very special. The island itself has the most spectacular views; the locals are very friendly and very proud that people choose the island for their wedding location. We can’t wait to go back to the hotel and catch up with everyone – it’s like home away from home for us. We would highly recommend Inishbofin House Hotel, both as a fantastic wedding location and holiday destination. Linda & John.

Room Tip: Any room with a 'bay view' is lovely - great to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaD2013_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 409 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife Lindsey and I started looking at locations for our wedding towards the end of 2010. One of our friends had a wonderful experience staying at the hotel the year before and recommended we visit the island for ourselves. We visited Inishbofin House Hotel early last year and the decision to have our wedding on the island was a very easy one to make.

The island itself as described by others on here is a piece of heaven. The backdrop of Connemara, beautiful beaches and turquoise waters make such an impression on you as soon as you arrive. It's so peaceful and quiet that its just the right place to get away from everyday life.

The location of the hotel itself has the most spectacular views of the bay. It really is breathtaking to wake up to. The rooms were lovely and clean and with a danger of repeating myself amazing views. Our whole weekend was perfect and we honestly couldn't have wished for more. We still have people talking about it now, nearly a year on.

I can't write this review though without mentioning the staff who were not just incredible to both wife and I, but to all our guests. Nothing was too much and every request was met with a sincere smile. Kathleen and Claire run a very smooth ship, and that carries down to all their staff. Also, Shane thanks for helping out on the big day.....another really nice guy that was liked by all.

We will be back again this year for sure. See you soon guys.

Alan&Lindsey

Room Tip: Any room facing those views and your in for a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a lovely nights stay here, room was small, but had a shared balcony looking over bay. also the electric fuse box made awful noise, so ended up tripping the switch so we could sleep.Bar was busy on evening of stay, music wasn't great, so went to the only other bar, few 100 metres from hotel. The communal reading/quiet room was a mess, books strewn around, dirty glasses etc, pity as it is a lovely room. Breakfast was in their restaurant room, vast room - breakfast cooked to order, but as we were some of the last coming down, alot of the breads/juices were gone and were not replenished. We weren't past the time, so should still have got the same service as everyone else.
Overall nice staff, but could do with a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Myself and my husband had the pleasure of staying in this hotel with a group of friends, for a weekend of good food, fun and relaxation and that's exactly what we got! The staff were so friendly and welcoming( as were the locals ).The hotel itself is set against the most amazing views...a little piece of heaven at the front door every day. The food was yummy(I think I've gained 5pounds) and that was with a reduced menu due to them closing for the winter so I can't wait to go back to sample the full menu!!!
Thank you for a fantastic weekend,we shall definitely be seeing ye all again next season.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neddono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind review.

We've very lucky to have such amazing views, and I'm delighted you enjoyed our food and found our staff so friendly and welcoming.

We look forward to having you all back again next season for more of the same.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a lovely stay at the hotel at the end of september and everyone was really happy with the hotel. It is in a stunning location, right beside The Beach Bar, and has wonderful views. The rooms were nice, the breakfast was perfect, but it was the staff that were the real jewels in the crown. Everyone was sooo nice and could not possibly have been more friendly & welcoming.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the spectacular views by booking a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAUDYMAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of your stay with us.

Thanks for noting our stunning location, wonderful views, and The Jewels in our Crown - our Staff!!

We would love to have you back out again sometime next season.

Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just back from a fantastic weekend on Inishbofin. From the ferry over to island - the hotel - the people - the stunning scenery - the tranquility - This was truly a slice of heaven on earth. The view from the hotel will stay with me forever. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, a great bunch. The food was very good – breakfast, bar food and evening meal. Rooms clean, would advise though to ask for a room at the front. I could sit in the Library all day and take in the view, this may be a good place to have tea/coffee making facilities. The therapies brilliant after a 3 hour trek around the stunning views of the island. I would go back in the morning. Keep up the good work. And THANK YOU for a memorable break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieCor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for the high praise, indeed we are a little slice of Heaven on Earth!

Our views are amazing, and we are so lucky to be located in such a stunning part of the island. Thank you for noting our friendly staff, good food and good spa treatments.

It's great that you left with such good memories of the island. We hope that you'll be back out again next season to experience more of the same.

Thank you for recommending. us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just back from the Inishbofin house hotel and I have to say this was one of the best places I have stayed. The view looking out to the atlantic ocean is spectacular whether you are eating breakfast lunch or dinner.The friendliness of the staff has to be worth a mention and a special thanks to Claire who couldnt do enough for you always with a smile on her face. Our bedroom had a big balcony off it with stunning views, and a powershower that eased aching muscles after a 2 hour bike ride around the island! very little phone coverage on the island meant that there was peace and quiet that you dont often experience these days. From checkin to checkout this was a very relaxing few days and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: room 119 views to die for
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curraghKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted you thought we were one of the best hotels you've ever stayed at!

Our views are spectacular alright, and our staff a very friendly bunch.

Thank you for recommending us. We hope you make a trip out to see us again next season.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
654 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
748 reviews
17.7 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
18.6 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range: $94 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing