We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Stayed in this hotel over the May Bank Holiday. There was a big group of us including children but nothing was too much trouble. On arrival off the ferry there is a mini-van there to take your bags the short journey to the hotel. I'm sure if it's raining you can go in the van also but it was a nice evening so we strolled up ourselves.
The setting is fab and most of the front of the hotel is glass to take advantage of the great view of the harbour. The hotel is children friendly except for one tiny thing - in the front of the hotel is a seating area with wire fencing so as not to obscure the few but if children were unattended this could be an accident waiting to happen. Common sense would say that children should always to supervised but accidents can happen.
The atmosphere is very relaxed and the staff very friendly and easy-going. Service is good and not frantic like you can get in some holiday hotels. We were more than happy to fit in with the pace of island life.
Our room was big with acces to a little balcony which is a nice extra touch.
I would happily recommend Inishbofin house hotel to anyone

Room Tip: We didn't book seaview rooms as they were extra but all got them anyway as most of the rooms fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blondie1362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, May 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking to the time to write a review of your stay with us. We greatly appreciate your feedback.

Yes indeed, we are a child friendly hotel. I have bought your concerns about the fence to the attention of the relevant department.

We pride ourselves on our customer service, so great to hear you enjoyed the island pace of life!

Thank you for recommending us, and we hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    97
    35
    14
    18
See reviews for
96
144
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The West
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

Stayed at the Inishbofin House Hotel for the May Bank Holiday weekend for three nights and have to say we really had a great, relaxing and enjoyable stay at the hotel. In hindsight 2 nights would have been enough to stay on Inishbofin as we had cycled/walked the length and breath of the island in two days, if the hotel hadn’t been so nice we probably would have cut the trip short and stayed somewhere else in Connemara for the night as we don’t get to travel up that side of the country too often. However, it was great to feel cut off from work etc for the weekend, and the poor mobile phone reception on the island helped with that! Really liked Inishbofin but when we had seen everything at least twice it was enough!

When we stepped off the ferry from Cleggan I saw a small bus with the name of the hotel on the side of it, as I approached the bus a lady smiled and asked us were we staying at the hotel. She then said the would take our bags back to the hotel and gave us directions to the hotel, which is literally two minutes walk to the left of the pier, tucked away in the corner of the bay. As soon as we walked into the reception we were greeted by a very friendly man who asked us how we were/our journey was etc and explained where everything was located in the hotel. When the bus arrived back with all of the bags from the ferry he brought ours up to the room, didn’t expect him to but he got there before us, he was also most helpful with suggestions for things to do and provided us with the hotel’s A3 map of the island.

The hotel:
The hotel itself is only a few years old and it is modern and bright, we were staying on the first floor. Our room was located at the back of the hotel which only faced into a cut away hill but we really didn’t mind as we were out around the island all day long. There is a lounge on the first floor with magnificent views of the bay; I found this room to be especially nice to wind down after dinner with a drink. Neither of us used the marine spa as it is just not our thing. Had booked the hotel about 6 weeks in advance at a very reasonable B&B rate, we often travel to Irish Islands and find that sometimes they can afford to rip you off as you have no other choice.

Our room:
Our room was a good size; bathroom was lovely, shower/bath with plenty of hot water. Bath towels etc were changed each day of our stay. The television did not have great reception but that didn’t bother us as we didn’t go to Inishbofin to sit in watching tv. There was plenty of variety available on the breakfast menu: continental, fry-up, smoked salmon & scrambled egg etc, and found the breakfast servers to be friendly and efficient. There was a guest directory folder on the table in our room with hotel information etc but also had a detailed history of the island with places to visit etc.

The restaurant:
We only dined in the restaurant one night of our stay, couldn’t fault anything with the meal, it was very enjoyable indeed. The man who was serving us was so nice and easy going, very chatty but not intrusive, taking time to talk to all of the diners.

The bar:
Ate in the bar two nights of our stay, it was great that there was such a variety on the hotels menu’s considering they have to get most of their ingredients etc brought in by ferry, I found the prices on the menu very reasonable for an island destination. Had the bangers and mash one of the nights, the pork sausages had black pudding and thyme in them, lovely flavours and as far as I can remember this meal with vegetables was only around the 10-11 Euro mark, the desserts were delicious and we could afford to indulge with all of the daily walking!

Overall we had a great stay at the Inishbofin House hotel so I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank west_clare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lenghty and indepth review of your stay with us. It's very beneficial for us to get such detailed feedback.

I'm delighted you liked the Hotel so much and the island. Good that you got to see everything during your stay. Customer service is of the upmost importance to us, so it's great to hear that you experienced our hospitality from the minute you stepped off the boat. As you pointed out our rates are very reasonable and our food is of great quality. We try to offer as much variety in our menus as is possible for an island location.

Although you may not normally use a Spa, we offer a wide range of wellness treatments, which after a day out exploring, all help to keep you relaxed, from foot retreats to reiki sessions.

Again, thank you for your kind review and we greatly appreciate the fact that you would highly recommend us. We hope to get the chance to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

What a stunning, peaceful and convenient location for a hotel, with a magnificent view of the natural harbour. Inishbofin is a real treasure island, like the Connemara / Ireland of my childhood. Stunning scenery, terrific walks, a different view every minute, powder white beaches. The hotel is very bright and uplifting with a lovely guest lounge/library looking out onto the harbour. There is a garden with tables where one can enjoy a drink. Very tasty food can be enjoyed in the bar or dining room, and indeed there are a fair number of dining options for such a small island. Breakfast can be as enormous or light as you wish-lots of choice. Staff are wonderful and friendly, like all the islanders are. Inishbofin is easy to reach from Dublin by public transport-train to Galway, comfortable Citylink bus direct to Cleggan pier, and finally the short ferry ride.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We greatly appreciate customer feedback.

Yes indeed the island is stunning, and as you say, we may have one of the best views in Ireland!

Again, thank you for your kind words. It has been our pleasure in having you stay with us at Inishbofin House Hotel, and we look forward to having you back as our guest again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebar, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2012

My wife and I just are just back from a wonderful 2 days on this beautiful island cycling and walking until we collapsed. Must get fit for the next trip there! A big thank you to Kathleen,Claire and the 2 Michael's at the hotel for their welcome and the hospitality they extended to us both. Nothing was a problem to them. A professional team running spacious and bright hotel overlooking over a beautiful bay in front of the hotel, Hope to see you all next year.

Room Tip: Look for a room over the front of the hotel...room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, June 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words of your experience of staying with us at Inishbofin House Hotel. I'm delighted that you experienced such great hospitality throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again next year.

We sincerely appreciate your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2012

I've never given a review before but because of the high quality received here i felt compelled to write. Just back from a wedding which i attended here.The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and above all would do anything to accommadate you.The hotel was spotless,the rooms perfect and the bar was spacious and bright as was the function room where the wedding dinner took place was beautiful, the intention to detail was superb.The best had to be the food,one word...perfection!!!!.Not a big lamb eater but it was melt in your mouth. I do have a very sweet tooth and looked forward to the dessert and i loved every mouthful especially the lemon tart and chocolate brownie.So all is left to say is every course was top class and cooked perfectly. Portions were generous and my plate was left clean.Two days later, everyone is still talking about the high quality of the cooking and service of the hotel.Every aspect of this hotel was brilliant and we will definitely be returning.The food and service of the manager alone would bring me back.....highly recommended. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review. I'm delighted you enjoyed the wedding so much. Perfection is a great word to use to describe our food! Customer service is of vital importance to us, so it's great that you got to experience all aspects of it.

We hope you'll make a trip back to Inishbofin again, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying with you on Easter Sunday night... We had an absolute ball.... the first sign of what can only be described as the best service ever!!! was the lovely Claire who met us from the Ferry and saved us from walking the short distance to the gorgeous hotel in the unfortunate rain... were we glad to see her... Claire was so friendly and welcoming we just knew were in for a great stay... The staff were all so friendly and welcoming, they just couldn't do enough for us and everyone else staying in the hotel... the food was just gorgeous and very reasonably priced.. especially the great deal on the evening meal which was just mouth watering..... Our room was lovely with fabulous sea view and the beds were very comfy...The locals and staff made our stay so much fun and the views are just amazing....Huge thank you to Kathleen, Claire and all the staff for an amazing time... I've already booked to return and can't wait..

Room Tip: I would advise checking out the Ferry times and bookings to ensure you get the one you want coming h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the to review your stay with us. I'm delighted that you experienced the best service ever with us! Thanks for noting how good our food is and that it is indeed very reasonably priced.

We look forward to having you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2012

What a fabulous hotel! Had the pleasure of staying there last Sunday night and what can I say. From stepping off the ferry to stepping back onto it! The staff went above and beyond the call of duty! I cannot recommend this hotel enough! We loved it so much we are planning our next visit! The hotel is stunning a perfect place to relax! The food is outstanding we have eaten in many restaurants over the years but none can compare to what we had the pleasure of eating while there!! our compliments to the chefs!!
Hats off to Kathleen, Claire and all the staff! Will see you all soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ultk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InishbofinHouseHotel, Manager at Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest

Many thanks for your kind review. We greatly appreciate all feedback. We pride ourselves on our customer service, so I'm delighted that you found our staff went beyond the call of duty. I have to agree, our food is outstanding!

Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to Inishbofin House Hotel.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Doonmore Hotel
Doonmore Hotel
#1 of 3 in Inishbofin
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
13.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
11.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
12.7 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa

Property: Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
Address: Inishbofin | Connemara, Inishbofin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inishbofin, the enchanted Island, is set in the wild splendour of Connemara, amid the magical beauty of sea, lake and mountains, located off the beautiful Galway and Mayo coastline in the west of Ireland. An oasis of modern luxury, with a warm island welcome, Inishbofin House Hotel is far removed from the daily distractions of the mainland. The hotel is guaranteed to provide a warm island welcome. Inishbofin House Hotel provides the perfect island getaway for families looking to rediscover nature or couples looking for a romantic break away from it all. With beautiful beaches, walks and cycling paths, an array of birds and other wildlife, the Island and Inishbofin House Hotel has something for everyone. All 34 en-suite rooms are fitted with contemporary furnishings designed in keeping with the beautiful island setting. Sea view rooms offer stunning views of rugged mountains and blue Atlantic waters. All rooms have luxurious beds complete with goose down duvets and pillows. Relax the afternoons away in our stylish Pier bar surrounded by spectacular harbour views. Enjoy casual informal dining with a selection of dishes from our bar food menu to suit everyone. Enjoy live traditional music with local musicians. Our restaurant menu is inspired by the sea and carries a range of dishes to reflect the days catch and the changing seasons. Our wine list caters for every palate with a thoughtful selection of new and old world wines to suit everyone. The Hotel Spa is the ideal place to relax after a day out exploring the island. The Marine Spa has six treatment rooms and a relaxation room. Many treatments are on offer ranging from massages to seaweed baths. VOYA products are used, which is an organic beauty range designed to delight and purify the body. The VOYA seaweed bath is a popular choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Inishbofin
Inishbofin House Hotel And Marine Spa
Inishbofin Hotel Marine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing