We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doonmore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
$367
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$156
$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Maol Reidh Hotel(Tullycross)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
545
109
8
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
545
109
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab clawsmurray familygreat musicinishbofin islandmusic sessionfamily run hotelthe pubchowderfamily holidayfriendly hotelhome from homebar foodrelaxing breaktop classbrown breadcomfortable roomslast weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
640 - 645 of 663 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We have been going to the Doonmore Hotel for many years and it is always what it say's on the packet....a family run hotel where you get a wonderful welcome and good home cooking which is always consistent and somethingelse that these days is rare to find that there is actually still after 40 years lots of family working there! See you soon and thanks for all the wonderful holidays so far, roll on the next forty!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2009

This is a gem of a hotel that truly puts the customer first. Andrew Murray is the perfect host that literally goes 'out of his way' to provide great hotel service with very competitive prices to match. I thought the room was great that I stayed in not to mention the excellent bar and restaurant.
The hotel also provides a free pick up to and from the pier at Inishbofin. When we arrived we casually asked Andrew could he recommend someone to take us to the neighboring island of Inishark, in other words we needed to charter a boat. Not only was this done in record time but we also had a great chat with the local fisherman that was going to take us over but unfortunately the weather was too bad to risk landing on 'Shark'. However, in hindsight this is one more reason to return to the hotel again. This is a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Damian120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I have been going to Inishbofin Island for the past 20 years. We always stay in the Dunnmore (Murray's) Hotel. It is a family run hotel, and you are always made feel welcome. The staff are warm & welcoming & the food is delicious.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loughy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

If you are the type that books your holiday according to the official Tourist Board Rating, You probably won't consider this hotel. That's where you would be so wrong. The Doonmore ( Murray's) has everything and more than any of the so called 4 star hotels that blot the streets of the world. Homely, friendly, relaxed, great service, great food, great atmosphere are not just words in this hoter, they are real. No fuss just a great experience. Go there and try it. I will be going back for more.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonUkjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The only bad thing about this hotel is their website! My wife and I decided to try somewhere different this year and as we have always wanted to visit the west coast of Ireland, we chose to go as far west as possible. Are we glad we did, even though we ended up staying in the Doonmore more by accident than design.
The whole experience was even more wonderful as our expectations weren't that high. ( see aforementioned website!)
Who said that Ireland of the welcomes is gone? Brother and sister team, Andrew and Aileen Murray,went out of their way at every turn to make our stay a memorable one. The food is superb, the atmosphere great and we got to hear some excellent irish music in the bar at night, including hearing Andrew sing ( my wife wanted to marry him on the spot!!) This is a wonderful hotel on a truly beautiful island and if the weather is as good as it was when we stayed, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather be which is why we've booked our holiday in the doonmore already for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank walkerman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews