We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Place”
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
“Amazing Place”
Reviewed February 25, 2010

This is a truely fantabulous place! Staying at this hotel simply made my entire week on Innisboffin that much more enjoyable. The staff are friendly and accomodating without being in your face and the food... well words dont come close. If you are looking to stay on the island lok no further... this is THE place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frozencore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    101
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
178
151
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We have been going to the Doonmore Hotel for many years and it is always what it say's on the packet....a family run hotel where you get a wonderful welcome and good home cooking which is always consistent and somethingelse that these days is rare to find that there is actually still after 40 years lots of family working there! See you soon and thanks for all the wonderful holidays so far, roll on the next forty!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garylevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

This is a gem of a hotel that truly puts the customer first. Andrew Murray is the perfect host that literally goes 'out of his way' to provide great hotel service with very competitive prices to match. I thought the room was great that I stayed in not to mention the excellent bar and restaurant.
The hotel also provides a free pick up to and from the pier at Inishbofin. When we arrived we casually asked Andrew could he recommend someone to take us to the neighboring island of Inishark, in other words we needed to charter a boat. Not only was this done in record time but we also had a great chat with the local fisherman that was going to take us over but unfortunately the weather was too bad to risk landing on 'Shark'. However, in hindsight this is one more reason to return to the hotel again. This is a gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

I have been going to Inishbofin Island for the past 20 years. We always stay in the Dunnmore (Murray's) Hotel. It is a family run hotel, and you are always made feel welcome. The staff are warm & welcoming & the food is delicious.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loughy26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2008

If you are the type that books your holiday according to the official Tourist Board Rating, You probably won't consider this hotel. That's where you would be so wrong. The Doonmore ( Murray's) has everything and more than any of the so called 4 star hotels that blot the streets of the world. Homely, friendly, relaxed, great service, great food, great atmosphere are not just words in this hoter, they are real. No fuss just a great experience. Go there and try it. I will be going back for more.

  • Liked — The Service, the food, the atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonUkjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

The only bad thing about this hotel is their website! My wife and I decided to try somewhere different this year and as we have always wanted to visit the west coast of Ireland, we chose to go as far west as possible. Are we glad we did, even though we ended up staying in the Doonmore more by accident than design.
The whole experience was even more wonderful as our expectations weren't that high. ( see aforementioned website!)
Who said that Ireland of the welcomes is gone? Brother and sister team, Andrew and Aileen Murray,went out of their way at every turn to make our stay a memorable one. The food is superb, the atmosphere great and we got to hear some excellent irish music in the bar at night, including hearing Andrew sing ( my wife wanted to marry him on the spot!!) This is a wonderful hotel on a truly beautiful island and if the weather is as good as it was when we stayed, I can't think of anywhere I'd rather be which is why we've booked our holiday in the doonmore already for next year.

  • Liked — food, service, location, atmosphere
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank walkerman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

I stay in the Doonmore every June bank holiday week-end. Have been going back now for the last six years. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Wonderful staff, food, booze and music. If you need a place to unwind and slow down, look no further. And you get the added benifit of a magical island to explore when not enjoying the hotel !

  • Liked — Arriving on day 1 of my annual trip !
  • Disliked — Leaving and having to say
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PMBinIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
0.8 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
716 reviews
11.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Property: Doonmore Hotel
Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing