We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to experience true Inishbofin hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Co.Meath
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best place to experience true Inishbofin hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a few days in July with my family. This was my first stay here since circa 1980 I loved it then and I still love it. Great location with wonderful scenery, brilliant staff, great food and a perfect bar for food and some of the best music sessions you'll hear west of Galway!
Don't hesitate to book before the season is over you will not regret it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Feenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    82
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
150
126
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

First time on the island and we were there to celebrate a friends wedding. Amazing spot. We were charmed in a big way by the place - the locals were incredibly friendly and the scenery was jaw dropping. Murrays is a really nice quaint hotel. Yes it is basic but we could not fault it in any way. Staff were excellent, breakfasts were first rate and the food and drink in the bar could not be faulted. Overall, a really enjoyable two night stay. We will 100% be back and there is no question that we will be straight back to Murrays. Recommended +++++

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SurfsUpIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Doonmore is brilliant!
The fantastic staff,excellent food and the guaranteed entertainment make for an unbeatable experience.
If you want to enjoy old Ireland at its very best go to Innishboffin and stay at the Doonmore.Step back in time and enjoy every minute of the good life.
A great location for views,walks,bikes and trips to the beach.
And everyone is so friendly.
Very difficult to leave --can't wait to go back

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Lovely meals served by friendly and helpful staff. Lively pub with great music. Location is fantastic: beautiful beaches are a short walk away through farmland. There is no attraction too far away from the Doonmore.

Room Tip: Rooms across the courtyard are likely quieter. Ours was in the hotel proper. We slept with our wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

The Doonmore is a great place to stay while on the Island, it's location is by far the best out of the three hotels on the island, especially for it's rugged sea view. Andrew and his partner Donna were so very attentive, from the moment they picked me up at the pier until the moment I left. This is not a posh hotel, it is an older hotel, full of charm, character, and comfort. My room was in the old part of the hotel. I requested an upstairs room with an ocean view, it was fabulous! It was great to fall asleep with the sea breeze coming through my window. The bed was comfortable with clean sheets, good pillows and a warm duvet. The shower was fine with plenty of hot water and good pressure. Everything was exceptionally clean and in good working order. The food is also very good at the Doonmore. I opted to dine from the bar menu instead of dining in the restaurant, it's a preference of mine as I like to dine outside in a more casual surrounding. I will have to say my favorite meal was an open face crab sandwich, served on brown bread with a side salad, it was delicious. You also have a wide choice of options for breakfast as well. I took advantage of the great hot breakfast because I did a lot of walking every day, covering all three loop trails, West Quarter, Middle Quarter, and East Quarter. These loop trails are a must if your able, you don't want to miss a bit of this gorgeous place. If you want to stay in a charming hotel, where everyone knows your name, that will take you back in time to a memorable family holiday, the Doonmore is the place!

Room Tip: No in room wifi, but in pub and sun porch down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Loved Inishbofin and the Doonmore hotel. This was our first visit but we will definitely be back. Inishbofin is like taking a step back in time where the world moves at a slower pace. The people are very friendly. Most people travel on foot or on bikes. Very safe place for a family holiday where you can enjoy the simple life - walking, fishing, cycling, reading,going to the beach etc. The Doonmore Hotel is an idyll. It is not the place to go if you want chic modern style but it is definitely the place to go if you want a relaxed atmosphere, personable staff, good service, great music and fantastic food. We really enjoyed our couple of days there. Rooms are clean and you have all the facilities you need - kettle, hairdryer, iron, flat screen tv, toiletries etc.Food was lovely - preferred the bar menu to the restaurant menu as there was a greater choice.Seafood was superb. Staff without exception were lovely and a credit to the hotel.Live music was on every night and the craic was mighty. Sat with one of the musicians on the boat back and he said that this was his favourite venue and he travels to many gigs. Met some lovely people - some of whom have been returning for over 20 years which says something. Must mention Andrew, the owner. When does this man rest?! He was there to meet the ferry and drop us back to the ferry. He was on reception, he served behind the bar, he served meals. Was very much on the ball in meeting the needs of his guests. Hope you get some sleep in October Andrew.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which had a fabulous view over the sea - think rooms 1-8 have this view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jomick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Really enjoyed our trip to Inishbofin. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff is amazing. Took a walk to the end of the island to watch the sunset. There was a beautiful private cove on that side of the island.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NYCMOM387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
9.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
12.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Property: Doonmore Hotel
Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing