We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family has been staying at the Doonmore on and off for the last 20 years. There is a lovely familiarity about the place; the kids love it. The staff are wonderful and friendly and can't do enough for you. The food is lovely and the kids look forward to the pancakes at breakfast!
The island has a unique charm and the Doonmore is a great base for setting off on a walk or cycle. We'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extension at the back are more modern but lack the wonderful views of the rooms at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_nal_D230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 643 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Three generations of my family have stayed in the Doonmore (Murrays) and the relaxed atmosphere, great food and welcoming bar is why we keep coming back. Bofin is a beautiful island and the atmosphere there is a real stress reliever. Its a timeless spot - and we'll keep coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are near the bar, rooms at the back aren't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaCantAteScenery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Recently stayed in Murray's during August for three nights and really loved it. It is a cosy, friendly place to stay. Facilities are very good in the room, what a powerful shower! Great bar where I enjoyed joining in with the very welcoming musicians for a couple of hours. My main delight was the food as being vegetarian I get some awful dishes but this was different. The Pasta Bake was so tasty as was the Filo Pastry bake and other options. It showed that thought had gone into these dishes and it was not just the Goats Cheese Tartlet which is usually the only choice. Inishbofin is a beautiful place to walk, relax and get good food. Thanks to the Doonmore for a lovely stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernadette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

we ate here twice last Friday. Lunch was a huge bowl of crab claws in garlic butter served with brown bread and a creamy pint of Guinness. plenty of napkins were needed as there is no dainty way to eat claws but they were absolutely delicious. We shared a seafood platter for dinner which consisted of even more crab claws, dressed crab, fresh and smoked salmon and finished off with a pair of desserts. We got soaked walking up to the restaurant but were picked up by a friendly local who dropped us at the door

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our recent holiday in Murray's was a return visit and we are already planning next year's trip. Inishbofin is a beautiful island and its lovely place to relax. Murray's fits with the island's personality- warm and welcoming! Personally speaking I think when you go to an relaxed island setting it dosen't make sense to stay in a swanky hotel which is impersonal or has no connection with your beautiful natural setting.
It's lovely to be met at the dock and brought to the hotel. At the hotel you will find lovely clean bedrooms, good grub and friendly staff. There is a wonderful buzz in the bar which is a mecca for great music!
We enjoyed v. good food at Murray's and the pancakes at breakfast time were a big hit with the children. Sincere thanks to Aileen, Andrew and their lovely staff who work very hard to ensure their guests are well cared for. You made such an impression on our 9 year old that he now proclaims that Inishbofin is better than Florida!! Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marscenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel collects u at the pier so you dont have to drag your luggage up. It is a bit of a walk but its nice when the weather is good. the manager was lovely and the the rest of the staff were also super friendly. they have a nice relaxed vibe. Food was reasonable and bar had nice benches outside to admire the view. There is an amazing beach about a five min cycle away. i was awake very early as the hotel is not very soundproof so you do hear all thats going on.. and a chorus of sheep and seagulls but it all adds to the experience and thats more cause i am a light sleeper. very handy spot to stay i would reccomend it :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Behancarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Perfectly fine rooms, plain but comfortable. However, the staff and the owners are so warm and friendly that they seriously elevate the hotel. We felt like family from the minute we arrived, and hated to leave. We will return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WashDCsuburbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
0.8 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
13.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
11.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range: $105 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing