We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and excellent service!”
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great value and excellent service!”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We go to Inishbofin every year and our first choice of accommodation is this little gem of a place. On arrival at the harbour Andrew is there to collect us and the other visitors to take us to the hotel. The hotel is a lively place, a hive of activity with music and craic most nights and an excellent menu too with great choices of fantastic dishes. The bar is where it all happens, brilliant traditional music sessions from local musicians and even greater boozing sessions! You can also take your drinks outside too and enjoy the sunshine. As far as the accommodation goes it is very good value and with a delicious cooked breakfast every morning you just cant go wrong. I would not stay anywhere else when I am on the island and I recommend it without hesitation, go on and try it for yourself, you wont regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dubliner09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Dubliner09,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I know it takes a little time and effort so thank you, we really appreciate it.
I love when regular guests give us feedback as you are the ones who have the best perspective over an extended period of time and are therefore our best and most trusted critics.
Our aim is that every guest that comes to stay will want to return because they enjoy the way we do things at the Doonmore.
I look forward to seeing you next summer for more ceol agus craic.

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    96
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
161
138
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I travel to Inishbofin twice a year with my parents, who have been visiting for over 20 years now. We stay in the Doonmore, and always have a wonderful time. We love the hotel, with it's stunning views, old world charm and impeccable hospitality. It's spotlessly clean, and the rooms are very comfortable with everything you need. The food is consistently great. My Dad isn't as sprightly as he used to be, but it doesn't matter there, as he gets driven to where he needs to go, courtesy of the Murray family. In this world we live in, with it's worries and responsibilities, it's just amazing that you can leave it all behind you on the mainland, and for a few days get a little taste of heaven!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Mary,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You and your family are treasured members of our regulars and I suppose it is no accident that you have all been coming back to us again and again.
We never take this for granted but rather work harder to make sure we deserve to be in such a privileged position and take it as affirmation that we are providing the type of holiday experience that you want.
It is a pleasure to have had you, your parents and other family members stay with us over the years. Driving your dad is likewise a pleasure, not a job.
Thank you again,

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Thanks to the Murrays for a nice weekend at the Doonmore. 10/15 minute walk from the pier. Relatively easy to walk the island with a few trails marked along the way. Youd have it done in a long afternoon. Just bring your walking boots as it can be wet! Keep your eye out for the brand new airstrip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjwantstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear CJ,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I notice that your rating of our rooms was 4 out of 5, the lowest rating of all the options. I know, due to the age of the hotel, that some of the rooms are dated. However, I am determined to raise the quality of all the rooms to a level that is beyond our guests expectations. The next time you come to stay with us please make yourself known to me and tell me what you think of the rooms. I believe strongly in constructive feedback so thank you again for your really good review.

Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am a regular visitor to Inishbofin and always make Murray's my number one choice. The family run experience will make your stay extra special from the first welcome to the last song in the bar at the end of the night.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extension at the back are quieter at night as they are farther from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShuggieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you Hughie for your great review. We love that our genuine family run hotel is appreciated so much. We intend to continue to improve your experience of staying with us for a long time into the future without losing that critical element of family run attention to our guests comfort and enjoyment. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stay in Murrays every time we go to Inisbofin which is usually twice a year, It’s our favourite spot, for its homely atmosphere, good food, comfortable accommodation and of course the traditional music. Inisbofin is such a peaceful, relaxing place and Murrays reflects this. Andrew and Aileen are always helpful, friendly and go the extra mile for their guests. The restaurant is top class and they also have great bar food. We are looking forward to going there again in July!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SB_Eire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear SB,

Thank you for your review. We have built up a reputation for consistently high standards of food and service which translates into a large percentage of repeat business. However, it is because of regular visitors like yourself that the business is successful so thank you for your custom.
We appreciate the effort people go to to take the time to write reviews and it is always nice to know that what we do is appreciated by our guests.

Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My sister and I stayed here in June 2012. As usual the accommodations, view, food, and company were excellent. The staff are friendly and always willing to go out of their way to help. Cant' wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Catherine,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It is always a pleasure to have guests who come to stay once becoming regular visitors, as you have. It reaffirms what we do and shows that what we do is what our guests want in a holiday.

I trust we shall see you soon again and thank you once again for your lovely review,

Regards,

Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I can't find the right superlative to do it justice, really. I've stayed there for some time over the last 5 years while working on an archaeological project in the area. The number of familiar faces you see from returning guests each summer attests to how beloved the Doonmore is. The quality of everything you could measure in a hotel is extraordinary - the food, accommodations, staff, etc. But, it's really none of those things that make it special. Something about the sea-side location, the conviviality of the pub, and the joy and melancholy of the music sessions. It's a place made for making memories. Go there, good things will happen.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Ryan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciate it. I hope that you will be coming back to visit us for many years to come and that you will see The Doonmore going from strength to strength in the hands of current and next generations of the Murray family.

Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
13.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Dolphin Hotel and Restaurant Inishbofin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
707 reviews
11.4 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Property: Doonmore Hotel
Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing