We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel on the best Island”
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
CO mAYO
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hotel on the best Island”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you have not already been to Inisbofin get there soon and be sure to stay at the Doonmore.The hotel feels like an extension of your own home.The staff really cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable.
We cannot wait to get back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayorambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review The Doonmore Hotel. We really appreciate people giving up some of their precious time to let others know about your experience at our hotel. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and appreciate how we run our business.
We do try hard to make everyone as welcome and relaxed as possible and that is why you and many others feel 'at home' when you stay with us.
I hope you do make it back soon,

Thank you again,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    91
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
132
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have traveled around a bit. Staying at Murray's is about as special as it gets. There is nothing Andrew and Aileen, their family and staff would not do to make your stay memorable. Want fresh lobster for dinner? Say so in the morning and it'll be on your table in the evening. I am reluctant to say more about this discovery made some years ago. Enough to say that though I live most of the time in the US, Doonmoor and the Boffin call me back. Last year my eldest son who lives in California and I were there. Now he has the bug.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Scott,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am looking forward to your next visit and bring Jason again, like father like son, he certainly seemed to have caught the bug.
Coffee in the morning sun,sitting out front on the edge of the cliff is hard to beat.
I'm looking forward to your next visit, hopefully it will not be too long.

Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mishawaka, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The Murray family and Doonmore staff take extraordinary care of our family and team members when our archaeological team returns each year for over a month's stay on the island to conduct research. The food is wonderful, the hotel services are exemplary, and the staff's knowledge, competence and all-around friendliness are boundless. I cannot offer sufficient compliments and testimonies about the way they bend over backwards to meet our every need, no matter how outside the range of normal holiday-goers it may be. We are lucky to be able to return to them every year, and we plan to keep doing so for years to come.

Room Tip: Family friendly, wonderful rooms facing the sea, rest up for the music sessions in the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Meredith,

Thank you for your review. There are few people better qualified to assess all aspects of our hotel than yourselves as you have stayed with us so often, for so many weeks at a time and with so many people of all ages in your groups.
It is always a pleasure to see you all and to look after you during your stay and we look forward to your arrival every year.


Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time and enjoyed a great welcome and even better service for the weekend we stayed. First class from start to finish and impossible to fault. The island is brilliant as well, it's great to have such a brilliant destination nearby (and no need for airports).

Now if only you could guarantee the sunshine it'd be impossible to beat!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJLX1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestMan77, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. It is amazing how many people, living within a relatively short driving distance of us, do not know what a gem lies just off the coast.
You are obviously one of the lucky ones and I am delighted you have had the opportunity to sample our hospitality and enjoyed the experience.
I hope you come back to saty with us again soon.

Regards,

Andrew Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staff are amazing and will do whatever they can for you, Especially those very handsome barmen...and simon too! Excellent location, Great food, and a lovely atmosphere. Can not say enough about the place. Will definitely be going back asap!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobMarley0947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

It was great to make it back to Murrays Doonmore Hotel and I can't believe how the time has flown since I was here last. As always I was met at the boat by the hotels bus and taken to the hotel to sit down and get a load of those wonderful crab claws, what a feast.
I still have the image in my head of the most spectacular view from my bedroom window, helped along by the many pictures i took to get me through the time it takes to get back to Inishbofin again soon. This is quiet simply the best hotel on the island and I can not praise it enough - it feels more like a home than a hotel as you are welcomed by the many members of the Murray family and the local staff that work in the hotel. My wife and I are hoping to make it back in the late summer if we can. I can't wait - two of my grown up kids are going to get to the Doonmore this summer when they come over, I just know they will love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank USAcalling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just back from a fantastic weekend in Inishbofin and have already booked to bring back the family for a weekend in July.
This hotel has to be one of my favourites; staff are really friendly, nothing is a problem and I think I have put on a few kilos over the weekend - you have to try the bread and butter pudding!!!

There is really no other island like Inishbofin- I highly recommend it for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aoife231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
13.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
11.4 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
11.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Property: Doonmore Hotel
Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing