We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it but want to keep it secret...”
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I love this place. Have been numerous times. Aileen is always wonderful. It's been great to see the changes over the years and I hope I return many more times.

This hotel/B&B has it's own pub which of course is ideal for those nights when you don't want to have to wander far. You can chose to eat in the restaurant as part of your stay or not, the food is always lovely. But, I have to say that I have dreams of eating Bofin Crab Claws and could just live on them and skip dinner altogether!

It is ideally situated for a walk around the western part of the island, has excellent views, warm rooms, and the family is always very accommodating. My friend had his 50th Birthday celebration there and as always the staff put up with all of us quite well!

Miss you and Bofin (as well as a nice pint of Bulmers on a warm sunny day!
Carla

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TravelingDribnus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bofinIreland, Manager at Doonmore Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Carla,

Thank you for your lovely review. In the Doonmore, change comes dropping slow and we are very conscious of not breaking what is already fixed! The atmosphere, the hospitality,the service and the food are of prime importance to us and that will not change.
The crabclaws will always be there as long as the weather is good enough for the fishermen to catch them every day for you to enjoy them by the turf fire. Thank you again for your review.

Regards,

Andrew Murray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (656)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 656 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had a certain amount of apprehension as I booked a few days holiday on Inishbofin..I had not heard much about it but what I did hear sounded great. I was accompanied by my husband and 25 yr old daughter. We were met at the pier by the Doonmore Hotel bus and transported to our accommodation. The hotel is run by the Murray family and it instantly felt like we were family too. The food was excellent and the rooms were very comfortable and very inviting after days being spent exploring the absolute beauty of the island. As our first trip was near the end of the season, I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to visit this wonderful place twice more before the season actually ended. Cannot wait for next spring.

Room Tip: I had different rooms on three separate visits and all were great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wow, what a fantastic weekend on Inishbofin! Our Group stayed in Doonmore a real family run hotel with comfy warm bedrooms, scrumptious home cooking, we enjoyed all our meals at the hotel. Aileen & all staff thank you so much for your hospitality, you made us so welcome, nothing was s problem for you, Island was simply breaktaking, we enjoyed walks, bikes, spa treatments & Trad workshops & nightly entertainment of music, dance & song. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Thank you - we will be back !! Alan, Rosie, Berny on behalf of 31 on Mystery Tour from Athlone.

Room Tip: Just contact Aileen with your preferences and she will certainly do what she can for you - she was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buddy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Came here with a Men of Worth tour in 2010. Sticky toffee pudding was so good one evening, had to have it again for brunch. Music in the events room of an evening that went well into the night. Rain kept some of us inside of an afternoon, others not. Long walks, birding, and photography, and first-rate beds and food. Looking to go back for several days in 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DerWisconsinWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

went to inishbofin for a walking weekend,arrived on fri 21st sept and left on 24th sept .Stayed at murrays 1st class hotel,fab food,beautiful bedrooms,given packed lunch on the house,for our walk.thanks to aileen and your staff. john c fermoy

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Each time we go back to holiday at Doonmore Hotel, Inishbofin, we experience the Murray family hospitality, great care and wonderful home cooked food.
This traditional island family hotel, modernised to provide the 21st. centurary quality accomodation, still retains that great island welcome and makes the visitor feel part of the community and share-in the Inishbofin attractions of Island walking, sea fishing, exploring their great heritage or just having a great holiday break.
On this September visit, we again enjoyed at the Doonmore Hotel and we mixed with the Island walking group, the writing workshop class and the many day trippers out from Cleggan on the 3 times daily island ferry, all enjoying a great West of Ireland island holiday experience. Inishbofin has catered for the visitors needs with a selection of recomended island loop walks with full information and wayside markings, offshore boat trips, island motor tours and great evening community centre / hotel music and entertainment.
Murrays Dunmore Hotel and the wonderful welcoming staff provide the experience and hospitality for each Inishbofin visitor to enjoy a great West of Ireland Atlantic holiday visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Seanhorkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stopped here for a dring after a lovely walk around this beautiful island. Fond the ambience in this place to be perfect. Staff very friendly, open fire burning, amazing picture postcard view from the window, good background music and from what I could from other peoples plates, good food too.
Would consider coming back here for a relaxing weekend away.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
4  Thank Jackothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
18.4 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
13.6 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
11.3 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
370 reviews
11.9 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range: $106 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing