We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“31 on Mystery Tour !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doonmore Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Doonmore Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Certificate of Excellence
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“31 on Mystery Tour !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wow, what a fantastic weekend on Inishbofin! Our Group stayed in Doonmore a real family run hotel with comfy warm bedrooms, scrumptious home cooking, we enjoyed all our meals at the hotel. Aileen & all staff thank you so much for your hospitality, you made us so welcome, nothing was s problem for you, Island was simply breaktaking, we enjoyed walks, bikes, spa treatments & Trad workshops & nightly entertainment of music, dance & song. Everyone was so welcoming and friendly. Thank you - we will be back !! Alan, Rosie, Berny on behalf of 31 on Mystery Tour from Athlone.

Room Tip: Just contact Aileen with your preferences and she will certainly do what she can for you - she was s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buddy1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    82
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
150
126
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Wisconsin
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Came here with a Men of Worth tour in 2010. Sticky toffee pudding was so good one evening, had to have it again for brunch. Music in the events room of an evening that went well into the night. Rain kept some of us inside of an afternoon, others not. Long walks, birding, and photography, and first-rate beds and food. Looking to go back for several days in 2013.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DerWisconsinWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fermoy, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

went to inishbofin for a walking weekend,arrived on fri 21st sept and left on 24th sept .Stayed at murrays 1st class hotel,fab food,beautiful bedrooms,given packed lunch on the house,for our walk.thanks to aileen and your staff. john c fermoy

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlebaldwin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Each time we go back to holiday at Doonmore Hotel, Inishbofin, we experience the Murray family hospitality, great care and wonderful home cooked food.
This traditional island family hotel, modernised to provide the 21st. centurary quality accomodation, still retains that great island welcome and makes the visitor feel part of the community and share-in the Inishbofin attractions of Island walking, sea fishing, exploring their great heritage or just having a great holiday break.
On this September visit, we again enjoyed at the Doonmore Hotel and we mixed with the Island walking group, the writing workshop class and the many day trippers out from Cleggan on the 3 times daily island ferry, all enjoying a great West of Ireland island holiday experience. Inishbofin has catered for the visitors needs with a selection of recomended island loop walks with full information and wayside markings, offshore boat trips, island motor tours and great evening community centre / hotel music and entertainment.
Murrays Dunmore Hotel and the wonderful welcoming staff provide the experience and hospitality for each Inishbofin visitor to enjoy a great West of Ireland Atlantic holiday visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seanhorkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud Glos UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Stopped here for a dring after a lovely walk around this beautiful island. Fond the ambience in this place to be perfect. Staff very friendly, open fire burning, amazing picture postcard view from the window, good background music and from what I could from other peoples plates, good food too.
Would consider coming back here for a relaxing weekend away.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jackothefirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Louth
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Stayed with Aileen for two nights in August. What a treat. This is a hotel set in a wonderful location. Very friendly staff, lovely home made food with a breakfast that sets you up for the day. Our room was comfortable with a lovely big bed. Powerful showers, tea and coffee in room, tv hairdryer. The island is truly wonderful. We hired bikes to get around and the scenery would take your breath away. It is a place to visit and you will return. The slow pace of life is a treat and you soon realise how easy it is to let all your worries slip away.... Doonmore Hotel is a tonic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FiFi64CoLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Just had a great trip to Inishbofin.
The Craig, hospitality and food are great.
You will lose track of time while exploring this wonderful island.
Murrays Doonmore hotel is the perfect place to have the island experience.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SATTWA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishbofin
0.9 mi away
Inishbofin House Hotel & Marine Spa
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Rosleague Manor Hotel
Rosleague Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Letterfrack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
9.3 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
12.2 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doonmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doonmore Hotel

Property: Doonmore Hotel
Address: Inishbofin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Inishbofin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Inishbofin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murrays' Doonmore Hotel, the most westerly island hotel in Ireland, was built in 1969 and has been owned and managed by the Murray family ever since. We pride ourselves on our hands on approach to customer service so you will be dealing with a member of the family at most stages of your stay. We care about what we do because it is not just a job, it is our life. Our friendly staff are superbly trained and they know that our raison d'etre is to ensure that every customer, from a child ordering a hot chocolate to a group of adults staying for a week, deserves only the best service possible. Our hotel and bar food is famous for its freshly caught seafood and its consistently high quality and value for money. The accommodation is clean, comfortable and warm. The atmosphere is welcoming, homely and relaxed. It is no accident that we have a large percentage of repeat business stretching back to the early days. The proof of the pudding is in the eating (and we bake all our own!) So come out and visit and experience Murrays' Doonmore Hotel for yourselves. Andrew Murray ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Doonmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doonmore Hotel Inishbofin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing