We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality customer care!”
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cashel House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Killaloe, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quality customer care!”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed at Cashel House Hotel for business nearby.
From the moment we stepped inside, the welcome and attention to detail was fantastic.
Nothing was too much trouble. Warm and cosy and beautiful surroundings.
Will definitely be going back to be pampered again, only for longer next time!
A fantastic getaway in a very special place. :-)
Thank you Cashel House Hotel. Keep doing what you are doing!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnMarie59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    79
    38
    24
    10
See reviews for
59
200
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Mid week Break for two adults ,two dogs and a three month old baby - not the ideal clientele by a long shot -no problem at all - all welcomed - and proper dog friendly - beautiful views and gardens for walking- good food - excellent service - peaceful but never going to be the centre of activity- recommend - will go back

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank egp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

A fantastic New years eve menu that included a welcome drink and glass of champagne to ring in the new year. I had a puff pastry parcel stuffed with quail in a brandy sauce to start which was just delicious, followed by a champagne sorbet. For my main I had roast goose with all the trimmings,
cooked to absolute perfection and then finished with a wonderful chocolate desert. A very talented young man entertained the dining room for the evening playing the harp, while the excellent staff looked after our every need. After dinner we retired to one of the sitting rooms with a lovely fire blazing, told stories and toasted in the new year. A very special night was had by all

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlymacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin. Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Staying at this hotel is a wonderful experience. It is located miles from everywhere; narrow winding roads with either rocks or the sea on either side. Its no wonder President De Gaulle and Prime Minister McMillen stayed here, their own secret service would not have been able to find them.
We were greeted to a very warm and personal welcome by Kay McEvilly of the House. It was cold outside and there were many brightly burning log fires throughout the hotel. The bedroom was very large and well equipped. it seemed to have had an extension added to it. The hotel has no hidden music, no public televisions; it had a wonderful sense of quiet and peaceful calm.The dining room is a wonderful room with an added surround conservatory - unfortunately difficult to adequately heat at the of our visit, however the food was excellent. Great place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BerchmansG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The Cashel house hotel is a real treat. It is old school quality. It is set in the middle od Connemara, and about 9 miles from Roundstone village. It has lovely open fires and plenty of sitting rooms, to chat or read. The restaurant was also first class. The staff were very friendly, and couldn't do enough. And the owner, a lady names Kit, was ever present, checking to see that all was ok. It was a real treat !

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renmorescout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This has been the first time I have travelled away and stayed in a hotel to spend time for Me (and a my Dog Chancer). I need to tell you all that I spend my working life in hotels on a weekly basis so, this needed to be really special and quiet for me, I was in no way disappointed. This hotel was so welcoming, personal, and attentive that I found it to be, for my two nights, so relaxing that my Kindle became my "wind down" companion. I need to point out that I am not good at "taking time out", that said, I only wish that I could have stayed for at least two more nights as this is, in my opinion, one of the few places I have stayed where the hospitality by the staff, and I may add, the owner herself, who personally not only introduces herself but, personally ensures that all residents are personally spoken to, I have not experienced that kind of customer service in a long time, and that welcoming service is also given by the rest of the family and restaurant team. I was also privileged to have spent New Years Eve here So, will I go back with my dog? You bet, Unfortunately, we all need to go back to work and face the "Real World"...Finally, I must also point out that the area is so scenic that I could not keep myself away from it for too long so, please explore and enjoy, as the area has amazing history, and views!! I wish everyone a healthy, safe and prosperous New Year!!!! Good Luck in all of your Endeavours

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Front of the Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Let me start by saying that I truly appreciate the old world charm which I would have expected a country house hotel such as Cashel house to offer. Having stayed in many such establishments - including Gregan's castle, co. Clare and the park hotel,kenmare in the past, I decided to give Cashel house hotel a go. Bad decision. On arrival with my husband and nine month old we were met by a 'porter' who not only expected us to carry our own bags upstairs in addition to a small baby but also to return to our car for the buggy and baby paraphernalia when finished and to carry all that up to our room as well. As we had arrived late on a Friday evening from Galway I asked for a sandwich to tide me over til dinner time. A vigorous argument ensued with the manager who refused my request on the basis that afternoon tea had ended 15 mins ago and told me that I could wait for dinner. Our room was dated, musty and dare I say dirty. Bed linen and furnishings were well worn and tired looking. Breakfast the next day was a mealy-mouthed effort. My husband got one sausage on his plate, the fruit most certainly was not 'fresh' as advertised and portions were generally meagre. The atmosphere was not particularly warm and welcoming and I most certainly will not be back. If you want to experience 5 star service, food and accommodation I suggest you look further. Cashel house needs to seriously up its game if it is to survive into the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Niamh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
3.6 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
11.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
6.6 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
184 reviews
15.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Property: Cashel House Hotel
Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cashel House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing