We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cashel House Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Barry's Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Foyles Hotel(Clifden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (365)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
205
83
40
28
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
205
83
40
28
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold world charmturn down servicehot water bottlescharming hotelget away from it alllike stepping back in timekippersturf firesoverlooking the gardenhouse is beautifulbreakfast and dinnersitting roommusselseach eveningwest coast of irelandminute drivechowder
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 365 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had had afternoon tea in this charming hotel on a previous occasion and were keen to stay, so unfortunately our expectations were high upon arrival. Sadly we were disappointed, mostly by the quality of the room we stayed in. It was dated and the beds were rather uncomfortable. That said, the staff could not have been more helpful or courteous and they did offer to move us to another room (which we viewed and decided not to move).

The breakfast was very good, served in the conservatory with a view of the gardens. The setting of the hotel is quite lovely, but be aware that it is very far from anything (not even a little shop nearby). If you are looking for a remote escape it would fit the bill.

Room Tip: I have heard the rooms in the newer part of the hotel at the back are the nicest.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rach62442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have stayed at the Cashel House on 4 seprate occasions and each has been a delight from beginning to end. Perfectly located in the heart of Cashel with short walks to the best of the area. In the shadow of the Rock of Cashel you feel like you are in the very center of the Irish World. Outstanding management overshadow the old facility limitations of no elevator, but its still worth the stop and the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We went to Cashel House for a three night stay around our Wedding Anniversary. We had only ever been once to Ireland (Dublin) before, this time we wanted to see the far flung countryside, and Cashel House looked good in the AA Hotel Guide. The journey from the Ferry terminal in Dublin was interesting: good class motorways right into Galway, then fighting our way around Galway in rush hour, then on to single carriageway roads which got ever narrower and ever more winding. The hotel is very nearly at the westernmost part of Connemara, it has very extensive gardens which are well worth wandering round: we are keen gardeners and enjoyed that aspect of the hotel very much. Don't expect pristine formal gardens, though, they are very naturalistic but no less pleasing for that.
The hotel itself obviously started off as a formal country house but it has been added to here and there and then here again......but that adds to its charm. We had one of the garden suites which looks out onto one of the more formal parts of the gardens, this was a very big room (I counted 18 pictures, some of them quite large, hanging on the walls), it was really a large junior suite with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom was good, if slightly lacking in "luxury", but it was more than acceptable and that's the hallmark of this place: you could perhaps be forgiven for thinking, as you walk through the hotel to your bedroom and see it for the first time, that the place is a bit tired. But it isn't at all, any (incorrect) first impression like this is because what you are seeing is the original, but everywhere is very well maintained. I got to love the place more and more the longer we were there.
The food is first class, they have two AA red rosettes and richly deserve them. Breakfasts are excellent. The Dining Room is one room of the old house extended into a lovely airy conservatory. My wife thought it one of the loveliest rooms for eating in she had ever been in, and I agreed.
This is a family run hotel. the chatelaine is Mrs. McEvilly, who has owned the hotel for a long time; she is assisted by her son and staff who are without exception friendly and efficient - most notably the wonderful Ray. Mrs. McEvilly gave me coins for the motorway toll when we left!
There aren't too many hotels like this left. Beautiful countryside, super position, very comfortable and homely, scrupulously maintained and clean, wonderful food, lovely people running it and working in it......what more could you want?

Room Tip: I can't believe there is a bad room in this hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FORRES33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We enjoyed a 3 night stay in this country house decorated as if it is still the 1930's. The staff is very warm and friendly, the public rooms with fireplaces are inviting, and the dining room is lovely with a view of the gardens. (the gardens are well worth a walk about if the weather is good). The breakfast was nice - supper was good as well.
Our only complaint was the very limited WiFi access.

Room Tip: It is a good idea to let them know if you have a problem going up and down stairs of which there are a large number. They have rooms on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJBKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was the second hotel in a bundle deal with Gregan Castle Hotel. Having come from there, the bar had truly been raised in regards to setting, rooms, service and food. On all fronts (bar the setting) Cashel House Hotel is way off the pace. Think 1970s with 2008 prices. Fine gardens do not justify the price. Personal touches from the owners are lovely but plaster over significant flaws. From the basics - breakfast was lousy, rooms are unclean, décor is not classic but worn down, room window open and unrepaired. Foreigners and older couples may love the trip down memory lane and the novelty of archaic standards but if they do, they have more money than sense or find the novelty.

Room Tip: Check the cleanliness of rooms and if windows close
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shootermcgavin1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews