We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Unwanted Guests'”
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cashel House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“'Unwanted Guests'”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here last week-end and found it to be a waste of good money. Bedroom in need of decorating and the shower was useless all it needed was for the shower head to be cleaned out and when I brought this to the owners attention on our first evening I don't think she was best pleased, did not come near us again after that! Apparently some very deceased french president stayed here many decades ago and enjoyed it, looked like decor had not been revamped since. Evening meal was included in our package it was adequate, my halibut was a very small portion and for the price not worth it. Breakfast was awful, tasteless, everything very bland. You are given a breakfast menu but you need to ask for 'a full Irish' in order to get a decent sized breakfast, but really I would not bother, cooked breakfast was not good, and sour milk on our table and another table, bad!! Special deals, offers etc still make this hotel bad value. No return trip for us and as for you out there I would not bother! Cashel House needs to forget about who stayed there 40 years ago and think about the guests who stay in 2013 and make them feel welcome and not like they are intruding !.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Susan164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    79
    38
    27
    10
See reviews for
62
202
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed for two nights in May and had dinner one night - we really enjoyed our break. The hotel has slightly old-fashioned charm which really appealed to us but its not the place is you’re looking for modern minimalist chic.
We arrived in the evening and had drinks in the main sitting room first night in front of the fire, which was a very relaxing start to our break.
The next morning we had the breakfast in the bright dining room overlooking the gardens. Very good breakfast buffet - nice to have the option of grilled trout for a change. Also the fresh fruit salad and the stewed rhubarb was really good. The cooked breakfast isn’t huge but certainly was enough for us.
Second night we had dinner in the restaurant. Dinner was very good but expensive and slightly over priced. The wine list is extensive but also expensive cheapest bottles on the list are over €30, the house wines. We had the house red and it was good. The wine list is mostly old world wines and very French orientated
We had drinks after dinner in the bar and got talking to some other people staying there and there was a very friendly atmosphere in the bar
The staff are friendly and attentive especially Martin and Mrs Mc Evilly, who set up the hotel with her husband.
We stayed in room 17 and it was very large with good views of the gardens.

Pro
Lovely building, staff were good
Miles from anywhere with incredible scenery all around
Breakfast was really good

Con
Miles form anywhere you'd need a car to get to the hotel
Expensive drinks and food

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulyg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas City, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here with the family for our get together and the staff were fantastic
It had been a long trip for us all and the welcome was wonderful, thank you
The food was great also variety for us lot was just what we like to see on a menu however we would of liked breakfast a little earlier than 8pm as we always like to make the most of the day
overall this hotel was a pleasant stay and served us well!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here in July for 3 nights with my extended family. We had 4 rooms between us all so I had the luxury of seeing many different rooms which you wouldn't normally be able to!
I was in room with my 2 children and a travel cot was provided.

It was a very old cot with a mattress that was like a very soft pillow. If my baby was younger I wouldn't have been comfortable with him on it at all. So I would say bring your own travel cot if travelling with babies!

3 of our rooms were in old part of house and 1 in newer extension part of hotel. All were well equipped and very clean. It would be my opinion that the rooms in old part are much much nicer!

There is a small playroom with toys for kids and this is where the kids meals are served.
Breakfast is only served from 8.15am and with my kids this is really too far from wake up time(6.30/7am!!) so I was glad I arranged in advance for some cereal and a jug of milk to be left out the night before for us!
There was another couple staying with a toddler and they were amazed that they couldn't get breakfast till after 8am and had one hungry toddler on their hands at 7.30am when I met them on corridor .
Also, earliest you can get kids dinner is 6.15pm which is a lot later than my kids eat and there are not many alternative options close by so I suggest if travelling with little ones to be wise to this in advance. The staff were very obliging about storing food and drinks in the kitchen fridge for me. The kids menu is great( stew, fish, curry...a big choice; maybe 5 starters 8 mains and 3/4 desserts!)
The gardens are really beautiful and perfect for quick walks with kids.
All the staff were really pleasant and helpful. Kay, the owner was very welcoming and runs a great hotel. We had a super time!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura4633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

we stayed recently , super staff , pleasant and genuinely went out of their way to make our stay relaxing and stress free. breathtaking location, excellent local food and we will definitely return some day .... though we only spent a weekend there we felt like we had relaxed for a week ! thank you and love the marmalade :)

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunboynestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This weekend 16 of our family convened for a celebratory weekend in Cashel House Hotel. The sweet smell of turf fires permeated the air on arrival and warmly welcomed us into a country home from home atmosphere. Rambling wild and cultivated gardens with winding pathways add magic to the surroundings, a colourful sanctuary in the wilds of Connemara. Kay the host was a gem of Irish hospitality and a charming atmosphere pervades. Each evening we dined on fresh from the garden vegetables and wonderful local produce, such as Cleggan crab & Connemara lamb. After dinner the private library was the perfect spot for family story telling and evening night caps.. Friendly staff, wonderful food and a classic charming setting make this hotel an idyllic oasis in the heart of Connemara. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMtravellog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from an enchanting week-end in Cashel House Hotel. Warmly greeted by our charming hostess and owner, Kay personally escorted us along a deep rich red carpet corridor, where the wonderful smell of home log fires filled the air,to a most enchanting bedroom suite overlooking the stunning gardens. Complimentary tea and coffee awaited. The scene was set with all the attention to detail fit for a VIP! Dinner each evening was a feast for the senses, so artistically presented, fabulous flavours, excellent organic home produced food, served with love and care by a fantastic smiling staff in one of the most beautiful restaurants in Ireland. Kay made sure personally that every guest felt welcome, that each one lacked nothing within the perfect ambience of our dining experience. Wines of course were first class adding to the splendid dining experience--What a meal--brilliant!
Breakfast again was simply superb with such a magnificent range from which to choose.We both left feeling so enriched and overwhelmed by the depth of personal attention, pampered by a dedicated staff in a most magical part of the country. Cashel House is a luxurious jewel of peace, tranquility and fantastic service in the crown of Connemara's natural beauty.We can not recommend it highly enough. Our warmest gratitude and praise reach out to Kay, her extremely pleasant friendly smiling staff and not least to the fantastic chefs. It's one of those rare MUST GO places!! We can not wait to return.

Room Tip: We loved the ground floor garden suite, but one of the other guests said their very spacious room u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vera A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
3.6 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
11.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
15.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
727 reviews
14.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Property: Cashel House Hotel
Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing