We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“warning - poor service rude owners exorbrant prices”
Review of Cashel House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cashel House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“warning - poor service rude owners exorbrant prices”
Reviewed May 26, 2008

Where do i start. Firstly this is an old country house in the wilds of Conemarra Co. Galway. The area is beautiful and well worth a visit however the Cashel House Hotel is a major disappointment.
The staff where excellent but the owners abrupt and unhelpful, we where put into room 16 which was crumbling. The taps came off, fixtures and fitting loose, windows dirty and our complimentary fruit inedible.
We ate at hotel both nights as that was part of deal and the food is good BUT at 60 EUROS standard plus compulsory 12.5% service charge it should be.
The cutlery is very old and scraped with in grained dirt. The windows in the conservatory were filthy
We did not eat breakfast as we only eat cereal in morning and at 45 euros per couple this would be a waste however we where charged for breakfast in morning of check out. When we objected the owners made a fuss, accusing of having breakfast and quizzing staff if they served us. Very Embarrasing
The place needs a deep clean and the owners a lesson in courtesy I have travelled extensively and this hotel has a good garden and little else. It lives off the fact Charles deGaulle stayed there decades ago and I urge readers to think twice before booking

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — owners
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank JMB532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    79
    38
    25
    10
See reviews for
60
201
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2008

IWestayed recently in Cashel House for a three day break, and really enjoyed ourselves. It is small country house hotel with extensive grounds, funished with lovely antiques and original pictures and prints. The house has plenty of character, and is as far removed from modern antiseptic hotels as one can imagine - there are many turf fired areas one can sit down, relax and read a book.
Cashel House does not have a pool, health centre or spa, nor does it need one.
One is greeted in the bedroom with a book of local walks, and excellent guidance is available from the staff. The local scenery is spectacular, and one can visit many places of interest. The hotel grounds are lovely - not at their best in winter, but have lovely walks.
The bedroom was in the original part of the house - nicely furnished with a good ensuite. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linens. There are tea and coffee facilities, CD player and a rather old and tired TV with very few channels. My fruit bowl was regularly replenished, and the bed was turned down at night - though blankets are needed in cold weather when they pull of the bed cover.
Breakfast and dinner are served in the conservatory - a lovely room with high ceilings and plenty of light streaming in from the gardens.
Breakfast served in fine Royal Tara China, with tea properly served with leaf tea, a strainer and hot water. The cooked breakfast was adequate, but the highlight for me was the cold buffet with a whole ham, and the orange juice was freshly squeezed and the preserves seemed home made - what a difference it makes.
Dinner was good country house cooking- not 'cheffy' but well presented. Though not 'gourmet' there is a wide variety of starters and man courses, and all competently cooked - again the atmosphere of the room added to the pleasure of the experience. The desserts and the coffee were very good indeed.
During the day food is available but is a little expensive when one fascors in the 12'5% service charge.The staff,some Irish ,many from overseas, were charming and attentive, and nothing was too much trouble.
Altogether our three days were a lovely experience, very good value for money in a house of real character. Recommended.

  • Liked — old world atmosphere
  • Disliked — cold bedroom at night
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank jpmpadre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west of ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2007

Recently managed a 24 hour getaway with husband,leaving our 4 children in the care of trusted sitters.In essence, the review posted by 'Galwaychick'(2006 review) very much mirrored our experience.
Cashel House is a gem of a hideaway.It was so quiet and tranquil and relaxing.The rooms are a bit dated-we booked a garden suite-but very pleasant and comfortable,so they get away with it.The view out to the gardens really is lovely.
We sank into the couches in the bar area and read the papers late on a Saturday afternoon,sipping kir royales (for me!),pint of guinness (for him).
Dinner was great,we thought.I would have rated the food as good quality and the service as very good also.The restaurant is a very pleasant,high ceilinging,gracious room.
We opted for breakfast in bed.It was pretty awful really.As Galwaychick says the oj was great,but overall the breakfast really lacked quality.It was also cold,but I can forgive that.The coffee was good,thankfully.The sausages were just dire.No excuse for that standard,in my opinion.
The staff were most pleasant and friendly at all times.
Really,breakfast was the only criticism I would have.
We plan to go back...as soon as we can escape again..

  • Liked — relaxing atmosphere
  • Disliked — somewhat dated in places
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hillidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

We booked this hotel because it's in the blue book which promotes "special" hotels...we weren't disappointed. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere and is a pleasure to find, the scenery en route is exceptional and the gardens surrounding the hotel are delightful. Perfect for walkers/hikers and swimmers - with a private beach across the road from the hotel. Yes the decor is a bit chintzy but it's genuine and I'd prefer it was authentic than mock olde worlde...the turf fires create a gorgeous country house atmosphere and the service is exceptional..the lady of the house is very welcoming without being too in your face or false..the wait staff are very professional and warm..the bedroom was gorgeous, spacious, fabulous views and wonderful ambiance. If I had one complaint to make it would be the quality of the dinner..€55 + 12.5% service charge set menu and the standard was not up to scratch when I compare it to the likes of Gregans Castle or Rathmullen House..or indeed many of the medium priced restaurants around Ireland..yes the food was ok but by no means great and I feel it lets the hotel down overall. Portion sizes are huge but that doesn't make up for the fairly bland, flavourless food. The breakfast was absolutely fine - e.g. freshly squeezed orange juice from oranges...rare and wondeful! Great choice of everything from cooked breakfast to cereal and beyond...All in all a fabulous weekend in a great hotel and despite the small disappointment re food we'd recommend it!

  • Liked — location/staff
  • Disliked — evening meal
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayjunkieIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2006

My husband and I stayed here for one night, for our wedding anniversary, and really enjoyed our stay. Cashel House Hotel is a country house located in the wilds of Connemara, about 40 miles from Galway (say an hour's drive), and about 20 minutes drive from Clifden. The hotel isn't the most modern in the world, but you wouldn't want or expect that in the 'country house' experience. The gardens are really lovely and a good place for a wander - it's not very formal, lots of winding woodland paths and occasional sea views. We stayed in a garden suite (upgraded, as it was off-season), the room was lovely and very large, the bed was enormous and the most comfortable we've ever slept in. There were some nice touches in the room, including a fruit basket and a cd player. There are also tables and shelves of reading materials throughout the hotel. The hotel is full of cosy nooks and crannies where you can sit by one of the many fires - very relaxing. Although the hotel is Irish owned, most of the staff seemed to be foreign, as is increasingly usual in Ireland now. However, everyone was very friendly towards us, and (unusually, I'm sad to say!) all the staff seemed very well trained, attentive and professional. Dinner was included in our price, and was very good, with portions just the right size to give you plenty but not too much. The only two caveats I would mention: first, all prices quoted (including drinks in the bar) are subject to an extra 12.5% service charge, which makes it hard to know what exactly you'll be paying, short of getting out the calculator. It would be preferable to give the all-in price, or alternatively, to give the subtotal and total prices together. Second, while there was a really lovely cold buffet breakfast (including rhubarb compote, wonderful home cooked ham and fresh orange juice - surely a first in Irish hotels!), the cooked breakfast was very disappointing. Whatever the quality of the ingredients, the meal had clearly been cooked hours before and kept warm, with the result that it was quite dried out and unpleasant to eat - in fact, I didn't eat mine, which was a shame. No questions were asked as to why it was uneaten - they probably assumed I'd eaten too much at the cold buffet. You might expect a pre-cooked breakfast in a cheap hotel or restaurant, but it's not good enough in a hotel of this calibre, especially with the prices being charged. I know we came down towards the tail end of breakfast, but still...! Overall verdict: a very pleasant and relaxing place to chill, not suitable for anyone looking for nightlife etc, and you would definitely need your own transport to stay here (and I wouldn't advise trying to find it for the first time after dark either). Highly recommended, but the cooked breakfast needs improvement.

  • Liked — The view and the wonderful bed
  • Disliked — The cooked breakfast
  • Tips/Secrets — Arrive during daylight as narrow roads are very dark at night
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Galwaychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owl's Head, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

We found Cashel House Hotel warm and welcoming from the moment of early bleary arrival from the airport, when we were greated with tea in the sitting room to our sad goodbye. Mrs. Kay McEvilly was a perfect hostess, making us feel so kindly cared for, giving us directions and ideas for the day's travels, checking to be sure our meal was just right, making sure we loved this magic part of Ireland as much as she did. She is a treasure!

Our next stay was at a five-star, popular resort in the South, which was sterile in comparison, though highly recommended. We have travelled widely but were bowled over by the dramatic countryside of Connemara.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank efghij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2006

This is a public 'thank you' to the people who run this lovely hotel. Beautiful gardens and woodlands on the edge of a bay and just by one of the Connemara Mountains. The two generations in our party really enjoyed ourselves. The staff were so helpful and friendly. The food was close to perfection - especially the Connemara lamb and the seafood.

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank EndaDowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
3.6 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
11.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
289 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
15.4 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
726 reviews
14.2 mi away
Delphi Resort
Delphi Resort
#1 of 4 in Leenane
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cashel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cashel House Hotel

Property: Cashel House Hotel
Address: Cashel, Connemara | Co Galway, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cashel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cashel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing