We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too cold and in need of a serious revamp” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zetland Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zetland Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
1 review
“Too cold and in need of a serious revamp”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2009

This hotel needs a serious makeover and is not up to four star standard. The prices they charge do not reflect the fact that the interior, along with the heating system, seems to have been forgotten about for at least 25 years!
I stayed in the hotel in December and to say it was cold would be an understatement! As soon as you went past the reception and lobby area to the stairs to the bedrooms, the temperature dropped by about 15 degrees, the more stairs you climbed, the colder it got! It didnt get any better in the bedrooms either.
The bathrooms had this rather odd pheasant print on the toilet and sink, which added to the bizarre nature of the hotel, while the shower only trickled.
Staff were friendly enough, if at times a bit indifferent towards the guests.
Food was ok, nothing special but the views were very nice.
If you like being cold and creeped out by somewhere, then this is the place for you, however if that kind of thing doesn't really appeal, then avoid Zetland at all costs!

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The lack of heat
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    17
    4
    5
    7
See reviews for
22
37
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2008

If you are looking for a generic, bland Celtic Tiger hotel experience, then head for The G or the Clayton. The Zetland Country House Hotel may be a little frayed at the edges, but, in my opinion, that is what gives it its charm.

My girlfriend and I stayed there over Easter and from the moment we drove up the drive we felt that we were stepping back to the Ireland of the 80s, when people had the time to spend chatting with strangers over a couple of pints about nothing much in particular.

The hotel is small enough for guests to get to know all the staff over a couple of days. Bronagh, the manager, clearly knows what she is about and runs the place with good humour and efficiency. The food in the restaurant was fantastic, with a French flair and the view from a window seat in the dining room incomparable.

If you want to get as far away from the brash, busy New Ireland as possible (without leaving the country) then I strongly recommend the Zetland Country House Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IgnacioMontoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2008

The location is beautiful and the outside is much like a French country chateau. The staff was helpful and nice. It is expensive, but if you get on their mailing list or inquire about deals, they have them and then I would recommend this place for those deals. If I were paying top dollar I would hesitate a little, but if you can get a deal than this place is totally beautiful. It's a little rundown but they are working on it and the gardens are beautiful. The location is a little way off but I like being off the beaten path. If you are looking on spending some time on day hikes around the Conemara than this is a great place to splurge for the evening. The dinner was delicious too! I definitely recommend the place. Their is a haunting feeling about the house, but I think that adds to the fun of the historical feeling of the place.

  • Liked — Location and view of the sea
  • Disliked — A little run down for the price, but if you get a deal than I think it is GREAT, no complaints
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lexib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2008

Thank goodness for Imad, the receptionist, restaurant manager and general 'get it sorted' guy. this place hadn't been renovated, at a guess, since the 80's. it is living purely on it's great location: no minibar, no coffee making tray, small towels of the greying variety, 1 out of three lamps working, the gardens view is a bit overtstated (about 20'). I think the owners need to travel a bit and see what hotels - even mid price ones - offer nowadays. The staff were all pleasant and I'm sure if you had a bay view room, nature would have delivered the goods. The restaurant was good enough but trying to hard to be modern Irish but give it a go and if you are there for two nights go to O'Dowd's in Roundstone for the second night. Breakfast was good and the price inclusive.

Helpful?
3 Thank timmmad06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Ontario
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

Zetland House has a grand location and proximity to Clifden. Could use some reno. attention. Big sprays of flowers are fake and surrounding gardens could use some more car...not tatty, just not totally well kept. Bar small. Main lounge grand, but furniture not up to the job. Food great and staff helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — not up to 4-star standard
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mammothboy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Where do I begin? Objectively, if I were a travel robot, I'd love the place. Big rooms, nice bathrooms, free wireless (in the lobby only--
not in the guest rooms), and a great view. The sad reality is that from a human perspective, its very impersonal, the staff is not unhelpful, but also very creepy. The remote location makes it a pain to do anything but stay there or drive far away (and dread coming back to have a place to sleep). Come with a full appetite, as there are no lunch options, though the staff offered to whip up something (based on their 60+ Euros per person dinner prices we passed).

The whole setup is bizarre: the lobby, sitting room, dining room, and other facilities imply an enormous hotel. The weird unused modern wing appended to the manor house likely was built to put that to use, but there is parking for 5-6 cars at best. We booked B&Bs and somehow got this place (at least the pricey breakfast was free).

Why do I say the place is creepy? Well the odd unused wing helps, as do the large unused sitting room, cavernous dining room, and numerous turns needed to get to one of four or so rooms. More than anything the staff looming over you, watching you eat, following you in the halls, and never actually doing anything makes you on edge. The one time we asked anything of them (our room had windows painted shut and there's no AC, so we asked for a fan) led to an offer of help than went unfulfilled. Oh well, I guess it's hard to be helpful when standing around staring at people!

We should have stayed in Clifden

  • Liked — WiFi in lobby
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mammothboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drogheda
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

I recently stayed at Zetland House Hotel to attend a family wedding. Everything about Zetland was wonderful, from the personal welcome from Bronagh to the quiet efficiency of the owner Rhuairi.

The location overlooking Cashel Bay makes the journey worth while. while the availability of the nearby St. James's church made this a wedding to remember.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and wonderful food
  • Disliked — The journey to get there
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Connemaravisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
16.1 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
6.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
10.5 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
5.7 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lough Inagh Lodge
Lough Inagh Lodge
#1 of 1 in Recess
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zetland Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zetland Country House Hotel

Property: Zetland Country House Hotel
Address: Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zetland Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Zetland Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zetland Country Hotel
Zetland Country Cashel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing