We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, but getting tired.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zetland Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2008

Zetland House has a grand location and proximity to Clifden. Could use some reno. attention. Big sprays of flowers are fake and surrounding gardens could use some more car...not tatty, just not totally well kept. Bar small. Main lounge grand, but furniture not up to the job. Food great and staff helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simpsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 118 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

Where do I begin? Objectively, if I were a travel robot, I'd love the place. Big rooms, nice bathrooms, free wireless (in the lobby only--
not in the guest rooms), and a great view. The sad reality is that from a human perspective, its very impersonal, the staff is not unhelpful, but also very creepy. The remote location makes it a pain to do anything but stay there or drive far away (and dread coming back to have a place to sleep). Come with a full appetite, as there are no lunch options, though the staff offered to whip up something (based on their 60+ Euros per person dinner prices we passed).

The whole setup is bizarre: the lobby, sitting room, dining room, and other facilities imply an enormous hotel. The weird unused modern wing appended to the manor house likely was built to put that to use, but there is parking for 5-6 cars at best. We booked B&Bs and somehow got this place (at least the pricey breakfast was free).

Why do I say the place is creepy? Well the odd unused wing helps, as do the large unused sitting room, cavernous dining room, and numerous turns needed to get to one of four or so rooms. More than anything the staff looming over you, watching you eat, following you in the halls, and never actually doing anything makes you on edge. The one time we asked anything of them (our room had windows painted shut and there's no AC, so we asked for a fan) led to an offer of help than went unfulfilled. Oh well, I guess it's hard to be helpful when standing around staring at people!

We should have stayed in Clifden

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mammothboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

I recently stayed at Zetland House Hotel to attend a family wedding. Everything about Zetland was wonderful, from the personal welcome from Bronagh to the quiet efficiency of the owner Rhuairi.

The location overlooking Cashel Bay makes the journey worth while. while the availability of the nearby St. James's church made this a wedding to remember.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Connemaravisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We spent a bank holiday weekend break there recently and were delighted with the views & scenery Connemara has to offer. The Zetland is quite difficult to get to, it's a long drive from Oughterard and the roads are quite narrow and bendy.
The staff in the hotel were very friendly and on the day we arrived, it was raining outside but we found a roaring fire on in one of the living rooms where we could settle and relax with a drink.
The rooms were clean, spacious, a little old but very comfortable.
One major problem is the location - unless one of you is prepared to be a designated driver, you will spend your evenings drinking and eating in the hotel which is very expensive.
The dining room - very formal - has an okay set menu for 60 euro, that's without a bottle of wine or other drinks and really isn't worth the cost...breakfast costs around 20 euro. We drove to Clifden each morning - about 20 minutes drive away for breakfast which was reasonably priced.
Once we got over the enormus expense of the weekend we just settled back and enjoyed ourselves and had long lie-ins and beautiful walks.

Stayed: August 2006
4  Thank findadeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

I stayed here in May with a group of friends (all couples) and were treated to a fantastic weekend. The drive from Galway is spectacular and the hotel is in a very beautiful (and quiet) spot overlooking the bay. We were made extremely welcome on arrival (by Bronagh and Ruaidhri) and all had beautiful rooms. The food,service and rooms are all exceptional. Nearby Roundstone has great beaches and pubs, and the area generally is stunning (mountains,lakes etc..).
We all flew over from England and just stayed for one night before flying back. It was well worth it, but obviously would like to have stayed for longer.
We will definitely be going back (anytime of year) and can't wait to book our next visit. We couldn't praise the staff and hotel more highly.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimmsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2007

We wanted a realxing & peaceful break for a couple of days and were certainly not disappointed by the Zetland (or the weather!)
Stunning location with panoramic views over the Bay.The reception & lounges had lovely turf fires with the aroma of peat in the air!
My wife and myself were warmly greeted by Hotel Manager Bronagh and shown to our room - olde worlde charm,spacious, and comfortable with glorious views over the Bay & gardens.Large and well appointed bathroom.
Service throughout our stay was excellent and not o.t.t. and we enjoyed good banter with Bronagh and her staff.
Dinner in the restaurant was just superb - excellent,fresh local produce well prepared & presented and the several courses comfortably spaced over a couple of hours.Great not to be rushed!Good wine list.
There were lovely scenic walks around the area of the hotel although the narrow road can be a bit daunting,and some beautiful places to visit e.,g.Roundstone for lunch and incredible beach walks rounded off with a couple of drinks on the terrace!!
Would highly recommend this hotelto anyone however,the isolated location may not suit all tastes.

Stayed: April 2007
Thank morchwestport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We were there for a wedding, and they ran out of room, so they crammed us in this stuffy old corner room on the top floor with a view of the garbage cans. My parents however, had a very nice room and were not at all dissapointed. I'm not even sure that they rent our room out when the place isn't full. Overall however, the service was excellent, and the view of the bay is superb. The place is old, and could use a little TLC, but not much to complain about. The food is okay, but good by Ireland standards were good food is hard to be found anywhere for any price. Check our Ballynahinch Castle for a better value.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beezlebub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
10.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
6.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
201 reviews
11.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zetland Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zetland Country House Hotel

Address: Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range: $88 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zetland Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zetland Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zetland Country Hotel
Zetland Country Cashel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing