We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zetland Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a week long cycling trip in May. We were actually the hotel's only guests at the time, so it was pretty quiet. It was cold and raining during our bike ride, so we were relieved to arrive to a roaring fire in the front lobby. Everyone was very friendly and paid attention to all the little details that made our stay very enjoyable.
We stayed in one of the more modern suites with a fantastic view of the grounds, and it was tastefully decorated with a few vintage touches (but nothing too old-fashioned). The bathroom was huge, with a jet tub as well as a walk in shower with 360 degree shower heads.
Although I got a bit of a Shining vibe at times, I'm pretty sure it had to do with being out in the country and being the only guests.
We also met the manager and owner, Collum, during our stay, and he invited us to have drinks with him after our dinner. All in all, everyone went out of their way to ensure that we received the best customer service possible. We will definitely be back one day!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank backmask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Zetland Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 116 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Stayed here for work recently, whereas most people would stay for leisure purposes. Its not particularly suited for a business hotel but I imagine its ideal for touring or local sports purposes.

Food was very good, bar was very well stocked although I didn't get to sample much. Room was OK, large but a little dated - but you're not likely to spend much time in them if here for leisure.

I think this hotel has changed hands since some of the older reviews, at least the dinner prices have halved since the 2008 ones

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We just had dinner. The dining room must be one of the most beautiful, and have one of the best views in Ireland. Lovely food and friendly, helpful and non-fussy service. Stunning house - we are hoping to stay next time.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aldehyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

If you want a relaxed atmosphere with great staff, great food and great company, you have to go here! The hotel is fantastic and the views are unbelievable with beautiful gardens. The staff are brilliant; loved them all:-) Damien was great craic and Colm is an absolute gentleman. I never have stayed in a better place where the people are genuine and so helpful. The locals are good craic too and made us feel very welcome. Good music in the bar on a saturday night and definitely try the seabass with lemon butter - class! Can't wait to get back and I only left today!
Thanks again for everything folks

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireO75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here for two nights. Wonderfull location with amazing views. Colourfull and well maintained gardens. Hotel was clean and staff were extremly welcoming and friendly. The bar was great craic with a band playing both nights. Very traditional music and the locals were dancing! Had the best bacon and cabbage I ever had and the breakfasts were excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat2008Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Spent two days here midweek in wonderful weather and enjoyed every minute of it. Very tranquil feel and the staff were wonderfully helpful. Amazing view of the bay from the bedroom and the main dining room. Very happy with food and would definitely recommend the mussels. Decor may not be to everyones taste and there is limited phone reception (bonus!!) but will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingsmillMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were a group of 6 women who stayed for 3 nights. The staff, owner, and rooms were outstanding, The bar was fun, the restaurant and food were excellent. All our special requests, including filling our flasks, were attended to. We can't wait to return and bring our husbands. During our 3 week holiday, this was the best place we stayed in Ireland. Thanks Colum and all. Anna and the galloping Gals of Galway. Canada

Room Tip: room with a view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaandhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
10.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
298 reviews
16.1 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
198 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
11.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zetland Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zetland Country House Hotel

Address: Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range: $90 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zetland Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zetland Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zetland Country Hotel
Zetland Country Cashel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing