We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zetland Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2011

Spent two days here midweek in wonderful weather and enjoyed every minute of it. Very tranquil feel and the staff were wonderfully helpful. Amazing view of the bay from the bedroom and the main dining room. Very happy with food and would definitely recommend the mussels. Decor may not be to everyones taste and there is limited phone reception (bonus!!) but will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KingsmillMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 118 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2011

We were a group of 6 women who stayed for 3 nights. The staff, owner, and rooms were outstanding, The bar was fun, the restaurant and food were excellent. All our special requests, including filling our flasks, were attended to. We can't wait to return and bring our husbands. During our 3 week holiday, this was the best place we stayed in Ireland. Thanks Colum and all. Anna and the galloping Gals of Galway. Canada

Room Tip: room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bananaandhoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

From the moment we arrived, it was first class service all the way - staff, rooms, food. My parents are in their 70's and were given a large room downstairs which was very convenient for dining and the drawing rooms. Staff very polite, professional and helpful.Very good menu selection but not too long, I was glad because I hate making choices! One particular staff member was very informative and it was great to be met by the owner and he even came into the restaurant. Rooms are very sizeable, quiet with magnificant views
Only flaw is there is no lift in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FBA31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

I have been coming to Connemara for 40 years and this visit has been wonderful. The weather in Ireland has been terrible of late but 4 days of frozen nights followed by unbroken sunshine has been worth all the waiting, even if the "wind had an edge".
The warmth of the staff and welcome at the hotel was a perfect antidote to the cold. It is the first time I have stayed here and it will not be my last; I long to come back and explore more of the Gowla .The view across the bay from the dining room was magnificent which made eating in the large bay window a great pleasure. The fishing, food and friendliness made my stay very valuable. The perfect way to recharge the battery before plunging back into working life.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RGC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

This is a beautiful hotel to stay in. It’s tucked away in the countryside overlooking Cashel Bay. We stayed for two nights and fell in love with the house. It is so warm and comfortable but what makes this hotel really special are the people who run it they could not be more helpful and friendly.

The grounds are spectacular and the views from the dining room of cashel bay are truly amazing. The bedroom we stayed in also had a fantastic view with cosy four poster bed. Breakfast was delightful, but dinner was a culinary experience. Memories of your stay here will truly last a lifetime. We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

Stopped off here while on holidays in Connemara, we holiday in Connemara a few times a year. Heard the Zetland had new bar opened last year that does food so we decided to stop off and try it. BIG MISTAKE!!. There were 5 of us, 3 adults and two children. We placed our order with young guy from behind the bar. I should mention we were only ones in food area when we placed our order. After we placed order another family came in and 2 other couples. Had to ask twice for highchair. 10 mins later still no water or wine we ordered. My children were thirsty so we asked again for water, told by our teenage bar guy yes it was coming. Had to ask 4 more times, evenutally after 20 mins we got the jug of water but by this time all other tables had their drinks and we were first there by 15 mins. Food arrived after about 30 mins but not all food. We waited 10 mins and asked where rest of our food was. To be told side orders of potatoes and chips on their way but we didn't order the other main we enquired about. We eventually got side orders and other mains 1 hour after we had come in to eat, my stew came hack heated up too as I sent it back to be kept warm while waiting for potatoes but guess what my friend or I didn't get to eat our mains. Owner came around tables to ask if everyting was alright of course we said no, who else wouldn't? He said he would enquire as to what happened. He then came back to tell us we hadn't ordered the other items so delay was in a second order having to be placed. We highlighted to him that we did place all our orders at same time that it was bar guy that didn't take proper order. I mean we were missing sides that were supposed to come with main??. Owner said he had to listen to his staff and he had never had any complaints ever before! So with my Aunt and children finished their food. my friend and I started on ours but before we got to take a first bite, owner was back again to say, his staff were right and we did indeed place a second order. My Aunt told him yet again we didn't and surely bar guy, who is probably his son, should have realised 5 orders should have gone to kitchen, he said that he could count. My Aunt said ever hear of saying ' Customer is always right and owner said "Not in my hotel". So we got up and left, and paid for what was eaten and wine. But they were insisting I should pay for stew but I didn't considering I didn't eat it waiting for potatoes. We didn't have to pay other main course either. Owner ran out after us shouting at us, he was especially vocally aggressive with my Aunt, my 5 year old started crying at his. It as all so shocking. So folks remember customers do not matter in this establishment.

Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
6  Thank Dawmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

This is an isolated hotel sitting right on the bay with fantastic views and beaches. The food was excellent as was the service. The atmosphere was fantastic with fires in the living areas and lovely silver tea service. We had a really relaxing stay here and would definitely come back. We would suggest that it is a romantic getaway for couples and not for families.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jupiter100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
10.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
741 reviews
6.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
201 reviews
11.4 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zetland Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zetland Country House Hotel

Address: Cashel Bay, Cashel, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cashel
Price Range: $88 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zetland Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Zetland Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zetland Country Hotel
Zetland Country Cashel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing