We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B experience”
Review of Rossroe Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B experience”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fantastic location, wonderful hosts, great meals - we booked for two nights but stayed for three as we enjoyed it so much (and would have stayed longer if we weren't committed). The remote location and views were wonderful and the rooms were comfortable. Thoughtful details such as the reference books in the lounge and the welcome coffee and scones were appreciated. We'd love to come back if we can.

John and Sally, Australia

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Sally M,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay here and also that you decided to stay an extra night! Its always good to hear that people enjoy the service they receive here and that you also appreciated the books on what to do around beautiful Connemara.

Once again many thanks and hope to see you here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
113
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed there for 2 night in May 2013. This house is located at the end of the world or almost but it is well worth the additional miles to go there. Great place, great hosts. Just a little sad to get the room at the back without the amazing view on the sea (but with such a view I would have stayed in my room because it is truly beautifull if you are lucky enough to get the front room. I had a ground floor room view a view on the back of the house which means that it lacked a bit of privacy but nevertheless a very nice room, very clean as usual in Ireland.
I had dinner there one night and it was nice but nothing exceptional to be honest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParisianAgnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge. We are very pleased you liked the house and location so much.
Unfortunately we could not offer you the room with a seaview as it had been booked (and requested) many weeks prior to your booking. Our seaview rooms are very popular and tend to be booked up well in advance.
All our rooms are very quiet and we try to offer as much privacy as possible and we are very sorry that you felt your room was not very private.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your dinner here also. Sylvain is a trained chef having worked in France and Ireland for many years in the catering industry. We strive to use only fresh, local and seasonal products. We grow our own vegetables (when possible due to Irish weather! ) organically and we endeavour to provide a memorable meal for all our guests. We have had a very positive feedback from all our guests in regards to our evening meals here at Rossroe Lodge.
We would like to thank you again for staying with us.

Mary & Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Connemara in western Ireland is wild and wonderful. Rossroe B&B is near the dead end of a narrow road near Roundstone. We (our adult daughter traveled with us) spent two nights here and our host (who is willing to cook dinner with advance notice) provided a sumptuous three course dinner on our second night. This environmentally friendly home overlooks a bay. This family is welcoming and hospitable. We will stay here again if we ever are able to come back to Connemara.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and we would be more than happy to have you stay with us again if you do return to Connemara.
Once again many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Fabulous stay!
Mary and Sylvain are very friendly and helpful, the room was really nice, and homemade breakfeast wonderful!

The location is really beautiful and quiet, perfect to explore Connemara.

We'll be back for sure.

Thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colonelhati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. That's what keeps us ticking! So we will be delighted to have you back at our home when you visit Connemara again. See you soon!
Mary & Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We loved our stay at Roscoe Lodge last week. We were made welcome by the owners and the accommodation was extremely nice and the rooms completely clean. The cuisine was amazing! We also met a lovely, interesting american couple there !

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elly005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay here with us. We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.

Once again many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Mary and Sylvain.
Rossroe Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We intended to stay one night and we stayed two, which indicates how satisfied we were.. Such a lovely environment! And adding to this, there was the talent of Sylvain to serve an excellent meal - definitely with French touch.
We can warmly recommend the place to other customers. And don't forget to inform the hosts if you want to book the dinner. Un grand merci !

Room Tip: not all rooms have a sea view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GauthierduMarais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for your review of your stay at Rossroe Lodge.

We appreciate you taking the time to do so. We are very pleased you decided to have dinner here also, and that you enjoyed it. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that you decided to stay a 2nd night here with us too.

Thank you again for your review.

Warm regards,
Mary and Sylvain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We began to become a little... suspicious... as we got farther and farther from civilization, and even more still when we walked through the front door of what was very clearly someone's home. I hadn't brought any silver, and I hear there are werewolves in these parts....

Mary and Sylvain are the proprietors of this charming establishment out on a peninsula in the very remote Connemara, and they live there with their three children. The youngest is the most charming ambassador of culture ever... she's three and about the best welcome party that anyone could send out.

Sylvain quickly laid us out tea and homemade scones (with his own homemade marmelade and preserves, which were to die for) and we decided about what to do for dinner. It was still a bit early, and we contemplated eating stew with the family (we had failed to book dinner in advance, but the hosts were more than willing to accommodate if we desired) but decided to go into the next town to the pub instead. They were very helpful about directions - and pay attention, lest you get lost on the moors and the werewolves find you! ... We ate the best seafood chowder we'd ever had in the cutest-ever village of Roundstone (about 20 minutes away) at O'Dowd's pub/restaurant.

Bed was comfortable if a little hard (seems to be the fashion in this country), house is super warm (built to be all eco-friendly, has geothermal heat, heated floors, etc.), comforter nice and thick. Wifi available if a bit slow (frankly I was just happy to have it). Bathroom was large, well-laid out, and had a nice big new shower.

Breakfast demonstrated that clearly Sylvain either has some significant culinary training/experience or is a masterful amateur... plus I think everything we ate came from within 5 miles. Typical Irish spread, and will accommodate food allergies/restrictions/etc. if notice given. Lovely little breakfast room with a few tables and buffet spread.

As this was the very, very off-season, rates were extremely extremely reasonable - frankly a steal. I would expect to (and very gladly) pay double during the high season. Online booking was very easy (which I did the day before) and they take credit cards for payment at checkout.

Do note that this is absolutely in the middle of nowhere and plan accordingly. But that results in views like the one in the attached photo...which was the view we woke up to, immediately out our room's window. I don't think it could really get any better than this.

Room Tip: Room Number 3 has the very best view - first floor view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments in your recent review of your stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge. Wow! We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The remoteness of our B&B is a definite bonus even if it does seem like werewolves might roam around from time to time!
Our location, as you so rightly put it, is very special and well worth the drive here. It is always great to hear also that you enjoyed the food here as we do pride ourselves on this.
We are happy you felt you got good value for money here too.

Many thanks again for your fantastic review and hope to see you here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
4.1 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
9.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
256 reviews
7.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
126 reviews
5.2 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
181 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cashel House Hotel
Cashel House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cashel
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossroe Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossroe Lodge B&B

Property: Rossroe Lodge B&B
Address: Rossroe, Cashel H91 V20K, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossroe Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossroe Lodge is a family home situated in Cashel, in the heart of Connemara (Co.Galway). It offers great comfort with fantastic views of Cashel Bay. Private lounge with real turf fire. An ideal base for discovering Connemara. Evening meals available on request.French spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rossroe Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing