We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hideaway”
Review of Rossroe Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 2 Cashel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with an old, dear friend in the double room (a twin and a queen). We really enjoyed it. Off the beaten track with a quiet, friendly atmosphere. The food was (as everyone else seems to note) excellent, made to order, and served with gentle pride of craftsmanship. We were greeted by a small dog belonging to a neighbor as we pulled up the drive. The view of the water (on clear days) was remarkable....you are really in the wilds of Connemara here. The couple who own the place, Marry and Sylvian, were warm and welcoming. We discovered a picturesque horse down the road and fed it an apple (don't overfeed or they will get colic). Very clean and comfortable room. One thing that was odd to me (but I am told normal for the area) was the peat coloring in the water. Sylvian will talk to you about how they designed the place to be eco friendly if you inquire. Great pricing, especially if you purchase a meal with the stay (which we did and was scrumptious, huge and locally sourced). Highly reccomended, but not if you need lots of outside stimulation.

Room Tip: There are only 4, two doubles and one triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneWorld72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay here with us.
We are glad you enjoyed it and that the food was also appreciated.We pride ourselves on using only fresh local produce where possible and it is always nice to hear great comments about it! Its also great that you availed of our package, which is only available through our website.

Again many thanks and look forward to welcoming you both here again in the future.

Mary and Sylvain Lapierre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 198 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great place for relaxing. We stayed for only one night so as to continue roadtripping through Ireland, but the breakfast and accomodations are top notch. If you like to go on walks they will gladly point out the way, they have maps with the tours as well. Highly reccommended

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your review of your stay here at Rossroe Lodge.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Looking forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay in the future,

Many thanks,
Mary and Sylvain Lapierre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

During our first visit to Ireland we stayed at Rossroe Lodge for 2 nights. A little far off the main road, this B&B made everything worthwhile. Our room was very clean with modern furniture, free WiFi, a TV and had the best view I have ever seen. The entire location seemed to me like a postcard image of beautiful Connemara, with it´s rough mountainside and the Atlantic ocean just outside your door. The distinguished scent the open turf fire in the common room made you feel right at home. The best thing about Rossroe was the outstanding breakfast. One must try the locally sourced smoked salmon. It is to die for. The staff was nothing but warm and friendly and gave us useful tips on how to explore the beauty of Connemara. For the surprisingly low price the best B&B you can possibly imagine. Thx a lot for the lovely stay, I already long to come back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the-appletree-effect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your wonderful review of your recent stay here with us at Rossroe Lodge B&B.We were thrilled to receive such a fantastic account of your stay.We are very lucky to live in a truly beautiful,if remote,part of the world and we are pleased that you also felt that the service and food you received was also good.We look forward to welcoming you here again in the future.

Thanks again,

Mary and Sylvain Lapierre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rossroe Lodge is located in one of the most beautiful spots we have seen during our Irland trip. Our room had ocean view and was very clean and modern. each room has its indivdual style and you can see that the hosts have chosen each piece furniture with detail. the staff/hosts were very nice and provided us with helpful information. we booked online and paid a very decent price. the breakfast (fresh salmon and eggs, full irish breakfast etc.) was fantastic. getting to rossroe is somewhat adventurous but the long drive is definitely worth it. the best thing about our rossroe was the familiar atmosphere with open fire. we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your review of your stay here with us at Rosroe Lodge B&B.We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that the drive to us was worth it!We appreciate the fact that you felt welcome here and that you enjoyed the service we offer.We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future.

Again many thanks,

Mary and Sylvain Lapierre.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

In September we stayed at Rossroe Lodge for the third year in a row and in the same room overlooking the bay and mountains! All I can say is that without a doubt this is the greatest value in Ireland. Sylvain and Mary run a b&b of the highest standards: the food is delicious, the location superb, the rooms and bathrooms spacious, clean and well-appointed. Plus Sylvain and Mary are generous, warm people who will make you feel right at home. And Sylvain cooks the best breakfast. The smoked salmon is locally sourced and simply divine.

We keep coming back because the Lodge is located on a spit of land jutting out into Bertraghboy Bay... one of the best sites in the Connemara. I just love looking out the front window of the room, over the bay and Cashel mountain. You will hear herons and other waterfowl out in the bay. Its such a peaceful and beautiful location.

And you are also conveniently located to Clifden, Roundstone, Connemara National Park, Kylemore Abbey and Leenane.

I highly recommend this b&b if you want to really experience the Connemara and get to meet 2 wonderfully gracious people -- all at a really good price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Irelandfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Hi Ann and Raffaele!
Thank you for your recent review of Rossroe Lodge.
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed our B&B so much to come back a 3rd time!
It was lovely meeting you again.As always we are really happy to hear people enjoying the food here like the local smoked salmon with scrambled eggs.
Perhaps you will be back next year to try it again?

Looking forward to seeing you both here again soon and again many thanks for your review.

Warm Regards,
Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Make sure to include the dinner in your stay - our best meal in Ireland (top five ever). Had the two night with two terrific breakfasts, one pack lunch and an unforgetable dinner. Used in between day to take ferry to Aran islands and returned to Sylvain's dinner. What a treat! Great room, sitting room, dining room - all first rate. Did I mention the dinner?

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TC B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed the breakfasts and dinner here with us and that you enjoyed the 2 night,1 dinner and packed lunch deal.
We look forward to welcoming you back here again in the future to try the food again!

Again,many thanks for taking the time to post your review.

Mary and Sylvain.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Rossroe Lodge in Cashel is a destination lodging, meaning that even if you were not planning to visit Cashel for any other reason, it would be worth booking a getaway to Rossroe! The purpose-built B&B enjoys a seaside location well off the beaten path and is exceptionally comfortable, with underfloor heating and, mirabile dictu, mixer taps in the bathroom sinks! The bedrooms and ensuites are spacious and beautifully appointed, and the breakfast room looks out on the sea. I was there in February, and when I parked in nearby Roundstone, the ignition key to my rental car fell apart. I was able to use it to drive back to Rossroe, where I asked Sylvain if he had a bit of tape or glue with which to stick it back together. He analyzed the problem, took out a box of miscellaneous hardware, and promptly found a screw that was exactly the right size. Throughout my stays in February (alone) and July (with my husband), Sylvain and Mary were friendly and helpful; their hospitality, the house, and the setting would be enough to warrant a return visit. But what puts this B&B over the top is the 5-star cuisine. Breakfast is top class, with grilled smoked kippers among the choices, and good strong French Press coffee. With a reservation and at a very reasonable price, Sylvain will also prepare a superb evening meal featuring local specialties, such as salmon terrine with lobster and pollock, seafood pie with a melt-in-your-mouth pastry crust, mussels steamed in vermouth, elegantly presented vegetable garnishes, and exquisite, picture-perfect desserts.
Go to Rossroe for the peaceful seaside location, for the luxury of heated floors, for the gracious Irish-French hospitality, and for the food! Merci beaucoup Sylvain and Mary!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview room if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saoirse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SylvainMary, Owner at Rossroe Lodge B&B, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2012

Only one word: speechless. So many compliments have let us speechless. Thank you so much, we are so happy to have helped you enjoy your trips to Ireland. We will be delighted to have you again when you come back to Ireland. And don't forget, we are better at looking after our customers than we are at fixing broken keys!
See you again very soon.
Mary and Sylvain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cashel
9.2 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
318 reviews
9.2 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
22.8 mi away
Carrowntober House
Carrowntober House
#1 of 23 in Oughterard
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Bed and Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
262 reviews
2.6 mi away
Cashel House Hotel
Cashel House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cashel
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rossroe Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rossroe Lodge B&B

Address: Rossroe, Cashel H91 V20K, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Cashel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cashel
Price Range: $77 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rossroe Lodge B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rossroe Lodge is a family home situated in Cashel, in the heart of Connemara (Co.Galway). It offers great comfort with fantastic views of Cashel Bay. Private lounge with real turf fire. An ideal base for discovering Connemara. Evening meals available on request.French spoken. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rossroe Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing