We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Nice Three Star Family Run Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Carna Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Nice Three Star Family Run Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2010

Centrally located, the Carna Bay Hotel makes a great home base for those hoping to explore Connemara. The hotel, which almost has a B&B vibe, is clean, efficiently run, and staffed by a very caring group of workers.

This IS a 3 star hotel, so those expecting luxury should look elsewhere (good luck in the area!) but it's a well-maintained 3 star: comfortable beds, shower with excellent hot water and water pressure, and a decent breakfast.

The only thing that bugged me in a major way was the carpet, a frenetic red pseudo-oriental pattern that made me dizzy when I looked at it. But that's not a problem if you're not looking down.

Hey! Free WIFI in the lobby. It also worked next to the window in our room..

Loved the front desk workers. They were very helpful with planning day trips.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RMG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    47
    20
    6
    9
See reviews for
52
58
12
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

My husband and I booked this hotel as a romantic relaxing weekend away in the West, to get away from it all as we live near Dublin city. We weren't expecting anything too fancy but we felt that it would at least be a basic, decently nice hotel.

We had requested in advance a large room with a view and had made a point of saying it was for an anniversary weekend. When we went into our (small) room, it had a view of the housing estate next door. I felt like nearly bursting into tears - we had driven for nearly 5 hours to this place to get away from city life, only to look out onto a housing estate-we may as well have been back at home!

I rang reception and asked had they a better room, they said no. At this stage I was begining to think we should leave but as Carna has only one other hotel and we had no idea if it was booked out or not, we decided to try again with reception. My husband went down and explained we had requested a view, that we were here for an anniversary and that we were disappointed. He was told the didn't know anything about these requests.
They then said there was a twin room at the other side of the hotel if we wanted to have a look at that.
The view out of that was of the carpark and back of kitchen - when you opened the windows you could hear the kitchen fans going and there was a privacy issue as people were parking their cars and kitchen staff were coming out the back door - all within plain sight of our window on the first floow.
However, when you looked out to the right, there was a very nice view of the area so we decided it was better than the first room and said we'd take it.

They then let us go to the trouble of moving the beds and furniture to make a double bed for ourselves (it was set up as a twin room), they didn't even offer to send up someone to do it. I had to ask for double quilt and sheet - which someone then dropped up. A woman who we think was the owner, came in and handed the bed linen to us, telling us that it probably wouldn't fit the bed as it was two singles pushed together and not their standard double bed size. (she was right)
I mentioned to her that there had been a problem with our room and that this was our only option for a room with a bit of a view, but she just said she's check what had happened regarding our requests and left, even though we were clearly in the midst of dragging their furniture around trying to make a nice bed for ourselves.

When we were next down at reception, we were told they had found our requests but no one had read them when making our reservation, there was a very vague apology and no more said about it.

That really set the tone for the weekend, every thing was mediocre at best. It really felt more like a casually run guest house or b&b rather than a hotel.

I am suprised so many people commented on how lovely the food was, we both felt it was on the cheap end of the bar food scale and had the air of food that was cooked by the waiting staff themselves rather than a proper chef. We had a steak baguette and chicken baguette in the bar the first night, it was grand - nothing memorable I think they go down the quantity over quality road.
Pints of Guniess were nice and very well priced.
The next moring, breakfast was grand - you're standard stuff, the sausages seemed quite good in all fairness to them - but everything had clearly been out for a while so the beans were gone a bit mushy, the pudding was slightly hard, the eggs were a bit watery. I don't think they were replenishing the food as they went along, rather they put the whole lot out in one go when they started serving, so for those who came in to eat within the last 45 mins of breakfast service, things were getting a bit dry.

We went out for the day to Clifden and had a fabulous dinner in a restaurant there that I can't for the life of me remember what it was called! Went back to hotel had a nice drink in the bar and went to bed.

The next day we booked our trip out to Killary fijord as it was included in our package. Reception staff were lovely and helpful and at least three people wished us well on the trip between breakfast and leaving the hotel!
Had a lovely time on that - wouldn't recommend eating on the cruise thought- you miss too much of the trip that way, wait til after or go have lunch before would be my adivce. We then went to Kylemore Abbey which was fascinating - the gardens were the best bit. That evening we had dinner in the hotel - it was also part of our package. It was fairly bad I have to say. It wasn't that anything tased awful, but it was all so bland and taseless. Clearly there is no one with anr flair in the kitchen. My husband's steak was huge, but really tough and a cheap cut of meat. The veg was just boiled boring stuff that looked like it had come from the freexer and the chicken with cream cheese I had, was literally that, a piece of chicken with plain cream cheese spread in the middle! No flavour at all. It just tasted of white.

Dinner and breakfast were served in the dining room. They had the radio on for breakfast which was fine, but it was the same for the dinner service, so it was really unsettling trying to have a relaxing meal when there are radio adverts playing and loud pop music. It would have made a nice difference to just have had a good cd playing with some chilled out ambient music.

The bar had a similar set up, in that the radio was always on, but so too were two tvs on two different channels! It's not that anything was particularly loud, but all three just became this really distracting noise and you couldn't hear one thing properly. We were tempted a good few times to get up and turn one of the TVs off!

The area itself is lovely, really out in the middle of nowhere so the 'getting away from it all' vibe is really strong. There isn't even much reception coverage for phones so it was quite nice in that regard. There are nice places to stroll in the vicinity - every morn after breakfast we went off down the road - just randomly, we didn't really know where we were off to - but it's all nice and interesting and you can climb up a hill nearby with fabulous views of the inlets and mountains. There are about three little shops and two or three pubs, a post office and that's pretty much it for the village!

The main good points about the hotel were:
It was clean.
Most of the staff were very nice, friendly and helpful.

I would not go back and stay there again to be honest, or if I found I had to or someone gave me a voucher, I wouldn't eat there and I would ring up well in advance to make sure I had a room with a view.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2010

Just back after spending a second stay at the Carna Bay Hotel, and I'll be going back there again. Located off the main tourist areas of Connemara, it's a fantastic & quiet location to base yourself for traveling & exploring. Staff are very friendly and couldn't do enough for me. Food was excellent. Hotel is clean & well maintained. I couldn't find fault with a single thing. Hope to get back there again for another weekend before the onset of autumn.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colmpanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2010

We arrived on a very wet and blustery evening after travelling by car for 4 hours. All that lifted when we met the staff of the hotel . They were so friendly and the hotel itself was absolutely spotless. The food was first class. The surroundings were perfect for our stay --so relaxing
John and Maura

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

Carna, Connemara, for a weekend in May: Magic ! A family run hotel, attentive and friendly serivce, excellent food, and spectacular weather to explore this glorious part of Ireland: a recipe for a perfect weekend. Highly reommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphyholidays2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2010

Travelling with a 15 months old toddler is not always easy, but at Carna Bay Hotel the staff and owners paid a lot of attention to all the baby's requirements, from food (at every meal we were offered bread, puréed veg, rice, etc. so that the little one could enjoy her time) and friendliness (the owners are grandparents themselves, and they have that inimitable touch!) to accommodation (a local girl, part-time staff, came one night to baby-sit while we parents went out).
Well located just outside Carna, and within easy driving reach of everywhere in South Connemara. We shall come back again on our next visit to the Wild West of Ireland.
Nice pub area and good hearty food throughout our stay.
We extended by one night at the last minute and were offered a reduced rate (absolutely uncalled for).
The only down point might be the bath tub in dire need of replacement, but I believe this will be fixed as part of the day-to-day running of the business.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JerPag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2010

This is a comfortable friendly hotel with personal service and welcoming atmosphere. Good beds. Good food. Local information. Excellent to get to know this beautiful area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HestE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
12.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
22.1 mi away
Currarevagh House
Currarevagh House
#1 of 6 in Oughterard
5.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
13.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
13.4 mi away
Clifden Station House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Property: Carna Bay Hotel
Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing