We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the trip”
Review of Carna Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carna Bay Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2010

After many year s i took a trip to connemara, not remembering how beautiful it really is. I was booked into the Carna BAy hotel and they very kindly rang me before i arrived to let me know that food orders were finished at 9, as i was still on the road there I made do with snacks from supermarket on the way, and yet when i got there it was warm and made myself a nice cup of tea, had a bath and relaxed into a really comfy bed. Nice.
The next morning I had breakfast , the ladies in the next booth were talking Irish , again quite rare in these days! The landlady gave me directions to a wonderful beach where i spent a few enjoyable hours before driving back along the coast road to galway city. Incredible views mountains sea, huge expanses of blue skies and low stone walls with many sheep. I hope to visit again this summer.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gorgeousgussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 201 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2010

My husband and I returned to the Carna Bay Hotel in May of 2009. Our second visit was as pleasant as the first. We were welcomed by Patricia and Colm, two of the very attentive staff at the hotel. After we unpacked a bit, we headed to the pub downstairs to enjoy a Guiness in front of a fire that Colm set up for us. Patricia took our order for dinner and chatted with us for a while. Dinner was delicious, as it had been two years ago. In the morning, we had a tasty and very complete breakfast, served to order. Mary, the owner (and new grandmother!) came to visit with us as we waited for the main course of the meal; we had missed her at check-in and inquired about her. How kind of her to respond to our inquiry!

We were only able to stay one evening this year, but the hospitality and comfort of Carna Bay Hotel have not changed. This is a delightly warm hotel that is perfect for families or solo travelers. Rooms are clean and pleasantly appointed. The bathroom is stocked with ample towels, soap, and shampoo. The first floor has a lovely dining room and a friendly pub with delicious food. There is a relaxing sitting area/lounge between the pub and dining room. Carna Bay Hotel is quite a civilized place to stay, in the gorgeous wild countryside of western Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

Myself and my Partner spend three nights in this lovely Hotel. The reason for choosing this Hotel is we both had a hectic year and wanted some relaxing time together.

This really is a gorgeous hotel which depicts all that is good about irish hospitality. From the moment we walked in the front door we were felt welcome. Check-In was quick, Bedroom is modern with plenty of Room for two people, Shower facilities were fine, TV had alot of channels, we could even get wireless Vodafone broadband in the Hotel Room which was great.

We had two dinners in our package deal. Options on the Menu are plentiful. Portions are big so dont have too much food before dinner. The food was absolutely gorgeous especially the chocolate fudge Cake/Apple Pie. Bar Food is also nice. There were alot of locals eating in the bar so if they approve of the quality it cant be too bad. We ate in the Bar one night and it was lovely. Good value also. Breakfast is also good with hot buffet breakfast at weekend and full irish breakfast to order during the week.

The surrounding Area is picturesque. When your driving around there are lovely views of mountains, ocean, rivers, beaches. We went to Cliften one day and the other day we went to Kylemore abbey. Great to comeback to CarnaBay Hotel after a long day to relax and drink some Guinness. In Carna Village itself there are two pubs, we went to one of them on the saturday night. 10 minutes walk from hotel. There was a band playing and people dancing and talking irish. A great night.

A great Hotel/Holiday destination for those people that want a relaxing holiday away from the City and for people to enjoy the Ireland that we all know and love to tell people about.

Thanks Mary and staff for a great stay in your Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reggie1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2009

To celebrate our birthdays we took advantage of a three night B&B break with two evening meals included in the price.
On arrival our bags were carried by Colm to our room which was comfortable and ultra clean. The large en suite had both bath and shower. The TV had BBC1 plus various other Irish/international channels.
At night we had our choice of three courses from a substantial menu plus coffee/tea. The freshly caught "catch of the day" fish offerings were superb i.e. 2 plaice fillets or huge cod loins (moist,juicy and with crispy skin. Great stuff!)
Because of the welcome we received and the general warm ambience of the hotel (it was super weather as well!) it was obvious that we were going to stay longer than the original three nights so we did a little deal for six nights with all evening meals included: this was simply double the original cost but including the two extra evening meals.
Although access to the sea is just a few hundred yards away the general position of Carna Bay Hotel is less than exciting and is not helped by the awful identikit 'Celtic Tiger' estate of garageless detached houses adjacent to the hotel.
That said, we have no complaints about the service, the food or the comfort.
Congratulations to Mary and her staff: Patricia and her sister Katie, to Jennifer, Ann and the afore-mentioned Colm. (Apologies for any omissions)
Thoroughly recommended.
PS WiFi connection available in lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnboycab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelchairMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2008

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Tatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HeavenlyBetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
12.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.5 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
306 reviews
20.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
Peacockes Hotel
Peacockes Hotel
#1 of 3 in Maam Cross
194 reviews
13.7 mi away
Abbeyglen Castle Hotel
9.3 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carna Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carna Bay Hotel

Address: Carna, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carna
Price Range: $95 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carna Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carna Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing