We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location, cosy houses, beautiful...”

Review of Anna-Bru na Mara

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anna Sitting room area and Dining area Anna Dining Area and Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Anna Sitting room area and Dining area
Anna Dining Area and Kitchen
Anna Master Bedroom
Anna Twin Room
Bru na Mara from the sea
Mace Pier at sunset
Moyrus beach looking towards Roundstone
Morning mist on the shore
The Atlantic can also be wild and romantic
St MacDara's day regatta (16th July)
The inlet at high tide
St MacDara's church and Island
Moyrus Beach  and twelve bens @1.5 km
Outdoor Dining Areas
Donkeys!!!!
Panorama of Garden.
Bru Na Mara and Mace head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
983femkem
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent location, cosy houses, beautiful environment, very welcoming host”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed by Riona. The houses (we stayed in the 4-person Anna-Bru Na Mara and in the 2-person Sonas-Bru Na Mara) were very clean, cosy and had everything needed.

The property is ideally situated in a large bay close to a small harbour. Nice walks along the coast can be made in the immediate vicinity. We observed dolphins and seals in the bay. The closest town, Carna, is about 6 km and has a few small shops where food can be obtained.

During our stay, we visited several interesting places within driving distance : Clifden, the Connemara National Park, Ballynahinch castle, Connemara smokehouse, Kylemore abbey, the Aran islands.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryne K
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Location - Great Host”
Reviewed May 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My fiancée and I stayed at Anna-Bru na Mara for one week in April 2016. Overall the experience was fantastic.

Location: Anna-Bru na Mara overlooks a beautiful bay and the Atlantic Ocean. We enjoyed waking up every morning to sunlight dancing over the rocks and sea. On land, Anna-Bru na Mara is surrounded by rolling rocky hills and miles of stone walls. Apart from being picturesque, these provided unforgettable hiking and walking experiences. Anna-Bru na Mara is a 10 minute drive from the town of Carna and about 45 minutes from Clifden. We found it a very nice balance between seclusion and convenience.

Accommodation: Anna-Bru na Mara is modern with all the amenities of home and more (including a dishwasher and washer/dryer!). We personally loved the electric fireplace that provided some extra warmth in the colder nights and mornings. The cottage has been redone recently and is far better than the average hotel experience.

Host: Riona is a friendly, warm, and hospitable host. She greeted us with a lovely welcome basket and gave us a detailed overview Connemara, including its best restaurants, activities, drives, and history. She also has a dog named Spot who accompanied us on our nearby walks and loved to greet us every time we came and left the property.

Summary: This was easily the best overall holiday we have been on. We hope to return again in the near future to re-experience everything Riona and Connemara have to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of the property
Liked least: Wifi access in best in the main house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hainingst...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful stay at beach house :-)”
Reviewed May 29, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

a few steps away from sea, with window views of Atlantic. our nice, considerate landlady is unforgettably lovely with welcome wine on the table, food in fridge and local tour info all ready.

close drive to Connemara - with beautiful views along the way. local folks are so sweet and accommodating we fell in love with Ireland <3

the house we stayed in was clean, neat, well organized with all utilities.
most impressive: 5 recycling cans for different items to keep the beach home clean :-)

thanks Riona - we look forward to returning to this lovely beach home again :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet at the beach - a tip of Ireland.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falk S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for escaping urban madness”
Reviewed April 17, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The house "Anna" is clean and well equipped with anything one usually needs in a house. It is very remotely situated just 50 yards away from the stone/rock coast of the Atlantic which is accessible directly from the door for refreshing walks. Carna is about an hour relaxed walk from the property. We (family of four, children 8 & 10) enjoyed the remoteness and pure nature of the vicinity. There was no signal for our mobile there.

The main dwelling room is the combined sitting room with kitchen, so if you have children who can't/won't keep themselves occupied, consider spending most of the time outside of the house. Riona's Dog Spot is always good value for playing close by. For leisure there are several books in various languages to read. TV seems to have about 6 Stations. Kitchen equipment is plenty for 2, with more people you'll run out of cutlery and some dishes at the end of the day. The dish washer is somewhat noisy so plan on turning it on in the morning before leaving the house for the day. There was no coffee machine which we substituted by drinking tea ;o) Possibly Riona might have such a device, she's always willing to help and cares very much about your enjoyment during your stay. Standard wall radiators provide for heating so mind you bring slippers as it definitely gets chilly on your feet morning and evening, especially in the sitting room/kitchen which are tiled.
Tap water is not of drinking quality but sufficient for washing and tooth burshing. There is an extra faucet with filtered water which, however, didn't suit us as well for drinking - still too much chlorine smell for our taste.
There is an abundance of trips to take. Besides the beach near Carna everything can be reached by car only. Clifden and its magnificent SkyRoad, Dog Bay near Roundstone and the closely situated 12 Bens and Maumturk Mountains, as well as Inishbofin und Omey Island were some of the main sites we went to or hiked at. Roads in Connemara can be travelled at about 35-40 mph (ca. 60 km/h). Plan on 10-15€ p.p. plus drinks when eating out.
Groceries and gifts are best purchased in Clifden which is about 40min away. Carna has 3 stores but the range of goods is limited.

Thank you, Riona, for those beautiful days in Ireland. We enjoyed it immensely. Falk, Silvia, Svenja and Wiebke from Germany

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rough nature in the vicinity
Liked least: beer prices ;o)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vanina j
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage with spectacular ocean views”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage ANNA is situated in a beautiful place offering spectacular ocean views. We appreciated Riona’s warm welcome and the fact that the cottage was impeccably clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. All the suggestions made by Riona were of interest. We had a wonderful time at the beach in Roundstone, and enjoyed our trip to the Aran Islands. It is ideal place for touring Connemara and we would love to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The location of the cottage and its cosiness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew T
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rural Bliss”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Incredible views, very tastefully furnished, comfortable, spotlessly clean, very knowledgeable and friendly host, fresh eggs and milk in the fridge on arrival. Everything you'd hope for from a Holiday Cottage and more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
POGIOWL
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Simply the most relaxing break we have had”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed in the Sonas one bedroom apartment in Riona's group of cottages right next to this one.
I cant speak highly enough of the hospitality and helpfulness of our host as she spent over an hour with us sharing her knowledge of the area, this enhanced our stay and experience of the area.
The cottages sit beside a stretch of beautiful coastline at the side of a small harbour, when the weather was fine there is no better place to relax and take in the sea air.
Our apartment was very clean, well equipped and comfortable, all at great price.
We will be returning and will recommend the cottage to our friends.
Phil

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and host
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing