We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a gem!”
Bru Na Mara Complex from the Sea
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bru Na Mara Complex from the Sea
Dara Exterior Dara sitting room area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
Bru Na Mara Complex from the Sea
Dara Exterior
Dara sitting room area
Dara Master Bedroom
Aoibhneas Exterior
Aoibhneas Bedroom
Anna Exterior
Anna living room area and kitchen
Sonas Exterior
Sonas Sitting room
Mist on the Cladagh
Mace Pier at sunset
St MacDara's church on St MacDara's Island
Moyrus Beach 1.5 Km
Bru Na Mara and the inlet from Mace Head
The Inlet at high tide
The Wild Atlantic.
St MacDara's Day Regatta (16th July)
Roundstone From Moyrus Beach
Donkeys!!!!
Bru Na Mara and Mace Head
Garden Panorama
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
8 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 17
Carna, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EdnaRae
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Such a gem!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My mom and I enjoyed a visit to the connemara region of Ireland and were extremely pleased to find Riona's gem of a house in a remote area just outside of the town of Carna. There are a variety of rooms and separate cottages to choose from on her property.
I am not usually a fan of a set-up that includes the hosts within the same house or property - but I did not feel like an intruder into the 2 bedroom apartment within Riona's home. Beautifully done and quite comfortable for our 4 day stay.
Great walking trails and extremely picturesque. Riona was the perfect hostess - walking us through all the recommended regional sites (with her stash of brochures and maps), getting us a much-needed electronic converter during her trip to town, and allowing us the privacy and quiet we plan on during vacation.
I am planning my next trip to Riona's place with my husband next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Picturesque location and Riona!
Liked least: sketchy wi-fi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C
Fairfax, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic seaside escape for exploring breathtaking Connemara”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in Dara with two teenagers and a 9 year old in late June/early July. Dara, our cottage, is exactly as described in the "Property Details". We could not imagine a place that combines the traditional look and feel of a coastal Irish cottage with the updated comfort and convenience that Riona has created. Riona's dedication to her guests is reflected in the way that Dara is impeccably maintained and in the local knowledge she provides to ensure that exploration of Connemara is as satisfying as possible. She has endless details, restaurants, pubs, destinations, discount suggestions (down to which shuttle driver you should take on the Aran Islands!) that are incredibly useful. One of our considerations before renting Dara was whether we would have the privacy we seek on a vacation given that there is another cottage and units in the main house to rent. We found that Riona was available to support us completely but was never intrusive to our vacation time. She was there if and when we needed her. We also very rarely saw the other guest as the units themselves are very private and as most guests (like us) were busy touring and enjoying the area. Our children's highlight at Dara was playing fetch with Spot the sheep dog who would herd our car upon departure and arrival each day. They also enjoyed walking on the rocks by the beach and watching the cows in the adjacent field. With respect to a prior review about no Internet/WiFi access in Dara, we were there the last week before Riona had it installed. The absence of it actually pleased my wife and me.... Last, what can we say about Connemara that hasn't already been said. It is simply gorgeous at every turn. We stayed one week and just scratched the surface of all the wonderful places to explore and things to do. We are looking forward to returning for a longer stay and would definitely stay at Dara.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PamelaH81
Portland, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, Relaxing Get Away With Amenities”
Reviewed July 20, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

I found the single bedroom cottage the perfect get away -- many complimentary amenities, and Riona was warm and helpful with area suggestions. The location is remote and quiet with wonderful views whether on foot or by car. It is definately my plan to return and perhaps bring the whole family next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Irish countryside, small towns nearby and Spot (resident sheep dog).
Liked least: Wi-Fi access was difficult
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff B
Olathe, Kansas, United States
1 review
“Beautiful irish cottage right on the beach”
Reviewed October 9, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Dara at Bru Na Mara. The ladylady, Riona, was friendly and extremely knowledgable about the area and its attractions. The cottage was very comfortable and can accommodate a large group. It is remote enough to give you a feel of really being away from it all but close enough to several towns and attractions to make travelling easy. The only downside to staying here is that the wifi is only in the main house next door but Riona is good about letting you in to use it during the day. We would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remote, authentic feel of the area.
Liked least: The narrow roads that are common throught the area.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing