We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous View from the Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside House B & B
Ranked #3 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Very few B&Bs were listed in the B&B Ireland book along this stretch of coastline. We loved this place. It is just off the main road, up the hill a bit. When my husband expressed concern about getting in and out of the shower (He has a disability.), Barbara offered us an alternate room with a sturdy grab bar in the shower. Both rooms were beautiful--immaculate and nicely decorated. And both had fabulous views. We ended up in a corner room, where we could see the mountains out one side and the sea out the other window. We were there slightly off season, and Barbara gave us information about where we could find a late meal on a day and in an area where not much was open. We had a very satisfying supper at Tigh Mheaic in nearby Carna. It was pleasantly quiet and dark at night for good sleeping. Breakfast was very good, and we even had a rainbow over the hydrangeas outside the dining room window.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank E W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Hello to you and thanks alot for posting such a nice review of your stay at our home and in the area along the coast here in Connemara. Glad you enjoyed the mountain and sea views and we are looking forward to having the hydrangeas in flower in the garden shortly!
Kind regards, Barbara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

we stayed at connemara for one night. the b&b is located on an absolutely amazing piece of land, just between the shore & the mountains. it takes some time to reach there but this was our intention when picking such a place. our host was a lovely lady who welcomed us into her house & gave us plenty of information regarding places to eat nearby & things to see in connemara. the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allnamesaretaken2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Many thanks for your lovely review. So glad you both enjoyed your stay with us at Hillside House and hope you get to spend some more time in Connemara on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at the Hillside House this past week for a local family gathering. Although we stayed in several great B&Bs this past week touring Ireland, the Hillside House was clearly the best of all. The rooms were as clean as a pin and spacious. Barbara and Patrick were excellent hosts...very generous with their time and attention to our wants and needs. After several days of Irish breakfasts, the pancakes were a welcomed change and out of this world.
Being up on the hill, made for spectacular sunrises and sunsets over the bay. Truly a great place and we will be back again.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

It was lovely to meet your family and it's great you all had a chance to visit Ireland together during the year of The Gathering - the memories will last forever. Thanks so much for posting your kind review and all the best to the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We found this jewel by accident but was overwhelmed with the view and hospitality of Barbara and Patrick. It is also refreshing to get a wifi connection in the room but we did. TV was a little hard to watch at the angle it was attached to the wall but one should not be there to watch TV.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Brad4221x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

So glad you enjoyed the views from Hillside House (they are way more interesting than the TV!!)and thanks so much for posting a review. You are welcome to return anytime and experience the hospitality again at Hillside House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a magical place to stay. The views over the bay are enchanting, even in the mist! But what makes this stay so lovely is Barbara. She is a truly wonderful host, she really looks after you and is so accommodating.
The rooms are fabulous and her breakfasts are top rate.
The area is really beautiful and we did some lovely walks. Barbara provides you with plenty of advice and information and gave us a walking book that the locals had compiled, which had great walks in it, enough to keep you busy.
Hillside is a really good base for exploring the western side of county Galway and even south Mayo.
Absolutely adored Annie and Maggie, the family donkey's.
We were very sad to leave but we were happy in the knowledge that we shall be back in the future as this is a real gem.
Thank you to Barbara, Patrick, Mary T, Annie and Maggie for welcoming us into your home and ensuring we had a wonderful time.
Jerry, Chris and Katy

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

It was a pleasure to welcome you to our home and bed and breakfast and really enjoyed meeting you and talking to you about your lovely daytime walks in the local area. Thanks so much for such a comprehensive review and for posting it so promptly. The donkeys continue to peer over the stone wall waiting for attention! We look forward to welcoming you back to Hillside House sometime in the future and the full Irish breakfast will be waiting for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We have stayed in this B&B for two days and it was wonderful. The place has a wonderfull view on the sea. The breakfast was very good and you can choose from a big variety from Irish to continental breakfast. The owner Barbara gave us good recommendations for two nice hiking tours in the surrounding of the B&B. The pub in Kilkieran has good food and is nearby of the B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeKaBa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Thanks so much for posting a lovely review and we are glad you enjoyed the views of the sea and the breakfasts at Hillside House. It was nice to have time to explore the local area and you are welcome back to Connemara some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went to Barbara's place thanks to one of our guide and it was the best advice ever !
This place is so lovely and warmful that we decided to stay a couple days instead of just one night.
Barbara and her husband make you feel part of their own family, the rooms are very cosy and the breakfast so delicious !
To finish, the price is quite good.
Go there, you won't regret it !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

It was so nice to welcome you to our family home for a couple of nights. Let's hope the weather is better next time for horse riding and walking up Mordán mountain!! Many thanks for posting a great review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hillside House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House B & B

Address: Kylesalia, Kilkieran, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing