We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a blast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hillside House B & B
Ranked #3 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a blast!”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Barbara was very welcoming and a great host. We got a tour of the house, met the donkeys and were quickly on our way to exploring Ireland. We slept peacefully and breakfast was hearty and delicious. Absolutely no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Benito88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thanks for your pleasant review happy to hear you slept peacefully and enjoyed the Hillside House breakfast. The donkeys are an occasional treat for guests at Hillside House. You were the lucky ones!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cuneo, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We were in the B&B a few days ago. The place is lovely as Barbara that runs it. Just upon arrival we were greeted with kindness and whit tea and slices of cake. The view is superb and there is an absolute silence, as the as well as the room is perfectly clean and tidy; and the fireplace is the best place to exchange a few words. Unfortunately, any services is at a ten-minute journey in Carna. Breakfast was incredibly good and generous. In short absolutely recommended before making a journey in the Connemara region or at the Aran Island (the ferry leaves from Carraroe at about 20/25 minutes car from the B&B). The best B&B I was ever been!
Stefano - Italy

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stefano F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HILLSIDEHOUSECARNA, Owner at Hillside House B & B, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Thanks so much for your detailed and pleasant review of Hillside House and for choosing to stay at our family home. We enjoyed sharing the views and breakfast and of course our fireplace with our Italian guests! Hope to welcome you and your friends to our home again. Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rives, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I was there with my children.. Barbara gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel like at home. She helped us as much as she could, always smiling. She also prepared a wonderful Irish Breakfast that will stay in our memories ! Patrick, her husband also let my son visit the fields around, and we had a pleasant and friendly conversation. We stayed in 5 different places in Ireland and this B&B was, by far, the very best one. Thanks to Barbara and Patrick for their wonderful welcome. Don't change anything, each detail is perfect.
Le meilleur exemple de l'accueil irlandais... parfait !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patavoile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We just loved staying with Barbara and her husband at their beautiful B&B. It was a terrific location for us--we wanted to explore Connemara and take a day trip to the Aran Islands. Barbara warmly welcomed us into their home with cookies and helpful information about the area. Her breakfasts were absolutely terrific--fresh fruit salad, yogurts, cereals, breads, and your choice of hot items. She expends extra effort to make her guests feel comfortable. We hope to visit the Hillside House again very soon and would recommend this lodging to anyone seeking true Irish hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RaleighFrenchToast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2010

This BB has an amazing view and very friendly owners. Barbara welcomed us in and made us feel right at home. They even gave us some deserts on their own since we could not go out into the local towns as it was a bit late. The sunset and sunrise views are breath taking. The breakfast was excellent. We had a very comfortable stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rehash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

Hillside House in Kilkieran was one of our favorite B&B's in Ireland. An incredible location overlooking the water and a beautiful, spotless home. But, best of all is Barbara, the host -- she is the warmest, most welcoming host and it's worth a stay at Hillside House just to spend some time with her! We arrived after a long day of cycling and she welcomed us with tea and biscuits and cake,which we enjoyed on the balcony overlooking the bay. The family room was lovely and so clean. Barbara actually made us a lovely dinner of chicken sandwiches and chips as we didn't feel like biking back into town. Breakfast was wonderful, with homemade strawberry rhubarb jam and the garden was gorgeous. What a lovingly cared for home! We spend lots of time talking with Barbara and learning about her children and grand children, and about life in Ireland too. We left feeling as though we had made a friend -- we can't recommend it enough! A perfect spot for exploring Connemara.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2010

The views of the area are great from here. And the guesthouse has a balcony along with a patio area at ground level so it lends itself to relaxation and taking in the atmosphere. There's a great sweeping view of Killkieran bay - classic Connemara- and, at the back of the house, a high craggy mountain. Barbara is most welcoming and professional. The place is spotless and very well run. It's been nominated for awards over the years so the standard is good. Try to get the room with the 2 windows for both views.

Travel to Glensk Hotel nearby (10 minutes by car) for convenience and good views. The local Carna Bay hotel is a bit noisy with TV sports on regularly. Or travel a bit further up to Recess (20 minutes by car) for Cashel House Hotel with its elegant conservatory and wonderful gardens.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank worklife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
5.7 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
14.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
9.1 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,646 reviews
7.2 mi away
Atlantic Wave
Atlantic Wave
#1 of 5 in Carna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
7.1 mi away
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Rossroe Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside House B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside House B & B

Property: Hillside House B & B
Address: Kylesalia, Kilkieran, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hillside House B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing