We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A home away from home.”
Review of Sea-side B and B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea-side B and B
Ranked #2 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A home away from home.”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

I stayed at Seaside B & B for three nights and would highly recommend it.
Although I come from Ireland, I found that I learned so much history about the area
from Maureen and Frank. They are lovely people and have a great Irish sense of humour and many stories to tell. The food is great, the house spotless and the area amazing. For anyone visiting Ireland, I feel that a stay at the Seaside B & B will be a cherished memory you will never forget. You will get a true taste of Irish culture.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie3Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Thank you Maureen for a wonderful stay, I just loved your home and how welcome you made me feel. Your beautiful breakfasts were so lovely and I missed them greatly when I returned home..nothing like and Irish Breakfast. Loved the beautiful area and cannot wait to return with my little boy in tow..thanks again!
Sharon from Australia

Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank ShazG72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

Once you discover Seaside B and B you won't want to stay anywhere else. You step out of the car and the view enthrals you. You breakfast overlooking rocky fields, white topped waves, and the occasional sight of a Galway Hooker crossing the bay. The rooms are furnished in the style of an elegant American home. Breakfasts are hearty if that is what you enjoy, but if you prefer muesli, fruit, yoghurt and the best of brown bread that is an option too. Maureen's years in America influenced the decor but she never lost her lovely Connemara Irish. She is happy to converse with you in either Irish or English, switching seamlessly from one to the other. Frank will tell you all the lore of the Galway Hookers (the sailing boats unique to the area) if you can find him on dry land for long enough. There are lovely walks on the island and a fine sandy beach.

"Faoiseamh a gheobhadsa
Seal beag gairid
Ar oileán mara"

Bain sult as!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rowh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Österreich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2010

One of the best B&B`s we`ve ever stayed in! Maureen gave us the feeling of being at home! Stunning views from the conservatory, where breakfast was served. The rooms were very clean and the beds were the best we ever slept in at our journeys!
We stayed 4 nights and had a very good time there - Connemara is a wonderful place to stay and we highly recommend the Seaside B&B!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonnchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gränichen
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 17, 2009

very interesting location near the seaside, no traffic noise
nice rooms with a lot of space
friendly welcome with afternoon tea
adequate price
very good breakfast

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rgeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 15, 2009

Wonderful place for a peaceful weekend get away. There are some small beaches nearby for walks and plenty of impressive scenery to take in. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dearg_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2009

This little gem is in the heart of the Irish speaking "Gaeltacht" in Connemara Co. Galway.
The house is spotless, the breakfast over-generous and the location breathtaking. The house looks straight out out over some small islands in the Atlantic - next stop U.S.A. The warm glow of the sunset in the West is only matched by Maureen's warm welcome. She makes you feel you've been friends all your life. It's well worthwhile winding your way out here.
Our Swiss friend who accompanied us on the trip cannot wait to get back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
1.5 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Roundstone House Hotel
Roundstone House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Roundstone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Wave
Atlantic Wave
#1 of 5 in Carna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
6.6 mi away
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Rossroe Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Cashel
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
6.9 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea-side B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-side B and B

Property: Sea-side B and B
Address: Mweenish Island, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside B and B is beautiful place overlooking the sea. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing