We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret, a Gem by the Sea!”
Review of Sea-side B and B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sea-side B and B
Ranked #2 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We have shared our experience with many friends and family and sent them off to find the Best kept secret of Ireland. Not only great accommodations but wonderful hosts. This was one of the highlights of our trip. Walking in the evening through the lane and down to the shoreline was very special and provided a sunset that continued to improve over the extent of the evening. Good food, a soft bed and location that makes memories, and Frank and Maureen are the real thing.
Their easy going manner and friendly interaction with guests was the best we ever experienced.
We give this B&B the highest possible recommendations and only wish you will be as blessed as we were to find such a place to rest our heads. Frank and Maureen Thanks for all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Freedom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 92 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Cannot rate this B&B high enough. From the moment we arrived Mairin and Frank welcomed us with open arms and treated us like one of the family. Rooms are fantastic and the view from the dining room is amazing. Excellent variety of food. The best place we ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a special place! Loved the view from the Blue Room, beautiful breakfast in the "glasshouse". Maureen and Frank are great hosts. The whole island has a charm of its own. Hope to visit again.
Ulrieke Kethel, Australia

Room Tip: The blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ulrieke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Thank you so much Maureen! We really enjoyed the stay.
It was the best B and B we had!

Great view and excellent service! We felt like home.

There was a nice and big vegetarian version for the breakfast ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Beautiful accommodations! Frank and Maureen are amazing host and beautiful views know matter where you look!! I wouldn't stay anywhere else :) Overall it is simply the best B and B and would recommend everyone visiting to stay at this B and B

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindsey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

After a thoroughly enjoyable stay in 2011 (see earlier review), we returned this year to Sea-Side for 3 nights, and then for another 8 nights, and were welcomed like old friends. This is a charming home well off the beaten path, with cattle in the adjacent fields and the rural quiet broken only by occasional mooing and the sound of the sea and the gulls. There are three beaches within walking distance. The tea kettle is always on, and the conversation is always entertaining. Frank has a Galway Hooker (traditional sailboat) and a fishing boat, and if you are lucky you may find fresh mackerel or crab claws or scallops for breakfast. Maureen is a wonderful hostess and a great cook, and she sets a beautiful table in the conservatory, where you have a breathtaking view of the sea and islands. You will sleep very well in comfortable surroundings and wake up to a delicious, custom-prepared breakfast. Sea-Side is truly a home away from home for us, and we hope to return again and again.

Room Tip: The blue room has a sea view and windows on two sides, but the room with the field & mountain vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saoirse48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

If you are looking for somewhere quietly located but within easy reach of the wonderful scenery of Co Galway, this is a very good place to start. Beautiful view from the breakfast room and if you go hungry, you only have yourself to blame! Thank you Maureen for our lovely cups of tea and scones in the evening - I miss them. And thank you for the handy road signs to find you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea-side B and B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea-side B and B

Address: Mweenish Island, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Price Range: $35 - $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seaside B and B on Mweenish Island is a beautiful modern B&B overlooking the Atlantic sea. If your looking for a quite place to stay with a wonderful view and a good Irish breakfast this is the place for you ! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing