We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to start exploring connemara”
Review of Atlantic Wave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Wave
Ranked #2 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at atlantic wave for 4 nights and found it a great place to stay for exploring connemara. I had a small room with own bathroom, it was perfect for my needs.Iam a vegetarian and Caitlin found plenty of substitutes for me to eat. It was a great way to start the day and after touring and walking and exploring driving back in the evening felt like going home. Staying at the atlantic wave blended perfectly with the connemara experience. Many thanks Caitlin.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 168 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

Situated with the Atlantic at the doorstep, this is a majestically situated B and B, probably the furthest outpost on the Carna peninsula into the ocean with a couple of beautiful little beaches nearby for sunset moments. The welcome from Caitlin was top-notch (she even sent a book to my home after I had left it in the room), the room spotless and the breakfast excellent.

Room Tip: Perfect for a romantic getaway or a relaxing trip away
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank findlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Atlantic Wave is superb in every way: gorgeous setting; beautiful, clean, and quiet home; delicious Irish breakfast, in dining room allowing panoramic views of surrounding area; and, best of all, a warm, generous, and thoughtful hostess who did all she could to make sure my husband and I had a lovely stay.

The temperature was in the mid 50's (degrees F) during the first day of our visit in early July, but we didn't feel any draftiness or dampness in the home. Although a storm's wind and rain woke us briefly at 3 a.m. during our first night, we felt so comfortable in our cozy, dry bedroom that we fell back to sleep immediately.

Caitlin and her husband Michael, whose families have lived in this area for generations, gladly and patiently answered our many questions about Carna and the rest of Connemara, and especially about the islands of Mweenish and Rusheenacholla. My ancestors had left these islands more than 100 years ago, yet Caitlin even directed me to a few area residents who were able to give me some information about my family!

My only regret is that we could stay here for only two nights this time. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mwburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here over Aug bank holiday weekend. Our group comprised myself (the Mammy), the Granny, my 18 year old daughter, my 17 year old son and my 7 year old son! So potentially an awkward bunch to please! However the family room was perfect for a group like us, loads of space and spotlessly clean. Caitlin the owner looked after us so well and was especially attentive to my 79 year old mother. The house is situated right beside the sea and the view is just beautiful as well as there being a magnificent garden surrounding the house. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheavey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

So clean and comfortable. Pity they wouldn't let me bring my bed home! Lovely people, Lovely place. Stunning location, very well signposted to get to the house. A Warm welcome. Home baking and preserves for breakfast. Beig me ar ais!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laoiseach65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My wife found this terrific B&B on Mweenish Island, in Carna via a TripAdvisor search. Although we booked quite late in the day, our hostess, Caitlin, was extremely gracious and welcoming. Now I'm a pretty picky traveler but I have to say I was impressed in every way with our two-night stay. The house was beautiful, spotless, and comfortable. The location is quiet, very quiet, and the ocean is just a few minutes walk away. It was such a welcomed reprieve from our previous nights on noisy streets in the cities. Caitlin's breakfast was the best I've had and she took great care that my family had exactly what we liked. She was so charming and helpful with our plans to visit the local area, and she added extra touches that most other B&B operators do not. She became an instant favorite and we will likely come back again for another visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manu204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

After a few days in Dublin & Cork we were ready to get away from the hustle & bustle of city life~& Caitlin & Atlantic Wave delivered. After looking thru TripAdvisor for a B&B we settled on Atlantic Wave~there were a few issues based on our 3rd party booking company, after our late & somewhat unexpected arrival Caitlin, took it all in stride~made us feel welcome, and accommodated our family of 4(2 adults & 2 teenagers). The Rooms & house were clean & very well kept. We had the best sleep since our arrival in Ireland(about 4 days before) that night, our morning Irish breakfast was excellent & I would say in comparison to all the b&b we stayed in during our visit, the best one. We stayed for 2 nights, a great base on which to explore Connemara ~on a island full of gems, this one certainly stands out, and I would highly recommend Atlantic Wave & Caitlin. Mahalo Nui Loa & aloha

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssdoyle68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
1.7 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
201 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
12.7 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Ballynahinch Castle Hotel
6.5 mi away
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Rossroe Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Cashel
198 reviews
6.5 mi away
Island View House B&B
Island View House B&B
#1 of 13 in Roundstone
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Wave

Address: Mweenish, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Price Range: $86 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DescriptionAtlantic Wave is a beautiful, comfortable house filled with paintings made by the owner. The B&B offers to its guests 4 comfortable rooms with sea view (2 on first floor and 2 on ground floor) and a private lounge with TV-DVD on the ground floor. Each bedroom has its own bathroom facilities. Breakfast is served in the spacious dining room and includes a large variety of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and of course the traditional Irish breakfast. You can order other combinations.The most charming about Atlantic Wave is the fact that it is only 5 minutes walking distance from the beach and it is also not too far from Twelve Bens, in southern direction. In the surroundings, the city of Clifden, with its 2000 habitants, is considered the capital of Connemara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing