We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A place to return to year after year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Atlantic Wave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlantic Wave
Ranked #1 of 5 Carna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A place to return to year after year!”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

A home from home, the accommodation was perfect, beautiful and clean. Caitlin was a fantastic host, she made me feel so welcome. The house has breathtaking views of the ocean and adjoining islands. Breakfast was delicious and set me up for the day of travelling I had ahead. I will surely return as soon as possible for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Galwaygirl1620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
54
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The Atlantic Wave has amazing views of the sea and is in the most wonderful unspoilt environment of Mweenish Island. Despite being very handy from Carna Mweenish Island feels remote and the B&B overlooks the wild Atlantic. On a sunny day it is like paradise. I hadthe
beach to myself the whole day. Caitlin is a lovely person too and will give you a warm Irish welcome and a good breakfast. My favourite place in the whole of Ireland. Lovely for peaceful walks and cycle rides by the sea with views of the mountains of Galway. I'd happily stay a fortnight just in that one place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DebTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed in a very spacious, well appointed bedroom with two double beds an En-suite bathroom. We were warmly welcomed on arrival with tea/coffee and homemade cake and had a great breakfast each morning which included homemade brown bread and scones and real coffee! The scrambled eggs are to be recommended and the Full Irish would feed you for the day. The house is in a secluded setting in a glorious windswept terrain with spectacular sea views. But what was most wonderful was the welcome. Nothing was too much trouble and we were introduced to extended family and friends whenever we met up in the local village, Carna. Excellent value for money.
We visited for Féile Joe Éiniú, the Joe Heaney Festival of traditional Sean Nós singing in Carna in May. It showcased the very best of Irish traditional music, song and dance. Not to be missed!

Room Tip: Ask the landlady for advice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cabrinidebarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast is delicious. Mynish is located next to the ocean and the rooms provide a beautiful view. Michael and Caitlin are so pleasant and accomodating. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank redlobstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

Caitlin and Michael Cloherty were wonderful friendly hosts at this beautiful B n B right on Mweenish Island. We were looking at the water and islands right out of our bedroom window. This B n B is both at 'the end of the road' but accessible, being only a few miles off of the coastal road that we were following. I felt like we were staying with family here - friendly conversation and sitting across the table talking about family and life. The breakfest was excellent with homade breads and a full "Irish plate" of eggs, suasage, potatoes, etc. The room was in 'new' condition and very comfortable. The bath was large and clean. The setting here is wonderful. This is the kind of B nB that you imagined you would stay at as you plan your trip at home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellManMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We stayed in Atlantic Wave B&B for three nights and would highly recommend it. The view is spectacular from both upstairs and downstairs. The breakfast was excellent. Caitlin is a great host. We had a lovely walk on the beach (which is within walking distance from the B & B). This is no doubt paradise and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradise068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2010

At the end of a small and beautiful island, Caitlin (and her lovely dog Sheba !) welcome you in her warm house with several very clean bedrooms "en suite". Excellent full Irish breakfast. Pub nearby. Beautiful and wild landscapes all around, beaches, horses and hair-raising windy weather !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laurent-emilie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carna
1.7 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
170 reviews
15.2 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
395 reviews
21.7 mi away
Renvyle House Hotel
Renvyle House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Renvyle
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
Connemara Sands Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ballyconneely
228 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ardagh Hotel & Restaurant
6.5 mi away
Rossroe Lodge B&B
Rossroe Lodge B&B
#1 of 2 in Cashel
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Wave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Wave

Property: Atlantic Wave
Address: Mweenish, Carna, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Carna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DescriptionAtlantic Wave is a beautiful, comfortable house filled with paintings made by the owner. The B&B offers to its guests 4 comfortable rooms with sea view (2 on first floor and 2 on ground floor) and a private lounge with TV-DVD on the ground floor. Each bedroom has its own bathroom facilities. Breakfast is served in the spacious dining room and includes a large variety of fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt and of course the traditional Irish breakfast. You can order other combinations.The most charming about Atlantic Wave is the fact that it is only 5 minutes walking distance from the beach and it is also not too far from Twelve Bens, in southern direction. In the surroundings, the city of Clifden, with its 2000 habitants, is considered the capital of Connemara. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Atlantic Wave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing