We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay”
Review of Karaun House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Clarinbridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Karaun House
Ranked #1 of 3 Clarinbridge B&B and Inns
West Sussex
1 review
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We were made to feel very welcome. The owner Teresa is a Coeliac (as was 1 of our 3 travellers).
She looked after this to a high standard during breakfast. The house and gardens are set in quiet lovely surroundings. We would not hesitate to stay there again should we tour Ireland again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer_bush1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay with Teresa at Karaun House on St Paddy's Day. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and our hostess was most charming and friendly. Teresa fixed us a great breakfast with homemade breads and hotcakes. If you are lucky, and it's a special occasion, perhaps she will give you some apple tart!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bankerjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

"We found the Karaun House, a wonderful B&B in Clarenbridge (also spelled Clarinbridge), near the city of Galway, from The Irish Tourist Board's list of approved accommodations. The B&B host, Teresa O'Dea, was so warm and friendly, and eager to do anything that would make our stay in the Galway area a special one. The B&B house is very attractive and well appointed and our room was very pretty, spacious, comfortable, and clean. We had fabulous breakfasts every day overlooking a beautiful garden. We always enjoyed exploring the city of Galway during the day, and we loved the quiet of the Clarenbridge (Clarinbridge) area at night with great seafood restaurants nearby. Karaun House's rates are much lower than rates for accommodations in the city of Galway. The location of this B&B is very accessible to the city of Galway -- a 15-20 minute drive away. (We would recommend that anyone who wishes to take a boat to the Aran Islands while staying at the Karaun House, skip breakfast and get an early start). We hated to leave Teresa and her wonderful home. What a fabulous B&B this is!" http://www.karaun.com/

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DenverDebbyColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micigan
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2009

We have stayed at Karaun house on 2 seperate trips to Ireland. Teresa and Denny (owners) make sure your stay is exactly what you want. It's better than staying with friends. It's a great place to stay when flying in or out of shannon airport. Some places within easy driving distance: Galway city, Cliffs of Moher, Connemara and Kylemore Abbey. Karaun house is within walking distance of some great views, restaurants, and friendly pubs. Teresa makes one of the best Irish breakfasts we had. They welcome you there like you are family. We can't say enough- it's a wonderful place to spend your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swampyrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clarinbridge
4.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,095 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,703 reviews
4.2 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,166 reviews
3.3 mi away
Oranhill Lodge
Oranhill Lodge
#1 of 9 in Oranmore
857 reviews
9.4 mi away
Sea-Breeze Lodge
Sea-Breeze Lodge
#3 of 188 in Galway
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaun House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaun House

Property: Karaun House
Address: Stradbally North | Clarinbridge, Clarinbridge, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Clarinbridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Clarinbridge
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free wifi throughout our home. Free tea-making facilities in all rooms. Long-established, recently redecorated bed and breakfast in the Irish countryside, just a short stroll from the seaside. A warm home set in the Irish countryside, yet just a 15 minute walk from Clarinbridge and some excellent restaraunts. 20 Minutes drive from Galway city. A great base for exploring the burren and County Clare, Connemara, and the Aran Islands. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Karaun House Ireland/County Galway - Clarinbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing