We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Caherlistrane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lisdonagh Manor House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherlistrane
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We have recently returned from a holiday in Ireland. We stayed at Lisdonagh House again.
The ambiance was great,an oasis of calm in a frantic world, and a wonderful location for exploring Galway and Connemara. It was lovely to wake up in the morning in the depths of the Irish countryside and see a beautiful view of Lough Hackett outside one’s window. The food was delicious and the baking was wonderful. Finola and John are great hosts and have a wonderful team. Our expectations were surpassed in every way. This is a heritage house with character. We were a party of eight and felt in the lap of luxury and also totally chilled out. We would definitely recommend it and will return at some point in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2009

We stayed one night. 5 course dinner was really delicious, minimal wine choice but wine very reasonably priced. Breakfast fabulous, lots of fruit (raspberries, blackberries etc), jams, yoghurt and granola plus full irish breakfast cooked to order. Would have rated excellent overall, but found it quite pricey for current economic climate considering the lack of facilities eg a spa, pool etc (which I'd expect in this price bracket). However, Lisdonagh is very uniquely charming and we've recommended it to relatives who've also gone and loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelling_Light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2009

The location, the owners website, inclusion in Ireland's Blue Book, all this would suggest Lisdonagh House as the ideal gathering place for a special family celebration. The reality was a huge disappointment all the greater for having seen all of this in advance. This owners of this place should be ashamed.
Gourmet cuisine was completely absent and had been replaced by cheap poor quality dishes - the 'special' dinner was just embarrassing. Breakfast was just a selection of cereal, fruit, bread and scones, nothing cooked at all.
Bedrooms, whilst impressive in size upstairs were small and damp downstairs. My room was well furnished with a great view, but it was poorly maintained. It had a broken hair dryer - dangerous in the bathroom with exposed wires - notified to owner but not rectified. It also had a broken child's bed which folded up with my son in it!
The owner whilst superficially courteous did not seem to care if we we happy or not despite the considerable amount paid for sole use of the property all weekend.
In short, this place was disappointing in the extreme and soured what should have been a very special weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sennockred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cuke, Owner at Lisdonagh Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2009

We thank you for your review which is one of four relating to the same
booking First of all, let me say how very disappointed and surprised we are to read such negative comments which are at variance with the general satisfaction expressed at the time. Lisdonagh house is an early Georgian Heritage house which
has been restored to the highest Irish tourist board standard for a County house.
Accomodation is available on a room by room basis whereby one can book a room with breakfast and stay with unrelated guests OR It can be rented on an exclusive
Self-catering basis whereby only one party stays in the house. The latter option was selected by this party. In that arrangement, all additional services, supper , dinner etc are offered and charged on a per person basis The group organiser had indicated that the group was on a tight budget. She had expressed her absolute
satisfaction to me personally regarding both the dining experience for supper on the
friday night and dinner on the Saturday night. Naturally , it is distressing to read a different account subsequently. I can only surmise that there was a breakdown in communication between the group members which lead to dissatisfaction with everything. I would hope that anyone reading such negative comments would measure them against the other very positive reviews on your site.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2009

Contrary to some other reviews, I found Finola and John to be wonderful. They were gracious, always available and very helpful. My kids loved the horses and the walking was terrific. It was relaxing and perfect for an Ireland trip. We rented out the main house for our whole family.

The rooms are large and the home is beautiful. The food was great. Also, John helped get us set to fish right on the property and helped us ride many times. Even my 1 1/2 year old loved riding. Finola cooked wonderful dinners and breakfasts every day. We couldn't have been more pleased with the service. They were exceptionally kind to our very rambuncious children. Additionally, they set up dancers and singers for our final night at the house.

My only reservation in recommending this manor is that the rooms were simply not cleaned to a level that I find necessary. There were spiders and cobwebs in the corners. (Finola- get a better house keeper!). Also, we were a bit removed from activities. Galway was about 30 minutes away and Cong was about 20 minutes away. Although there is a cute little town, it's not much. That said, I loved that it was totally in the country and waking up to freshly baked muffins overlooking the horses was an amazing way to start the day!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4kidsintow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at Lisdonagh! Our family group of 23 rented out the entire property for a week and enjoyed every minute in the beautiful Irish countryside. The house has been restored with great care and attention to detail. Each room has its own unique charm furnished with antiques as well as modern comforts.

The owners Finola and John were so kind and made us feel very welcome. They wanted to make sure to allow our group privacy but were quick to help out whenever we had a question or need.

Although we cooked for ourselves for most of the week, we treated ourselves to two dinners prepared by the chef and only wish that we had done more! The dinners were delicious and were such a special treat allowing our group to simply enjoy our stay.

We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank love2travel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Would not stay at this property again. Very disappointed

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NewJerseyTheMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

We travel to Europe each year to conduct retreats for professional, executive couples. We rent castles or mansions that are considered 5 star properties. Lisdonagh Manor was truly exceptional in every way.

All the committments and pre-retreat arrangements were fulfilled and even better than we excpected. The owners personally worked with us on every aspect to make our stay at Lisdonagh a remarkable experience - even arranging for local entertainment that came to the house for our group.

The bedrooms were large and filled with antique furniture and art. The other rooms were beautiful - the living room worked very well for our retreat gatherings (8 - 9 couples). The grounds wers magnificent, and the group enjoyed personalized outdoor activities such as horse back riding and fishing.

The staff was most pleasant and always willing to serve. The house was always spotless and our rooms cleaned every day.

The meals were some of the highlights of our retreats. The staff prepared breakfast every day, and for dinners we experienced the creations of an exceptional live-in chef. We selected the menus and He and his staff prepared food that would be considered equal to a five star restaurant (at much less price), along with presentation of the food that blew us away.

We have done these retreats in many different countires with different houses/staffs. Lisdonagh is now ranked at the top. We would return in a heart beat - We cannot say enough about how wonderful this time was for our groups. It truly was exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Retreat_Host
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lisdonagh Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisdonagh Manor House

Address: | nr Headford, Caherlistrane, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Caherlistrane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Caherlistrane
Price Range: $165 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Lisdonagh Manor Hotel
Lisdonagh Manor House Ireland/Caherlistrane, County Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing