We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Inishmann B&B and Inns
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Magical place”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I found my stay peaceful and relaxing. The island is a must see for people wanting to walk unwind and relax. The hosts were very accommodating and their breakfasts and dinner were wonderful. Therese helped us book onto our next stop. Thank you and would recommend this restful stop Wifi in the warm inviting sitting room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    12
    0
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
42
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Goshen, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were so looking forward to staying at this beautiful B & B with great anticipation. You have to take the ferry from the mainland, and based on the time schedule of the ferry, we expected our ESTIMATED arrival time to be about 3 p.m, which we had communicated with the owner, Mrs Teresa Faherty, weeks ago. However we did not arrive until 4 p.m (because of the ferry, which we had no control over) and Teresa had sold our room to someone else! Mind you, we were ONE HOUR past our ESTIMATED time of arrival! She was very quick to sell our room to someone else. She didn't even wait for the last ferry to arrive before giving up our room (which was the 3:30 p.m ferry) According to Ireland B & B we had till 6 p.m before that could happen. She bought our voucher for E60, but was unwilling to pay any difference if our replacement accommodation was more. Thankfully the island hotel graciously accepted the E60. Teresa mentioned that many places don't accept vouchers because the "middle man" get a fee, and they don't make that much. We believe she had an opportunity to sell our room for a higher price, and that may be the reason she was so quick to give up our room. I don't know what we would have done if there were no rooms available on the island because there were no more ferries that day. One thing we learned about this whole experience is to email each B & B the day before arrival and let them know your ETA, and make it late enough so this doesn't happen again. This incident was at the beginning of our stay in Ireland, and subsequent B & B's really appreciated our communicating with them.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bblosse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HINESBURG
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at An Dun in September, 2013 and our expectations were exceeded on every level. Our room was spotless and comfortable, the shower lovely and the views from our windows were stunning. Teresa and Padraig were warm osts who saw to our every need and anticipated what we didn't yet know we needed. The meals were outstanding, varied and made with pride. Even a lowly end-of-season turnip was turned out so that it wonderful sweetness was fully realised. We'll not soon forget An Dun and the magic of Inismeain.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karents435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our trip to Inis Meain last August was a great experience, partly because we enjoyed this B&B so much. The owners were very kind and welcoming, the rooms were simple but nice and comfortable with an incredible view on the island and the sea. so relaxing!
The food was gorgeous, all homemade and grown on the island and perfectly cooked and prepared. The dinner and breakfast were just superb. This b&b was a real pleasure and it was good value as well. One of the best b&b's I have been to in Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ndsqndq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our second visit to Inis Meain and first to An Dun, but we will be back. Three fantastic days in early July, warm, cloudless days of endless sunshine, we were lucky with the weather.

An Dun is a real find, lovely people running a small B&B high on the island with great views.

Great food, we had dinner on all three nights, once outside on a balmy evening. The fish was great and we would have selected that each evening. Breakfasts very good, fruit, cereals, eggs etc. Lovely bread with everything. On two of our days we eat lunch in An Dun which is a measure of how we regarded the food.

Inis Meain might not be for everybody, but we wanted peace, tranquility, sea, walks, walls and to get away from everything - and we certainly got that.

So, we would fully recomend An Dun and we will be going back ourselves.

One tip: take the taxi from the ferry, we chose to walk the few Km on one of the rare days of 25C - not the smartest idea, we did take the taxi back to the early boat a few days later after a special early breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mnowlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped only for lunch, but it was worth it.
The chowder was very very good (one of the best ever) and the carrot cake lovely.
Looking at the menu the dinner should be also quite good.
The place to go in Inis Meain, both for accomodation and for eating

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Me and my husband stayed there for a night in July 2009. And you see - so many years after I still feel like writing raving review about this place:) I don't think this B&B was here on TripAdvisor at that time, that's why I didn't do a review right away. Usually we stay in big chain hotels. But here in Inish Meain (though there are no chain hotels- to begin with :) I chose this place, as I thought it would be really great "authentic" kind experience. And it was! The owners are very nice people, we really enjoyed communicating with them. The room was very clean and nice. The food was just wonderful! All I can say about this place comes with exclamation sign. I would highly recommend it. It was one of the most romantic hotel stays in my life!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ItsmeJoie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmann
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Creagan B&B
An Creagan B&B
#4 of 8 in Inisheer
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
Aonghasa’s Walkers Lodge
#3 of 4 in Inishmore
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant

Property: An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Address: Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmann
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmann
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Dun Bed & Breakfast And Restaurant Ireland/Aran Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing