We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best b&b on our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 4 Inishmann B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed here with my 15 year son and our stay was great in every way. Our room was comfortable, good size, with great views too. We were looked after so well. Apart from our room, there was a room down the hall with a fridge and tea & coffee making facilities for use at any time. I honestly can't remember if there was a kettle in our room but it's nice to sit comfortably at a table anyway, especially during the day between outings/meals, etc

We had dinner here too and had too book which was fine. There were only a few tables, the food was fresh, local, good standard and service just right. My son has limited diet and this was not a problem/issue, no drama - such a treat.

We'd both stay here again and hope it won't be long. Thanks.
It did take me some time to register so it was actually August 2010!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angelaswlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
There are newer reviews for An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 79 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

Well, if you want to enjoy something special - special place, special accommodation, special dinner and reasonable prices, you have just one choice in county Galway - Inis Meain and An Dun B&B!

The place is somehow "electrical" - at the beginning you might say - so what - just walls - but if you go along for 5 hours and you know that nobody knows the real purpose of the walls for sure, you feel sort of "terrified" and than the windmill begins to move and you hear the noise of it + the sea + no people around = amazing!

One recommendation, do not try to find a short cut across the walls...

And at the end of the day you meet very nice people - Teresa/Padraig in An Dun BB and you have something delicious for dinner = just a perfect day!

Jiri/Gerry/Prague/Czechland

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jiri_Gerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is the perfect spot for you to stay while exploring Inis Meáin.

We were there for two nights and couldn't have felt more welcome and comfortable. Our room was great -- my favorite during our trip to Ireland -- and the food was terrific. To have some home cooking while on the road is a real treat.

I would return again in a minute, and have no doubt that you would enjoy your visit. My only regret is that I could not stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rmadeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

and Padraig for your hospitality. You were ever so helpful on our recent week on Inis Meain. Dinner was delicious...soup from the garden, vegetables and the beef stew! Now to the tart, mouth watering and fabulous homemade lemon ice cream with a drizlze of caramel. Oh my!
All this when season is over, and you had no other guests!
I look forward to seeing you again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

We came across An Dun after a long walk on the island and as it looked quite busy we figured it might offer something to sate our appetites. It is a small restaurant and part of a B and B. The offerings for lunch were posted on a blackboard. Soup-minestrone and toasted sandwiches, smoked salmon and tuna salsa. The cakes in the glass case looked tired and old and not at all appetizing. We ordered the tuna salsa and decided to sit outside on a deck that on a warm sunny day would be very pleasant. The server brought out the tuna salsas which consisted of small mounds of canned tuna fish on dry scones with about six tiny diced pieces of red pepper which I guess was supposed to be the salsa. I requested napkins from the server and she returned with those. All in all I would say that for four euro and fifty cents the offering was a complete disgrace. I would suggest that whoever does the lunch menu here google some recipes and start all over. Believe there are so many more options to a can of Tuna that what was presented to us here. Next time I will bring my own can of tuna to Inis Meain!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This was part of a short break for my holiday that I planned with my husband.
We travelled to Inis Meain from Doolin - because we had been in Clare the night before and couldn't make it to Rosaveel in time.
We arrived and there was a guy who runs a taxi service at the pier. He brought us up to An Dún - it cost 10 Euros - Five each.
When we arrived our room wasn't ready but the hospitality certainly was Padraig welcomed us and gave us tea and homemade scones and made us very welcome - giving us a map of the island.
The island is so worth visiting - it is magical. The walks are varied and amazing - for such a tiny island there are micro climates and different aspects around every corner.
It is a Gaeltacht and if you make an effort people are delighted to chat back, which I haven't found to be the case in every Gaeltacht.
It is a very very friendly place.
Teresa made us dinner that night - and put on a lovely birthday desert for us - there were two other couples for dinner and it was so nice. The dinner came with veggies and herbs from Teresa's organic garden which you can see from the dining room.
The room was very spacious with incredible views a great hot power shower, no TV just a radio - adding to the sense of relaxation and getting away from it all. We both slept like logs and felt so refreshed in the morning.
The house is spotless but very homely.
Breakfast was fresh as a daisy - Fresh juice, Granola, fruit all waiting for us and freshly baked bread, big yellow organic eggs and great big fresh bacon. Hot cafetiere of coffee topped it off.
We had to wait for the tides to leave. Teresa and Padraig kept us up to date on what time that would be and Padraig left us down when the ferry came back.
We had thought we would be back to the mainland at lunchtime - we didn't get back until 5.30pm because of the tides (The Rossavell ferry is not tide dependent) - so if you take the Doolin ferry be prepared for delays and don't have to go too far once you get back (we had to be back in Belfast for work and the school run the next morning).
A magical trip and cant wait to bring the kids back next time and will def be staying in An Dún.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Dub71_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

Made a return visit to An Dun with a group of Book Club friends, and we really enjoyed the comfort of the house, and hospitality of Teresa and Padraig....with tea and biscuits on arrival as nothing else open on the island until the pub opened at 3pm - toasted sandwiches available. An Dun open their own cafe in June. Rooms very comfortable with great views - nice little sitting room for guests to use - useful when the weather is bad. TVs in some rooms. An Dun also offer good value evening meals. They also have a steam room. Be sure and visit Synge's cottage next door and chat to Ciaran...check out opening times on gate. Make sure to vist the Dun opposite the B&B also. The pub is pleasant for a drink in the evening, and be sure to pop in to Inis Meain Knitwear outlet shop for great bargains. Inis Meain is a super little island for a quiest get away...if you are looking for more action, then opt for Inisheer or Inis Mor.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Widget123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmann
0.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
421 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 20 in Inishmore
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 20 in Inishmore
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 20 in Inishmore
146 reviews
0.0 mi away
An Creagan B&B
An Creagan B&B
#4 of 8 in Inisheer
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant

Address: Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmann
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmann
Price Range: $105 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Dun Bed & Breakfast And Restaurant Ireland/Aran Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing