We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect respite. Thoughtful small touches.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inishmann
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites
Ranked #1 of 4 Inishmann B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Third visit. It just gets better. Attention to detail is everywhere. Relaxed ease with the service. Insights and experiences are authentic to the island, the food , preparation and sights making the stay so memorable.

First class bikes to tour on are provided, packed lunch delicious. You end up trusting them on recommendations and choices. Ruairi is updating the landscaping with his unique aesthetic that is loyal to the location and property.

Lobster, monkfish exceptional. Wine recommendations hit the spot. Breakfast choices refreshingly new. No trad irish fare, focus is on taste and combinations delivered on the best breakfast tray we have had.

Our daughters taste was accommodated with no fuss age seven. Barry, Salog and the de Blacams were considerate warm hosts. Ruairi picked us up and dropped us to the airstrip.everything taken care of with ease and help was everywhere.

Treat yourself to this perfect respite. You will be refreshed and inspired.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 152 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ate at the restaurant last year and the food and service is superb, particularly the wonderful fresh fish; Ruairi and Marie Therese have created a place that Inis Meain can be proud of. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodluvr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Last spring I read an article in a Finnish magazine about Inish Meain and this incredible hotel. I instantly started dreaming of a different summer holiday on this rough-looking and edgy island – and booked the trip.

Inish Meain Suites & Hotel provided a true retreat. We flew to Dublin, spent a few days there, took a bus, another and a ferry and finally arrived to Inish Meain. The welcome was warm and friendly. A car took us to the hotel and the owner Marie-Therese was waiting for us there with two glasses of sparkling wine. Nice.

When I entered our room I almost started to cry. The panoramic window offered amazing scenery. The room had everything we could have wished for. Minimalistic furniture, soft bathrobes and flippers, lovely cashmere shawls and a mini-deli full of gourmet goodies.

Every morning when you woke up there was a lovely breakfast tray waiting for you full of organic delicacies. A few hours later a backpack with lunch soup and warm bread appeared into the entrance hall. Everything well planned for your needs!

The dinners at the Inish Mean Restaurant were every time the highlight of the day. Simple and beautiful dishes full of pure flavours e.g. I never knew that grated carrot could taste so wonderful!

We spent four days hiking and biking around the island and had one lovely night at the local pub drinking Jameson with the locals.

I truly recommend this wonderful hideaway for an alternative honeymoon, anniversary or birthday.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank piaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A great island with the best accommodation I have stayed anywhere in the world. The hosts are lovely and the locals are so friendly, the food incredicle and the packed lunch every day is perfection. The pub up the road is lively, with sing-alongs and Irish Flair.The best Guinness in Ireland. We stayed in the apartment, and although expensive, worth every penny. Thanks for an amazing one-off expereince.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caitlinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our second visit. Wonderful bedrooms with huge 25 feet windows and amazing views. The sky is delightful and ever changing. Rory and Marie Therese are incredible hosts. The fish is excellent for dinner with a wide selection of wines.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drwinbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've been wanting to stay here for some time - well worth the wait. This is a truly unique experience. Wonderful, warm Irish hospitality and stunning architecture in a wild, unspoilt landscape. The de Blacams and their team are professional and charming, the food home grown, artisan and delicious, the breakfasts and picnic lunches just perfect. If you're looking for a real Ireland holiday experience or just a getaway into nature, look no further.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clontarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband, 20 month old son and I stay four nights in the Inis Meain Apartment and it was amazing. The apartment provided unparalleled views and ample space to relax and enjoy the scenery with an amazing breakfast assortment and hot lunches delivered to our door – all inclusive. With bikes included as well, there is little more you need to enjoy the island.

Dinner in the restaurant (or delivered to the apartment one course at a time) was amazing – I understand why the Financial Times ranked them one of the top 12 restaurants in the world!

What really made the difference is the service. Marie Therese went well above and beyond any expectations I had, even for a 5 star hotel. She provided cot, baby monitor and a baby sling to help lighten our load! My sister and brother-in-law brought their 20 month old and 5 year old boys. Marie Therese found a bike for the 5 year old (and replaced it with another bike when it was too big!) and a toddler trailer so we could enjoy seeing the island from bikes. She also helped shuttle us to and from the ferry so we could have a day out on the smaller island where there are horse and cart rides, a large beach and an amazing playground.

The Aran Islands provide an amazing opportunity to escape to a remote and beautiful environment, far from the maddening day to day of city life. Inis Meain allows you to enjoy that rugged landscape in a luxury environment with amazing food. Adding in how family friendly they are, it is a true gem!

Oh and there is also an amazing Aran island factory that sells blankets/sweaters and other knitwear made of wool/cashmere/mole hair/silk and other amazing textiles at wholesale prices. Ask at the restaurant for more information.

Room Tip: The suites are studio in style looking out over the ocean. With a fold out couch and a baby cot, my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatStan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmann
4.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
432 reviews
21.2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,805 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 21 in Inishmore
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 21 in Inishmore
142 reviews
0 mi away
An Dun Bed & Breakfast and Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#5 of 21 in Inishmore
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites

Address: Inis Meain, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmann
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmann
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inis Meain is one of the Aran Islands, 15 miles off the west coast of Ireland. It is just 3 miles across and supports 160 inhabitants. Ruairi & Marie-Therese de Blacam created Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites to enhance visitor's appreciation of the island by providing a style of accommodation and dining that is complimentary to the location. The suites are simple and understated in styling, with ample space and views. The restaurant serves mainly island-sourced food. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inis Meain Restaurant Hotel Inishmann
Inis Meain Restaurant And Suites
Inis Meain Restaurant & Suites Ireland/Aran Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing