We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic weekend in a great location, already planning our next visit.”
Review of Kilronan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilronan Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 28, 2011

Just home from an amazing weekend on Inis Mór. Kilronan hostel is the ideal place to stay. It's central to pubs, shops & restaurants. Only a few minutes walk from the pier and the beach is virtually on your doorstep. Dave the owner couldnt have been more hospitable. The dorm rooms were comfy & clean. The kitchen was well equipped & spotless. The local people were welcoming and friendly. The scenery is breath taking. Overall a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandMichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

251 - 257 of 341 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2011

Dave and his staff were all very friendly and knowledgable about what to see/do and how to get there. The vibe of the place was the same you get when you crash at a friend's house for a night. The rooms were comfortable and the location was convenient to the ferry. If your traveling to Ireland, then you should see the Arans an there is no need to stay at a hotel or b & b when you could stay here.

Thanks
Jason, Delaware, USA

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Kilronan Hostel is a perfect place for anyone looking for a good, clean place to stay and also a fun, down-to-earth atmosphere. The owner, Dave, is really cool and personable and knows a lot about what to do and how to have a good time on the island. My first stay here I ended up staying three extra days, biking around and hanging out with the staff. Now I'm back again. They have free high speed wifi and internet, the place is clean, showers are hot, breakfast is plentiful -- rooms are small but clean and the beds are comfortable. And the island itself is really, really beautiful, rain or shine.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laineashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

I gave this place two tries--once in 2009 and 2010. No better the second time around. Dirty, noisy, mold growing in the rooms. Advertised towels available but "no problem" there are none. Any problem is "no problem" meaning it is no problem for the staff because they will do nothing to correct the situation. Breakfast was awful, the worst we had in 21 days in Ireland. How about splurging and actually getting something other than the cheapest, worst white bread for toast?
The location is convenient to the ferry and the pubs and restaurants in Kilronan but I will not stay here again. Inis Mor is so lovely that it would almost compensate for staying at this place but why do that when there are other alternatives?

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MNDTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Front Office Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

This review is 7 years old. Check out the last 50 reviews to see how nice Kilronan Hostel is now!
FREE PASS TO DUN AONGHOSA FORT WORTH €5.00
FREE WI-FI
FREE BREAKFAST!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Can highly recommend the Hostel deal from Area office in Forster Street in Galway, €35 for
return ferry & 1 night Hostel.

Kilronan Hostel overlooks the beach & 5mins from pier, very handy! We were met on arrival by a friendly owner, nice welcome, he arranging bike hire for us & quick brief on hostel facilities, our room was ensuite 4 bed dorm, clean, spacious & quiet.

The kitchen & common room areas clean & very well equipped, plenty of outdoor seating to watch island life passby & awesome sunsets, free internet a bonus, good selection of books & DVDs for guest use.

Enjoying our stay, biking the island, the way to go, amazing views at your own pace, my 3rd visit to Inishmor, magic place!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhbjafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

Kilronan Hostel was one of the most impressive hostels I have stayed at in Europe - and what an experience on the magical island of Inishmor! The rooms are very clean and although not overly spacious, have attached private bathrooms which is definitely a rarity in hostels. Breakfast was excellent - the best I've had at a hostel. The staff are incredible - wonderfully helpful, friendly, and keen to take you to see the nightlife of Inishmor (of which there is plenty of!!) The hostel has a brilliant atmosphere, and great for all travellers. Most importantly the island of Inishmor is well worth the visit, and a stay at Kilronan Hostel certainly adds to an amazing stay on the island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccagraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2010

It was my first time there and the island is a great place to go if you just want to break away from everything. Heidi and Will made sure we had excellent clean rooms, offered us tea and generally made sure we were super comfortable. We had a lovely day cycling around the island and taking in the views, its so beautiful the rain didn't bother us at all..! When we went to go out later Heidi and Will advised us to go to the pub near Spar
(cant remember the name ;) ! ) and a great night was had...! thanks so much guys, we will recommend this hostel to our friends and we hope we'll see you again...!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186600Sarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.3 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
432 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 20 in Inishmore
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 20 in Inishmore
191 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 20 in Inishmore
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Hostel

Address: Kilronan Village, Inis Mor, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Inishmore
Price Range: $22 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly beside the pier on Inis Mor, Kilronan Hostel is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the magic of the Aran Islands. With stunning views of Kilronan Harbour and the Atlantic Ocean, our hostel is a stress-free zone where you can really feel at home! At Kilronan Hostel, comfort and cleanliness are our priorities. We have small dorms, all en-suite, meaning you can stay in comfort at a very reasonable price. We have a spacious and well-equipped kitchen which is open all day for your use, as well as a cosy TV room and a fantastic outdoor seating and BBQ area. Less than 5 minutes' walk to the supermarket and ATM and all the best local pubs and restaurants, we have free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel and all rates include breakfast, towels and free tea/coffee all day long. ************************************************************************ Please be aware that we cannot accept credit/debit card payments at this moment in time, so make sure to bring enough cash with you as the ATM is only accessible between 9am and 6pm! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kilronan Hotel Inishmore
Kilronan Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing