We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, peaceful spot.”
Review of Kilronan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilronan Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quiet, peaceful spot.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I had an enjoyable stay and this hostel. My room overlooked the harbor and sunrise. The sheets and room were clean, the kitchen was large and complete. The bathrooms are small but, then again it's Europe! The staff was helpful, they gave me a deal on the local bike rental at the hostels reception. The living room was well kept and clean. This is a good place to start a trip to inishmore since it's right next to the pier. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    54
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
36
24
89
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our room was above the kitchen and when we arrived around 9pm, there was a dinner in the kitchen where a group of people talked shouting at each other because the music was really loud and perhaps also because of the drinks. The staff was really helpful to give us another room. The window in the new room couldn't be closed, nor could be the bathroom door. The handle was falling out and the water in the tiny bathroom was only luke warm. Also the beds were worn out and damaged.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Director of Sales at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, January 28, 2017
This review is 5 years old, please check out the last 50 reviews for the most up to date opinion of the hostel!

Hi there, Thanks for your response.
A lot of guests eat in the kitchen when they get together. I do not think that 9 o'clock in the evening too late for guests to be eating in the kitchen and enjoying themselves.
We have since repaired the window issue that you had. We wish you had told somebody at the hostel about any problems that you had when you were here. We would advise anybody who has a problem when they are here to ask to speak to the manager, if you are not 100% satisfied after this then make a complaint on Tripadvisor. This is a great hostel with free breakfast, towels, books, Tea and Coffee...Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I stayed at Kilronan Hostel for more than a week with my friend. We were only meant to be going to Inishmore for a few days but fell in love and had to stay. The hostel overlooks the whole ocean and beach. It was so clean and the staff were brilliant. The kitchen is massive and there is a little theatre room. There is a little shop just down the road with very decent and fresh foods. Our room had wooden polished floors and we even had our own ensuite, with the most incredible views. There is so much to do on the island. We went on a little bus tour with an elderly local, it ended up just being the two of us so we had a private guided tour through the whole island for only 10 euro, he answered all our questions and told us all the local folktales. There is an incredible lighthouse to hike to and the most incredible cliffside walks all along the island. Staying at Kilronan was just such an incredible experience. I would recommend for anyone to go there. Whether you are up for hiking, sitting back and relaxing on the beach, short walks, Kilronan would make anyone happy.

Room Tip: We just had a four bedroom dorm and because it was winter we ended up having it to ourselves for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Shared room with solo travel. Easy check in/out, basic expected quality for the cheap price, friendly folk and right in the main bay where the boats arrive. Fantastic base for biking and hiking around this amazing island. I was a bit taken aback by the primitive wooden condom dispenser but I guess someone needed it. Nice attached kitchen with a TV room filled with books, can store luggage there while you are out exploring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandon Barton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The location of this hostel at the end of the pier is excellent and it seems clean. We booked a four bed room and it was a joke it was so small. Two beds is the max that should be put in this room, not four. To open the bathroom door, everyone else had to move to the window or get into the bunks. As there is a pub attached it would not be suitable for families as the noise level is excessive until the small hours. We paid 25 euro a head, which was too much for the standard we had. I have stayed in hostels on occasion in the past, but based on this experience, I won't be doing so again. Choose a B&B if you are visiting Inishmore, which is beautiful and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DubCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Owner at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this review, January 28, 2017
This review is 5 years old. Check out the last 50 reviews to see how nice Kilronan Hostel is now!
FREE PASS TO DUN AONGHOSA FORT WORTH €5.00
FREE WI-FI
FREE BREAKFAST!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just back from a great weekend on Inis Mór and if I were to go back I would definitely stay in this Hostel every time. The staff were very friendly and accommodating! The place is cleaner than some 4* Hotels ive stayed in! Its Location, veiws, facilities and staff make it a very enjoyable expierience!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Before you even get there, you will receive 3 welcoming messages from them detailing everything they have for their guests, which is a LOT (internet, bikes, full kitchen, breakfast, tv and dvd room). Clean, well organized, located in a GREAT location directly on the pier and the staff were just the friendliest bunch of people ever. This place has tonnes of personality and if you want to have a comfortable yet memorable time on the Island, BOOK HERE. Sinead and Dave, the manager and owner, are two people you also don't want to miss out on during your trip to Ireland!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TripADspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.3 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Hostel

Property: Kilronan Hostel
Address: Kilronan Village, Inis Mor, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly beside the pier on Inis Mor, Kilronan Hostel is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the magic of the Aran Islands. With stunning views of Kilronan Harbour and the Atlantic Ocean, our hostel is a stress-free zone where you can really feel at home! At Kilronan Hostel, comfort and cleanliness are our priorities. We have small dorms, all en-suite, meaning you can stay in comfort at a very reasonable price. We have a spacious and well-equipped kitchen which is open all day for your use, as well as a cosy TV room and a fantastic outdoor seating and BBQ area. Less than 5 minutes' walk to the supermarket and ATM and all the best local pubs and restaurants, we have free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel and all rates include breakfast, towels and free tea/coffee all day long. ************************************************************************ Please be aware that we cannot accept credit/debit card payments at this moment in time, so make sure to bring enough cash with you as the ATM is only accessible between 9am and 6pm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kilronan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Hotel Inishmore
Kilronan Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing