We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“aran islands: a highlight of my euro-trip. Thanks Kilronan!”
Review of Kilronan Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kilronan Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 4, 2012

upon arrivin' on the Aran islands, we dropped off our gear at the hostel (a very relaxed environment) and rented a few bikes. myself (from BC Canada) and a couple Americans I'd met the night before in Galway, biked around the island with a couple bottles of wine.. for hydration? BEAUTIFUL AREA

For the next few days the ferries could not run due to excessive windstorms which knocked out the power (but its all good the pub attached to the hostel has a generator and we all crowded in there with the locals for a hell of a good night).

The next morn, the manager of Kilronan took a few of us to the northern tip of the island while the winds blew so hard that when you jumped in the air, the wind would carry you a few feet from where you stood. huge waves, lotsa rain, and some good ol fashion outdoor adrenaline!

again, The staff of Kilronan were amazing and helpful and they themselves made my stay on the Aran Islands a true highlight of my entire euro-trip.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (343)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 343 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2011

This was the best hostel I came across during my recent travels around Europe. A handy 5 minute walk from the pier, this hostel really felt like home away from home for the days I stayed there. My room was comfortable and had ensuite bathroom facilities, which was great. The cosy TV room had loads of DVDs and books for entertainment and the pub next door was a great place to meet the locals. I rented a bike from reception and the staff gave me great tips on what to see and do on the island. To top it all off, it's not every day you come across a hostel which has swiss muesli and chocolate spread on offer for breakfast!! This hostel was the best fun and my time there "happy days".

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ganerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

I didn't enjoy my recent stay in the hostel at all. As soon as we arrived we had to wait around for about 15 minutes before being taken outside and then upstairs to a dorm. This room was then cold and the bed sheets had a damp, stale feel to them. I couldn't put up with it for a second night so we stayed in the other hostel on the island for the remainder of our vacation. I would not recommend Kilronan hostel at all. The Man working there was also quite rude but I wouldn't mind that too much.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Guest Relations Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

This review is 6 years old. Check out the last 50 reviews to see how nice Kilronan Hostel is now!
FREE PASS TO DUN AONGHOSA FORT WORTH €5.00
FREE WI-FI
FREE BREAKFAST!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

This hostel is in a perfect location but unfortunately that's about the only positive. Our room was cold and the bed sheets had random stains. Above my top bunk bed there was a large area of dark mold on the ceiling. The common area was nice but breakfast was very poor and we chose to eat elsewhere. Noise levels were high even though we visited in the off season. Really disappointed with the hostel after first reading reviews on this site.
With a little bit of work it could be good.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank bullaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David T, Front Office Manager at Kilronan Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2017

This review is 6 years old. Check out the last 50 reviews to see how nice Kilronan Hostel is now!
FREE PASS TO DUN AONGHOSA FORT WORTH €5.00
FREE WI-FI
FREE BREAKFAST!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

A great hostel. The manager, Dave, was super hospitable. He and his friends in the hostel gave us dinner, and Dave helped us find bicycles to rent. I would certainly return to Kilronan Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamPearson_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed at the Kilronan Hostel with a friend for two nights in August.

The hostel is located adjacent to the main ferry port and has spectacular views of Galway bay. Kilronan is a small village and all of the amenities are located with-in a 3/4 minute walk of the hostel.

The hostel is clean, rooms are functional and comfortable. The Irish manager and other staff were helpful and friendly. We had our own 4-bed dorm the first night and shared with two Americans the next night, all the guests at the hostel were friendly and welcoming.

Basic continental breakfast (tea/coffee, toast & cereal) was included in the price. Full Irish breakfasts are available from a number of cafés in the village. The hostel kitchen provides full facilities for cooking food which may be purchased from the local Spar supermarket.

The hostel is a great base for exploring the island by bike or on foot. We rented two bikes through the hostel for €10 each and were able to keep them overnight. The black fort is well worth a visit, we cycled there taking a packed lunch, the views are spectacular and due the location there were very few people around. We then cycled to Dun Aengus which is amazing.

Night life on the island is very lively, there’s a pub attached to the hostel that serves great Guinness. Tí Joe Watty is also worth a visit, but do ask around to see what’s on, usually one or another pub has a live music.

This was our first visit to the Aran Islands, we were both very impressed with the welcome, amenities and atmosphere. Will definitely be back and would stay at the hostel again.

Room Tip: Do ask about getting your own dorm, rates are flexible for more than one night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkwhiskers_IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just arrived back from staying 2 nights at Kilronan hostel. Great location,just off the pier and near the shop and Pubs. Free breekie was a great bonus too. The guy who runs the place was such a cool guy, so laidback and helpful !! Thanks a mill Dave, will definitly be back to visit!!

The Tullamore Girls !!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aoife1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.3 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
433 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#8 of 20 in Inishmore
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 20 in Inishmore
198 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#7 of 20 in Inishmore
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan Hostel

Address: Kilronan Village, Inis Mor, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Inishmore
Price Range: $26 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly beside the pier on Inis Mor, Kilronan Hostel is the perfect place to stay to enjoy the magic of the Aran Islands. With stunning views of Kilronan Harbour and the Atlantic Ocean, our hostel is a stress-free zone where you can really feel at home! At Kilronan Hostel, comfort and cleanliness are our priorities. We have small dorms, all en-suite, meaning you can stay in comfort at a very reasonable price. We have a spacious and well-equipped kitchen which is open all day for your use, as well as a cosy TV room and a fantastic outdoor seating and BBQ area. Less than 5 minutes' walk to the supermarket and ATM and all the best local pubs and restaurants, we have free Wi-Fi throughout the hostel and all rates include breakfast, towels and free tea/coffee all day long. ************************************************************************ Please be aware that we cannot accept credit/debit card payments at this moment in time, so make sure to bring enough cash with you as the ATM is only accessible between 9am and 6pm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kilronan Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan Hotel Inishmore
Kilronan Hostel Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing