We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional B&B on Inishmore”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ard Mhuiris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ard Mhuiris
Ranked #7 of 18 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Traditional B&B on Inishmore”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ard Mhuiris is a traditional B&B on Inishmore. It is conveniently located, just a short walk from the ferry port with signs all the way, including one on the telegraph pole at the bottom of the lane. It is within walking distance of pubs and shops. We arrived on the early ferry and the owner kindly allowed us to leave our luggage in the B&B. The room was small but adequate and warm. We had a nice sea view from our room. The shower in the ensuite was good, plenty of hot water as it was electric. There were tea making facilities in the room which was nice. The owner kindly gave us a lift to the ferry port the next morning as we were a bit late getting up after a good night at Joe Wattys! This was very good of him and beyond what could be reasonably expected so we were very grateful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    22
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
18
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked as a package deal with the ferry company so did not have any choice. It's convenient to the ferry terminal but hard to find though the locals soon directed us. Rooms are small and a bit dated - bed was short (I'm tall) and uncomfortable. Breakfast was OK. The location is the best thing about it, close to the few shops and restaurants on the island. And the price was great as a package with ferry fare booked through the ferry company. Location and price is why I'm giving 3 stars not 2

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bluemusicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Arriving by ferry to the Island we began to walk toward Ard Mhuiris only to be picked up by the owner and the friendliest man on the island! We were driven to his home and welcomed with Irish hospitality! The rooms were perfect for resting and sleep. Our host arranged a private tour of the island sharing his stories of life and island history. Breakfast was filling and tasty!
My only wish would have had more time!

Room Tip: We booked the ferry/bed and breakfast combo, excellent value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
262 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

This place was just a few minutes walk from the ferry and/or the town which was very handy. A lot of the B&Bs on Inishmor are quite far from everything else. The room was nice, although a bit cold. There was wifi but the signal was only in the sitting area, not the room. At times they were very friendly, others a touch perfunctory. I suspect they were just unusually busy at times (i.e. young baby in the house). Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovetotravel88294
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We arrived by ferry and were greeted by Mairtin the owner of Ard Mhuiris who was kind enough to drive us to the bed and breakfast. He and his wife, Cait, are very friendly and let us know what pub to visit and things to see. The location is conveniently located, with pubs and bike rental shops within walking distance. We spent three nights with them and it was lovely. There is a beautiful view of the ocean in the breakfast area. We would definitely love to return to the island and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravel88294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were welcomed by Katherine & later (accidentally) met Marty at the American bar (bad name, best Guinness) and had a great chat - very friendly fellow. I agree with most of what has been written previously, with the exception of those few who state the welcome/service was poor. I cannot imagine that. We recommend it as a great overnight on Inismore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank feendene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We arrived off the boat and walked the short distance to Ard Mhuiris. We were met by an extremely helpful and friendly hostess, Cait, who spent loads of time giving us information about the islands and recommending things to do.

The rooms were well furnished. The only issue that I would recommend that be changed is the toilet paper dispensers! Everything else is great. Breakfast the following morning was fantastic, porridge full Irish breakfast toast and coffee! We didn't have to eat again until late in the afternoon!

All in all I would definitely recommend a stay at Ard Mhuiris.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank vp102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
396 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
96 reviews
15.7 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 18 in Inishmore
86 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 18 in Inishmore
124 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#3 of 18 in Inishmore
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Mhuiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Mhuiris

Property: Ard Mhuiris
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ard Mhuiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Mhuiris Hotel Inishmore
Ard Mhuiris Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing