We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Ard Mhuiris

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ard Mhuiris
Ranked #8 of 20 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2011

when we arrived the owner never even welcome us and was very un friendly and unhelp full.The rooms were good size . There is no sign where breakfast was and she never told us when we came where it is was. it was good value for money and good location

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank juicy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
There are newer reviews for Ard Mhuiris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 94 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night in May as part of the ferry package from Rossaveal that we booked last minute. We paid 100 euros for a return ferry trip including one night accommodation for the two of us. We arrived on the first ferry of the morning and walked through some construction to get to the B&B which is about a 5-10 minute walk from the dock. The owners were just cleaning up after departing guests but had a room ready for us. The room (#2) was the smallest we encountered on our recent trip and was quite dated with a tiny bathroom but it was clean and we did have a nice, not too distant view of the sea. My husband said he saw a couple other rooms which were larger and nicer but they were already reserved. The house was a little out of the village so it was very quiet but everything in Kilronan was easily walkable which we like to do anyway.The owners we hardly saw or spoke to but they were lovely enough to offer us a ride to the ferry the next rainy morning. Because we were leaving early before their usual breakfast time we just had scrambled eggs and toast so cannot comment on the breakfast menu. It was okay for a one night visit and there does not seem to be alot of choice on Inishmore for accomodation from what we could see, so we were fine with it. I don't know if the ferry people use this place exclusively or if this just was a place with availability. Nothing memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank juanita58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting the Aran Islands. The owner, Cait, was very friendly and welcoming but seemed quite busy and distracted. The location on the edge of the centre of Kilronen was ideal for us; just a few minutes walk got us into town but we were away from most of the pub noise and other excitement. The bed was a bit hard and springy, but the upstairs room we had was quite comfortable (and small) with lovely skylight windows. We quite enjoyed our visit and would return here to stay again, as the price was quite reasonable for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YouBetula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We booked the accommodation through the ferry company, who were very helpful in making the arrangements for our overnight on the island and highly recommended Ard Mhuiris.
It was only a 5 minute walk from the ferry to the house and after a warm friendly welcome as Gaeilge we were shown to our rooms. This is a B&B and the rooms are to that standard - they were very clean and comfortable.
We came and went throughout the day and were made feel at home.
Breakfast the following morning was excellent and at very short notice the lady arranged a minibus trip around the island by Murty who was a fantastic guide - thank you.
This is what the Aran Islands is all about!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John_in_ie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

After much searching, I found the B&B that is run by my extended family. Cait & Martin are fantastic owners and went out of their way to make sure we were comfortable. Gorgeous views of the water. Rooms are clean and quaint and it was one of the best showers we had in all of Ireland. They recommended eating dinner at the American Bar (which was really the only place open) and they had the BEST fish & chips I have EVER had and the chicken kiev was delicious. Cait & Martin made us one of the best breakfasts we had....real scrambled eggs (who knew they microwaved eggs?) and picked us up and dropped us off at the pier.
Martin took us around the island and was a great tour guide.
Felt completely at home there and will definitely be back to stay with them and would recommend them to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeenerAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

Ard Mhuiris (pronounced ard moorish and roughly translated as "Morris Heights") is an adequate b&b on the remote, rustic Inismore Island, the largest of the Aran Islands. It's quiet and ordinarily located a short stroll from the pier. The big problem is that, due to construction that I'm told will last a year, it can now be reached only by a detour that involves walking from the pier all the way around the town and up a hill. When we landed, we had lunch at a restaurant before we learned of the detour. By then, all the taxis had left the pier. The inkeeper was was absent from Ard Mhuiris. My wife, who uses a cane, and I hiked laboriously to the b&b.

We had booked a Ferry-b&b package through the ferry company. I had e-mailed Ard Mhuiris and asked them to confirm arrangements but got no reply. They did not tell us about the long detour.

On a positive note, one of the island's few pubs is a short walk from the b&b. The innkeeper was nice enough to give us a quick, abbreviated breakfast before our early return Ferry and drove us to the pier.

In retrospect, I would have eliminated a night's stay on the Aran Islands from our itinerary. The only unique sight is Dunaengus, a stone-age construction that we reached by an overpriced van ride with a bored guide.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EugeneVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2009

Aran Islands is a very weird spot but so wonderfully spectactular. It is well worth the trip from the mainland. The owner was warm and friendly and was there to pick us up (even though we didnt know we had a lift). Rooms are average but i think thats everywhere. Would recommend it but more importantly Aran Islands itself. Oh ifyou stay here he recommended a great little pub around the corner and the food was fab !

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeadCougar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
423 reviews
7.2 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 20 in Inishmore
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 20 in Inishmore
135 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#7 of 20 in Inishmore
91 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ard Mhuiris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard Mhuiris

Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range: $93 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Ard Mhuiris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ard Mhuiris Hotel Inishmore
Ard Mhuiris Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing