We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Lovely Hosts and Good Breakfast”
Review of Clai Ban

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clai Ban
Ranked #9 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value, Lovely Hosts and Good Breakfast”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Ticks all the boxes for a very good B&B. A short walk (5 mins) from the pier leads to a hearty welcome from your hosts. The bedroom was perfect for what we wanted, very comfy bed, good water pressure in the shower. The breakfast is very tasty nad sets you up for the day. Tí Joe Watty (pub with good food and music) is right around the corner and great for relaxing after a day exploring the island. We booked as part of an offer through the ferry company Island Ferries.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BGPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    33
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
19
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We loved this B&B, we were booked into another place on the island but when we arrived they had never heard of us so we were very greatful the hosts of Clai Ban answered the late phone call and accommodated us. The room was modernly decorated, very clean and comfortable. We felt very welcome and the breakfast was perfect. We felt at home, absolutely no negatives!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rachtbn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Perfectly situated, great price and very clean owners so so friendly. The owner got up early the morning we were leaving and cooked us our beautiful breakfast and then drove us to the pier even though it was within a five minute walk. A true gent. Would definately recommend this to any one.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Clai Ban House at the end of Tourist season this year. The island was quiet, the tourists were few, and the weather, amazing. Clai Ban is up the hill from the harbor, on the "outskirts" of what is already a small village. It's a 5 minute walk up the hill, and to the yellow house that is Clai Ban.

Guinness the Dog greeted us at the door - a wiggly, short, stout, reddish / black dog with a spike collar (which is totally an "ironic" collar - this dog is so friendly!) I'm a dog trainer in Boston, so having this kind of greeting was absolutely welcome. It added to the cozy feeling of this B&B.

Our host was cheery, social, friendly (according to Rick Steves book, he's the friendliest B&B owner on the island, and though we have nothing to compare it to, it's easy to see how he earned this honor!), and a very good cook. Breakfast was tasty, warm, and filling! Loved the soda bread! The house was quiet (the son was playing music in the afternoon, which was lovely - but it was quiet at night and in the morning).

Clai Ban is right next to one of 3 pubs on the island, which was rather convenient for us. We were a bit sore from biking the island earlier that day, so having only a short walk (two doors!) to the pub was exactly what we needed!
I can't recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melissa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Clai Ban is a walk up from the harbor but the view is beautiful. The rooms were spotless and very nice.

I checked in to Clai Ban but never had the chance to unpack. I was called back to the States due to a serious family emergency, and the owners were SO kind and helpful. They drove me down to the harbor so I could make the last ferry off the island, having just minutes to spare. They wouldn't even take any money for their trouble, even though I never even stayed with them. I'll always be grateful for their compassion. SUPER people!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarpeDiem1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Lovely place, the owners were welcoming, beds were comfortable, the room was warm. Nice breakfast too. Its close to everything with a great pub just a couple of doors up. The shower is a little small so if you are of a larger frame it might not work for you but fine for most people. My only (minor) issue was the towels - they are the kind of towel that doesn't soak up any moisture but just spreads it around. I can't say it detracted from my stay though.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinnuvial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Clai Ban was just a name picked off the list of B&Bs on the Aran Island of Inish Mor. We selected it months before our trip and made an on-line reservation with no problem. Arriving on the Island from County Galway, I was amazed to see a vast lineup of pony carts, carriages, autos, vans and bikes greeting the ferry. We selected a pony cart - which is great fun - but not designed to carry 3 people and their luggage to the B&B's - up the hills. I recommend a car or carriage to get to the B&B, since it is a good 10 minutes - uphill from the harbor. Up a small lane, past a field and stable you come to the big front door of a large, well-kept home. The lady who greeted us was very pleasant and showed us right to our rooms, even though we were very early arriving (took the eariest ferry over instead of the later one we'd booked). Rooms are nice- particularily the top floor room (upstairs and go left). Window views of the harbor, three twin beds, TV,and a nice bathroom. Our friend took a 1st floor front bedroom which was egually nice. Basic materials but very adequate and good value for the money. Breakfast was leisurely taken and well prepared to order. Lots of travel info in the breakfast room and nice music played in the background.

Once you've settled into the B&B, then you can walk back down to Kironan town center where the shops and pubs will be of interest. But the real reason for visiting Inish Mor is to see the ancient sites. For that, you must have transportation. Bikes are out of the question if you are over 25 !! Lots of up and down hills, dodging pony carts, cars and farm equipment all the way- any probably in the rain or mist. I recommend a car, van or carriage for touring the island. Be sure to go to the old megalithic fort Dun Aengus. The Visitors and Crafts center there has the best museum in the area and this is the place to get authentic, hand made Aran sweaters and apparal. The in-town stores mostly sell excellent inports - often at cheaper prices- but not really Aran Island stuff !!! The pub a few doors away from the B&B or the American Pub in town center are great choices for food, pints and entertainment. Lunch at the cafeteria in the Dun Aengus visitor center is also excellent. Go in good weather- it can be a bit rough crossing the bay or climbing the hills in wet stormy weather. Take good walking shoes and rain gear for this part of your trip - if not for the rest.

Room Tip: Best Rooms are on the upper floor- larger and a bit newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sojourner-Texas_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
408 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pier House Guest House
Pier House Guest House
#5 of 19 in Inishmore
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
323 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clai Ban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clai Ban

Property: Clai Ban
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clai Ban 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a B & B located in the centre of Kilronan. We are a 10 minute walk from the harbour and we're a stone throw away from Joe Wattys Bar & Restaurant. All of our rooms are en-suite with tea/coffee facilities and televisions. The rate is €30 - €35 per person per night sharing and €45-€70 per night single rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Clai Ban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clai Ban Hotel Inishmore
Clai Ban Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing