We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Aran Islands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aran Islands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inishmore
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed September 29, 2008

This is a nice hotel with clean, large rooms. The more expensive rooms overlook the water, but the so-called "balcony" is actually a roof top, not private, with no seating. Also, these rooms are over the bar and the late night music might keep you awake.

The hotel was more than generous and gracious in fixing several problems with our booking.

The staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar have fine food, and you can walk to the harbor in 10 minutes.

The Aran Islands are quite beautiful and worth seeing. Book an island tour to see the main sites. You can also take some nice walks from the hotel

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    93
    38
    12
    16
See reviews for
114
128
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Stayed in The aran islands hotel on Inishmore for the 3rd year in a row. Found it excellent as usual. Pity the weather did'nt do me any favours.

  • Liked — clean
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed at this hotel two nights in May 2008. This hotel is very over priced for what you get and I would highly advise staying at a guest house or B&B on the island instead.

The hotel is very poorly lit, yes the hallways are very dark. Our room had a door that took a good bit of strength to open, the bathroom door did not properly close and there was a leaky tap in the bathroom. Do not pay extra for a balcony room. These rooms just have a door that opens onto a flat roof over the bar. It comprises of concrete slabs that are unset and have many cigarette buts lodged between them.

The food at this hotel is quite poor. Firstly if you are a visitor looking for an Irish breakfast please don't take their breakfast as what an Irish breakfast should be. The food at the bad is okay, not bad but for the price it is not great. There is a little restaurant in the main town that provides very high quality food for a low price. In the bar there are two staff members with quite poor English (they don't speak Irish either) and they are not good at dealing with large crowds (over five people).

This hotel has the potential to be a lot better however unless there are a lot of changes there is no way I would return.

The island on the other hand is very beautiful and a great place to visit in Ireland.

  • Liked — That our time there came to an end.
  • Disliked — Rooms, food, staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MunsterCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2008

My husband and I stayed here a few nights during our honeymoon. We enjoyed our stay but felt that for what we paid, it did not completely deliver. The room was OK but there were a number of things wrong in it (the door that wouldn't close because it wasn't hung right, the tap that leaked hot water constantly, the light switch that did not work). We would have expected these sorts of things to be fixed before the room was given to someone.

Another complaint was with the balcony. My husband asked if the balcony was private and was told that it was. We paid extra to have a balcony but discovered that it was a large communal space that could be accessed by anyone on that floor. I did not like the idea of anyone going past my door and peeking in. We might have saved our money had we been given the proper information.

All that said, the folks at the hotel were very nice and we enjoyed the pub and restaurant. We just feel that things could have been a bit more "together."

  • Liked — Friendly staff, good location
  • Disliked — too many fixes needed to be made on the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Social_worker_nola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rathmines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

I have never felt as relaxed or as satisfied after a weekend break in my life. The Aran Islands Hotel is somewhere I will most definitely be returning to. Since I first made contact with the hotel to make my initial enquiry the warmth of the staff was very much evident. Myself and my wife were amazed by the size of our family room, which slept the five of us so well, with fantastic bay views, where we watched the ferry's come and go. The hotel's decor was classic, inkeeping with the traditional environment with stone walls throughout the ground floor, with an open fire in the bar and fantastic artwork which is a must see in the dining room.
The food in this hotel is top class, I noticed a recommendation from the Georgina Campbell guide on the wall and I believe a recommendation from the Michelin guide 2008 was granted also, something that does not surprise me at all. The bar food is also served there all day, which I felt was above average.
There was a great atmosphere throughout the place during our stay. Customers all seemed relaxed (while they played music and sang songs during the day and night in reception), the Aran Islands will have that effect on you. Also the bar had great music on all three nights of our stay.
What most impressed me was the staff. It is a family run business, and I have never seen workers so happy to be working, each and every one would bend over backwards for their customers, offering lifts even though they don't do a taxi service, that was just one of the many things they offered.
I would highly recommend this hotel, to any type of clientele, and I honestly cannot wait to leave the manic busy Dublin city and return for another trip.

  • Liked — Friendliness of staff / food
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank tadhgmuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2008

This was such a delightful place to stay, and we'll continue coming back for years to come. We married on the Aran Islands, and this hotel hosted us and our guests. Not only were the staff INCREDIBLY attentive and hospitable, but they went over and above what was expected to truly take care of us and our guests. The rooms were clean and spacious. The view of the sea from the top floor was AWESOME, and the balcony from these rooms was so much fun. You won't find this type of hospitality in any other hotel. The pub is equally amazing. There is live, impromptu music every night that brings great vocalists and musicians locally and afar. This isn't just Ireland, it's Gaelic culture. So awesome!!!

  • Liked — magical island with so much culture and history and GREAT people
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank valarieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2007

We spent 3 nights in this fabulous hotel. We enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel was cosy and warm with an equally warm atmosphere. The staff were efficient and professional. We spent the time going for lovely walks, sightseeing and listening to traditional live music. The food was incredible. It was tasty and there was a great variety. I will definitly be returning here. I would highly recommend this hotel. It is a little piece of heaven!!

  • Liked — It was warm and cosy. The decor was so apt. I simply loved it
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne3dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
7.3 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
101 reviews
15.9 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
184 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
327 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aran Camping Glamping
Aran Camping Glamping
#2 of 4 in Inishmore
48 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#10 of 19 in Inishmore
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran Islands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran Islands Hotel

Property: Aran Islands Hotel
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aran Islands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has 22 standard en-suite bedrooms, including five magnificent kingsize bed rooms with balconies and spectacular views of Kileaney Bay and Kilronan Harbour. All bedrooms are spacious and beautifully appointed and include facilities such as Flat Screen TV, Telephone, WiFi, Trouser Press, Hair-Dryer, Tea / Coffee Making Facilities. The entire hotel is fully accessible for our disabled visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Aran Islands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aran Islands Inishmore
Aran Islands Hotel Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing