We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A must stay”
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Third year back to the island second in the Pier House, owners fully represent all that is Irish and full of welcomes, staff wonderful and the overall experience of people in the island gives you the greatest feel good feeling, the ultimate Irish holiday experience. Thanks will be back again and again and again....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    66
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
93
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pier House is aptly named. It is the first stop after the ferry. The building is new, clean , well maintained. The food is good and a drink can be had as well. The owner is very helpful. The prices are very good as well and only charged a couple of euro's for some extra children in our group who joined us for breakfast. You wont go wrong here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmfenit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We booked in here after being let down by a booking by another hotel on the Island. We were looked after by the family who run the hotel. The Restaurant was not open for season yet but we had breakfast each morning which was very nice. She looked after some of our guests who were late to come down too. She was pleasant and very jovial :)

The rooms were comfortable and there was free wifi available which was ideal.

I would reccomend people visiting the island to stay here, especially if coming by boat as the pier is right across the road! (Clue's in the name!!)

We flew to the Island on Aer Arran (http://www.aerarannislands.ie/) it cost us 40e p.p. return and it is a 9 seater plane that takes 7-8 minutes in total to get you on the island. It is a great experience and would reccomend you do this for the experience alone! When we landed we got dropped off to our hotel by one of the airport workers who had the mini bus for 5e each (includes return pick up) but the money was worth it alone for the sporadic mini tour the driver gave us on the way to the hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co limerick
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

pier house is located right in front of the pier hense the name.i found this b and b to be a lovely quiet place to stay.in the morning after a very peaceful nights sleep got a very hearty breakfast which was delicious,i would without doubt stay here again if i ever visit inis mor again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoLimerickMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband's walking range is limited, and this was right by the pier. The room was fine, the food good,the island wonderful. We took a horse cart (20E each) for a tour, and the driver changed his route so we could finish at the fort. It's quite a hike up to the fort,but worth it -standing on cliffs overlooking the ocean,in an ancient structure.The hotel lounge has big, comfortable chairsfor after-exploring rest.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dianesavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Marys
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

. After an exciting ferry ride from Doolin, it was a wonderful sight that our accommodation was near at hand. Rooms at the Pier House are modern, clean and welcoming. Our room had a double and single bed with a large bathroom with shower and a view of the pier from the window. There is no elevator and there are 13 rooms at the guest house. You are walking distance to the Aran Sweater Shop, a bike rental business, grocery and other amenities you would find in a village.There are tours of the island available by van, or the island can be explored on your own. A full Irish breakfast is included with your stay with lots of choices available. Thank you for a great first night in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnethercott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose the Pier House in Kilronan for our one night stay in Inishmore, because it had great reviews and because of its proximity to the ferry because we were leaving on the 8:15 am ferry back to Ros a Mhil. We arrived at about 11:30 am, and it was no surprise that our room was not ready yet. We were able to leave our bags in the guests' lounge, which didn't sit very well with me as I knew we would not be back for many hours as we explored the island and my iPad was in the bag. Needless to say, when we did return 7 hours later it was just as I had left it.

There are several bicycle hires right next to this B&B, as well as trap and pony rides and several bars and pubs, which overall made it a handy location. I will say that when you do rent a bike there, check your tires. Many of the tires are terribly worn and I thought that they would burst at any moment! Also, most of the seats you can just switch out... so look for one with a wider bottom ;)

We had room 4 which directly faced the ferry pier and gave us a wide view of Galway bay. We had dinner in the restaurant at Pier House and the meal we had there that night was probably the best dinner we had in all of Ireland that week. My husband had the cod and I had the chicken. The vegetables that came with it were fresh and steamed and not riddled with butter or sauce. The bread we had there was also very, very good as well.

The only negative item regarding our stay was that the full breakfast service in the morning didn't start until after our ferry departure. A continental breakfast of cheeses, cereals and fruit was available to us that morning, however. If the dinner was as good as it was the night before, the Irish breakfast was sure to be sensational as well. We would return to Pier House on a future trip.

Room Tip: No tips on the room... but you have to have dinner in their restaurant. Top class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
409 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Guest House

Property: Pier House Guest House
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Guest House Hotel Inishmore
Pier House Guest House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing