We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely homely place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 21 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

pier house is located right in front of the pier hense the name.i found this b and b to be a lovely quiet place to stay.in the morning after a very peaceful nights sleep got a very hearty breakfast which was delicious,i would without doubt stay here again if i ever visit inis mor again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoLimerickMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 198 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband's walking range is limited, and this was right by the pier. The room was fine, the food good,the island wonderful. We took a horse cart (20E each) for a tour, and the driver changed his route so we could finish at the fort. It's quite a hike up to the fort,but worth it -standing on cliffs overlooking the ocean,in an ancient structure.The hotel lounge has big, comfortable chairsfor after-exploring rest.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dianesavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

. After an exciting ferry ride from Doolin, it was a wonderful sight that our accommodation was near at hand. Rooms at the Pier House are modern, clean and welcoming. Our room had a double and single bed with a large bathroom with shower and a view of the pier from the window. There is no elevator and there are 13 rooms at the guest house. You are walking distance to the Aran Sweater Shop, a bike rental business, grocery and other amenities you would find in a village.There are tours of the island available by van, or the island can be explored on your own. A full Irish breakfast is included with your stay with lots of choices available. Thank you for a great first night in Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wnethercott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose the Pier House in Kilronan for our one night stay in Inishmore, because it had great reviews and because of its proximity to the ferry because we were leaving on the 8:15 am ferry back to Ros a Mhil. We arrived at about 11:30 am, and it was no surprise that our room was not ready yet. We were able to leave our bags in the guests' lounge, which didn't sit very well with me as I knew we would not be back for many hours as we explored the island and my iPad was in the bag. Needless to say, when we did return 7 hours later it was just as I had left it.

There are several bicycle hires right next to this B&B, as well as trap and pony rides and several bars and pubs, which overall made it a handy location. I will say that when you do rent a bike there, check your tires. Many of the tires are terribly worn and I thought that they would burst at any moment! Also, most of the seats you can just switch out... so look for one with a wider bottom ;)

We had room 4 which directly faced the ferry pier and gave us a wide view of Galway bay. We had dinner in the restaurant at Pier House and the meal we had there that night was probably the best dinner we had in all of Ireland that week. My husband had the cod and I had the chicken. The vegetables that came with it were fresh and steamed and not riddled with butter or sauce. The bread we had there was also very, very good as well.

The only negative item regarding our stay was that the full breakfast service in the morning didn't start until after our ferry departure. A continental breakfast of cheeses, cereals and fruit was available to us that morning, however. If the dinner was as good as it was the night before, the Irish breakfast was sure to be sensational as well. We would return to Pier House on a future trip.

Room Tip: No tips on the room... but you have to have dinner in their restaurant. Top class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Pier House in the family room at the end of July. The room was good and the food was excellelent. However, the owner was absolutely amazing! We checked out on our last day and left our bags there to go on a very long and wet walk up to the fort. On returning, the place was 'heaving' with people trying to get out of the rain. The owner not only let us in to get changed out of our wet clothes but gave us a room to do so; tumble dried all our wet stuff; let us stay in the residents lounge until our flight; brought us a cup of tea and something to eat; and even came in for a chat. All this when we had checked out that morning after staying only one night! We were extremely grateful and couldnt give the place a higher recommedation- very warm and welcoming-just what we wanted!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 306lesp306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited the Pier House with my wife and 19 year old son, along with my parents. We had a fantastic visit, and really enjoyed the stay. I cannot recommend this highly enough. Although this is a B&B, it is more like a small hotel. Breakfast was excellent, service was great, and rooms were very nice. The location is excellent, a very short walk from the ferry.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pier House for two nights. It's the closest accommodation to the ferry, close to cycle hire and where the minibus tours start. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable, and the food was good. Overall we thought it was excellent value for money. Thanks to Pier House and its staff for giving us a homely base for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pjthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
433 reviews
7 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
109 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 21 in Inishmore
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#7 of 21 in Inishmore
93 reviews
1 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 21 in Inishmore
149 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 21 in Inishmore
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Guest House

Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range: $99 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Guest House Hotel Inishmore
Pier House Guest House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing