We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right by the pier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pier House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Passaic Park, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“right by the pier”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My husband's walking range is limited, and this was right by the pier. The room was fine, the food good,the island wonderful. We took a horse cart (20E each) for a tour, and the driver changed his route so we could finish at the fort. It's quite a hike up to the fort,but worth it -standing on cliffs overlooking the ocean,in an ancient structure.The hotel lounge has big, comfortable chairsfor after-exploring rest.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dianesavona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    66
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
36
93
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

. After an exciting ferry ride from Doolin, it was a wonderful sight that our accommodation was near at hand. Rooms at the Pier House are modern, clean and welcoming. Our room had a double and single bed with a large bathroom with shower and a view of the pier from the window. There is no elevator and there are 13 rooms at the guest house. You are walking distance to the Aran Sweater Shop, a bike rental business, grocery and other amenities you would find in a village.There are tours of the island available by van, or the island can be explored on your own. A full Irish breakfast is included with your stay with lots of choices available. Thank you for a great first night in Ireland.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnethercott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose the Pier House in Kilronan for our one night stay in Inishmore, because it had great reviews and because of its proximity to the ferry because we were leaving on the 8:15 am ferry back to Ros a Mhil. We arrived at about 11:30 am, and it was no surprise that our room was not ready yet. We were able to leave our bags in the guests' lounge, which didn't sit very well with me as I knew we would not be back for many hours as we explored the island and my iPad was in the bag. Needless to say, when we did return 7 hours later it was just as I had left it.

There are several bicycle hires right next to this B&B, as well as trap and pony rides and several bars and pubs, which overall made it a handy location. I will say that when you do rent a bike there, check your tires. Many of the tires are terribly worn and I thought that they would burst at any moment! Also, most of the seats you can just switch out... so look for one with a wider bottom ;)

We had room 4 which directly faced the ferry pier and gave us a wide view of Galway bay. We had dinner in the restaurant at Pier House and the meal we had there that night was probably the best dinner we had in all of Ireland that week. My husband had the cod and I had the chicken. The vegetables that came with it were fresh and steamed and not riddled with butter or sauce. The bread we had there was also very, very good as well.

The only negative item regarding our stay was that the full breakfast service in the morning didn't start until after our ferry departure. A continental breakfast of cheeses, cereals and fruit was available to us that morning, however. If the dinner was as good as it was the night before, the Irish breakfast was sure to be sensational as well. We would return to Pier House on a future trip.

Room Tip: No tips on the room... but you have to have dinner in their restaurant. Top class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Pier House in the family room at the end of July. The room was good and the food was excellelent. However, the owner was absolutely amazing! We checked out on our last day and left our bags there to go on a very long and wet walk up to the fort. On returning, the place was 'heaving' with people trying to get out of the rain. The owner not only let us in to get changed out of our wet clothes but gave us a room to do so; tumble dried all our wet stuff; let us stay in the residents lounge until our flight; brought us a cup of tea and something to eat; and even came in for a chat. All this when we had checked out that morning after staying only one night! We were extremely grateful and couldnt give the place a higher recommedation- very warm and welcoming-just what we wanted!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 306lesp306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
206 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited the Pier House with my wife and 19 year old son, along with my parents. We had a fantastic visit, and really enjoyed the stay. I cannot recommend this highly enough. Although this is a B&B, it is more like a small hotel. Breakfast was excellent, service was great, and rooms were very nice. The location is excellent, a very short walk from the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pier House for two nights. It's the closest accommodation to the ferry, close to cycle hire and where the minibus tours start. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable, and the food was good. Overall we thought it was excellent value for money. Thanks to Pier House and its staff for giving us a homely base for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here during a week long cycling trek of western Ireland. We thought is was a very good choice. It's literally right off the pier coming off the ferry which was handy as we had our bikes and luggage in tow. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very pleasant and well maintained. Unlike alot of hotels, it had some charm and a large bath. Very cozy and a nice view. The communal sitting room was inviting and comfotable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was some of the best seafood we had on the trip. I had Monk Fish in Thai sauce and my wife had Cod. Both were excellant. The service was terrific and the setting enjoyable. The location is good and eveything you might need is close - other restaurants, bike rentals, shops, a large grocery and, of course, ice cream. It was a good experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EZReach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
408 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hotel Inis Oirr
Hotel Inis Oirr
#1 of 1 in Inisheer
100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ard Einne Inn
Ard Einne Inn
#8 of 19 in Inishmore
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kilronan Hostel
Kilronan Hostel
#1 of 4 in Inishmore
323 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
231 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clai Ban
Clai Ban
#9 of 19 in Inishmore
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Guest House

Property: Pier House Guest House
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pier House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Guest House Hotel Inishmore
Pier House Guest House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing