We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and Comfortable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pier House Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pier House Guest House
Ranked #5 of 19 Inishmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simple and Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

We chose the Pier House in Kilronan for our one night stay in Inishmore, because it had great reviews and because of its proximity to the ferry because we were leaving on the 8:15 am ferry back to Ros a Mhil. We arrived at about 11:30 am, and it was no surprise that our room was not ready yet. We were able to leave our bags in the guests' lounge, which didn't sit very well with me as I knew we would not be back for many hours as we explored the island and my iPad was in the bag. Needless to say, when we did return 7 hours later it was just as I had left it.

There are several bicycle hires right next to this B&B, as well as trap and pony rides and several bars and pubs, which overall made it a handy location. I will say that when you do rent a bike there, check your tires. Many of the tires are terribly worn and I thought that they would burst at any moment! Also, most of the seats you can just switch out... so look for one with a wider bottom ;)

We had room 4 which directly faced the ferry pier and gave us a wide view of Galway bay. We had dinner in the restaurant at Pier House and the meal we had there that night was probably the best dinner we had in all of Ireland that week. My husband had the cod and I had the chicken. The vegetables that came with it were fresh and steamed and not riddled with butter or sauce. The bread we had there was also very, very good as well.

The only negative item regarding our stay was that the full breakfast service in the morning didn't start until after our ferry departure. A continental breakfast of cheeses, cereals and fruit was available to us that morning, however. If the dinner was as good as it was the night before, the Irish breakfast was sure to be sensational as well. We would return to Pier House on a future trip.

Room Tip: No tips on the room... but you have to have dinner in their restaurant. Top class!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    61
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
86
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Pier House in the family room at the end of July. The room was good and the food was excellelent. However, the owner was absolutely amazing! We checked out on our last day and left our bags there to go on a very long and wet walk up to the fort. On returning, the place was 'heaving' with people trying to get out of the rain. The owner not only let us in to get changed out of our wet clothes but gave us a room to do so; tumble dried all our wet stuff; let us stay in the residents lounge until our flight; brought us a cup of tea and something to eat; and even came in for a chat. All this when we had checked out that morning after staying only one night! We were extremely grateful and couldnt give the place a higher recommedation- very warm and welcoming-just what we wanted!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 306lesp306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunboyne, Ireland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I visited the Pier House with my wife and 19 year old son, along with my parents. We had a fantastic visit, and really enjoyed the stay. I cannot recommend this highly enough. Although this is a B&B, it is more like a small hotel. Breakfast was excellent, service was great, and rooms were very nice. The location is excellent, a very short walk from the ferry.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Pier House for two nights. It's the closest accommodation to the ferry, close to cycle hire and where the minibus tours start. We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful, our room was clean and comfortable, and the food was good. Overall we thought it was excellent value for money. Thanks to Pier House and its staff for giving us a homely base for a memorable visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pjthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I spent one night here during a week long cycling trek of western Ireland. We thought is was a very good choice. It's literally right off the pier coming off the ferry which was handy as we had our bikes and luggage in tow. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was very pleasant and well maintained. Unlike alot of hotels, it had some charm and a large bath. Very cozy and a nice view. The communal sitting room was inviting and comfotable. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and it was some of the best seafood we had on the trip. I had Monk Fish in Thai sauce and my wife had Cod. Both were excellant. The service was terrific and the setting enjoyable. The location is good and eveything you might need is close - other restaurants, bike rentals, shops, a large grocery and, of course, ice cream. It was a good experience.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank EZReach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

The guesthouse is in a great position facing the pier so you can't miss it. We arrived well before check-in time but there was no problem. There was a stunning view from the room. The room itself was clean(the shower could do with being replaced though) and the beds were comfortable..although we spent very little time in the room due to the fantastic weather! The information folder in the room makes it very clear that they do not tolerate noise...no hens and stags allowed!
We did not have dinner in the restaurant but it was very busy when we returned that evening.We did have breakfast the following day which consisted of a small selection of cereals, youghurts, fruit, smoked salmon and brown bread.The obligatory 'Full Irish' was also on offer. There are several bike hire outlets very close to the guesthouse and this is the perfect way to see the island.For those who do not wish to cycle there were horse and traps for hire across from guesthouse and also minibuses.
The very well stocked supermarket is only 5 minutes walk away. Plus there are a few pubs close by. We booked directly though the guesthouse and were charged €45 per person for 1 night in June 2012

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wibblywobblyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We had booked this B&B before the last review and upon reading it we were a little nervous, however we were quickly put at ease on arrival. It was so easy to find and such a convenient location just of the boat. We were checked in by an older lady who was very friendly and accommodating. The room was warm and cosy and exactly what we wanted to fit in with the atmosphere for the Aran Islands, and the view from the room was lovely.We spent the day exploring the Island by bike and visited Dun Aengus which was AMAZING. Next morning we had breakfast before getting the boat and I had a traditional Irish breakfast which was delicious and hit the spot. My partner had a selection from the great spread from the continental breakfast, her favourite were the cheeses.Really enjoyable and relaxing end to our Easter break would really recommend.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a view to the Harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inishmore
0.4 mi away
Aran Islands Hotel
Aran Islands Hotel
#1 of 1 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
15.7 mi away
Carna Bay Hotel
Carna Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tigh Fitz
Tigh Fitz
#4 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ard Mhuiris
Ard Mhuiris
#7 of 19 in Inishmore
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kilmurvey House
Kilmurvey House
#2 of 19 in Inishmore
5.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pier House Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pier House Guest House

Property: Pier House Guest House
Address: Kilronan, Province of Connacht, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Aran Islands > Inishmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Inishmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pier House Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pier House Guest House Hotel Inishmore
Pier House Guest House Aran Islands/Inishmore, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing